Posted by: Kathy Temean | December 29, 2009

Onomatopoeia Word List

    • argh                                                        
    • achoo
    • ahem
    • bang
    • bash
    • bam
    • bark
    • bawl
    • beep
    • belch
    • blab
    • blare
    • blurt
    • boing
    • boink
    • bonk
    • bong
    • boo
    • boo-hoo
    • boom
    • bow-wow
    • brring
    • bubble
    • bump
    • burp
    • buzz
    • cackle
    • chatter
    • cheep
    • chirp
    • chomp
    • choo-choo
    • chortle
    • clang
    • clash
    • clank
    • clap
    • clatter
    • click
    • clink
    • clip clop
    • cluck
    • clunk
    • cock a doodle doo
    • cough
    • crackle
    • creak
    • croak
    • crunch
    • cuckoo
    • ding
    • ding dong
    • drip
    • fizz
    • flick
    • flip
    • flip-flop
    • flop
    • flutter
    • giggle
    • glug
    • groan
    • growl
    • grunt
    • guffaw
    • gurgle
    • hack
    • haha
    • hack
    • hiccup
    • hiss
    • hohoho
    • honk
    • hoot
    • howl
    • huh
    • hum
    • jangle
    • jingle
    • ker-ching
    • kerplunk
    • knock
    • la
    • Lub Dub (heart beating)
    • meow
    • moan
    • moo
    • mumble
    • munch
    • murmur
    • mutter
    • neigh
    • oink
    • ouch
    • ooze
    • phew
    • ping
    • pitter patter
    • plink
    • plop
    • pluck
    • plunk
    • poof
    • pong
    • pop
    • pow
    • purr
    • quack
    • rattle
    • ribbit
    • ring
    • rip
    • roar
    • rumble
    • rush
    • rustle
    • screech
    • shuffle
    • shush
    • sizzle
    • slap
    • slash
    • slither
    • slurp
    • smack
    • snap
    • snarl
    • sniff
    • snip
    • snore
    • snort
    • splash
    • splat
    • splatter
    • splish
    • splosh
    • squawk
    • squeak
    • squelch
    • squish
    • swoosh
    • thud
    • thump
    • thwack
    • tic-toc
    • tinkle
    • trickle
    • twang
    • tweet
    • ugh
    • vroom
    • waffle
    • whack
    • whallop
    • wham
    • whimper
    • whip
    • whirr
    • whish
    • whisper
    • whizz
    • whoop
    • whoosh
    • woof
    • yelp
    • yikes
    • zap
    • zing
    • zip
    • zoom

Responses

  1. Hahaha. I love how the list starts with “argh”–LOL. Thanks for the list. I’m sure I’ll use it.

  2. I am sure there must be more fun words that I missed. Let me know if you come up with any more.

    • I came up with one word Ahahhahaha it is so FUNNY

      • ya it is

    • Fizzle sizzle chortle drizzle

    • it should have phrases to make it easier..!!

  3. I am having a very hard time! I’m trying to find a onomatopoeia word in which the fifth letter is R. It seems impossible. Any suggestions?

    • Rawr

  4. Aha! Pitter-patter! Thanks a lot for the helpful list! i searched everywhere else but this has been the most helpful so far!

    • Claudia,

      I hate to point this out, but the “r” is the sixth letter in pitter. How about whirr?

      I made up this list, because I wanted a list to use. Glad it helped.

      Kathy

      • This is a lot of words to work on

  5. thanks a lot for your help

    Kathy

  6. i am not sure of this one but i think it will do!!!!!!!!!!

    so here i go drip drop

  7. A very helpful list thanks

    • Haifa,

      My pleasure. It think it is time for me to start thinking of another list. Thanks for letting me know you liked this one.

      Kathy

      • omg thanks so much Kathy!!
        your the best <3!

  8. I LOVE your list!! It was really fun to read. . .would you be willing to add susurrus? It’s my favorite onomatopoeia, and just isn’t used often enough! :-)

    • yup

  9. itss really good!!!

    • Laura,

      Thanks for leaving a comment and letting me know you like things like this. Hope you stop back.

      Kathy

      • So Katie I
        I’ve your picture it is so cute

  10. thank you kathy temean this list really helped

  11. This is for the CREATOR of this list:

    Dear CREATOR OF THIS LIST,

    I’m sorry to say that you zoomed past a word often used in comic books.
    And that is POW. I’m also not aware that “poop” is a example of onomatopoeia. I’m not saying “poop” isn’t a onomatopoeia example but I just didn’t know it was one.

    Other than that… I LOVE YOUR LIST. It is very helpful to me. Thank You.

    • POW! Is a great word! Thanks for sending it in. You are probably right about Poop. I got that from someone else, but I think you are correct.

      Thanks,

      Kathy

  12. good place to look

  13. Hey

    Nice list! Its sure usefull.

    But im missing the onomatopoeia sounds of someone disliking food (Blegh?)

    And maybe “chuckle” ?

    Thnx,

  14. I believe “scribble” should be added(:

    • Ihanson,

      Thanks for sending. I’ll check it out.

      Kathy

  15. THIS TOTALLY HELPS!!!!!!!!GREAT LIST :D

  16. THIS TOTALLY HELPS,GREAT LIST!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! :D

  17. This one may be controversial, but give it a chance – it’s a great word in its own right!
    BORBORYGMI [def: the sound of a rumbling stomach.]

  18. add “gurgle”

    • and WHOOOHOOO

  19. thank you very much the examples that you gave where excellent¡¡ I needed them a LoT¡ ThAnK yOu VeRy MuCh¡

  20. thanks, great list

  21. Thanks so much! :) Helped alot!

    • *a lot

  22. thanks

  23. what about zoing it sounds really cool but isnt very common

    • Harley,

      Never heard that? What is it and where would you use it?

      Kathy

  24. zoing as in a fast moving item, or something?
    that could work

    • nevermind, sorry :(

      • this list does help, though
        thanks ;)

  25. Hi Kathleen, thank for the list. I was trying to find “Huhuh” and “Hmm” but they aren’t on there. I just need the correct spelling…lol

  26. It would be interesting to have on the right side the description/meaning of the onomatopeia word.

  27. IT’s Nice.My teacher told to do project.but by seeing this i try to do my own

  28. it fun looking at omomatopoeia word list becaues i have leant about super hero weeke and comics.!

  29. Love it

  30. THIS HELP ME BECAUSE I HAD HOME WORK ABOUT onomatopeia

  31. LOL
    PS.Very Helpful with homework yoooooooo

    • Fakirah,

      So glad I could help.

      Kathy

  32. What a great list, my mission is to now try and find an ‘i’ onomatopoeia

    • Ida,

      If one comes to mind, I will add it. If you think of one, please let me know.

      Kathy

    • Hi. Rette here. Just came across this site and was browsing through the comments. If you’re still trying to think of some examples starting with i, how about ich (or ichh or ick) or ichy (or icky), like when something is perhaps slimy, sticky and gross, like a slug, a girl might say “Ich – I’m not touching THAT! It’s so icky!”

      • Rette,

        Icky is an awesome word, but not a sound, so it would not fit on an onomatopoeia list. That easy to do. I should do a list of word that are just plain fun. If I do, I will make sure icky is on there.

        Kathy

  33. flip-flop (sound made by loose sandals)

    • hey, you forgot pong

      • nice list XD

      • Timmy,

        Thanks!

        Kathy

      • Joe,

        Thanks for adding to the list. Good job.

        Kathy

  34. These are all very good but i need these words in sentences

  35. good job

  36. Hey I’m Jessica. There are also some more words that I’ll add just for additional stuff : rumble, crash, snort, jangle, thump, roar, fizzle, splat moo, hiss, gobble, clang, tweet, sputter, ticktock, growl, crackle chirp, boom, whistle, wheeze, squawk, jingle,etc. Btw I got those words from a poem titled clatter by Joyce armor. Be sure to check that out. And lastly, very helpful list!

  37. thanks this will work well for my class :)

  38. Add: growl, rumble, snort, roar/rawr, boom, crash, hiss, thump, squawk
    But, thanks (: really helpful for my hw

  39. Hello, i read your blog from time to time and i own a similar one and i was just wondering if
    you get a lot of spam responses? If so how do you protect against
    it, any plugin or anything you can suggest? I get so much lately it’s driving me insane so any support is very much appreciated.

  40. […] is – Onomatopoeia Word list http://kathytemean.wordpress.com/2009/12/29/onomatopoeia-word-list/ I think this is a fun page.  It has word like guffaw and kerplunk on it.  It has a wide range of […]

  41. THANKS I’m hussain from Lindi sec school in Tanzania!

    • Hussain,

      Nice to meet you. Don’t know anyone else from your country.

      Kathy

  42. OOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO I KNOW ONE………..mi-cro-wave..XD

    • Griselda,

      Hey, that is a good one. Thanks!

      Kathy

  43. i needed this for my homework and i got an A+

    • Crisa,

      Wow! That is great. Thanks for letting me know.

      Kathy

  44. Help me understand why Microwave is on this list..

    • Clayton,

      Thank you so much for pointing this out. I meant to put that on the food related list. Moving it over right now.

      Kathy

  45. Where is microwave!

  46. Oh how I was serching these Onomatopoeias ! Thank you so much . I have more to learn .

    Once again , thank you.

  47. I really like your list. It helped do my homework LOL. But really, your list is helpful.

    • Justin,

      So glad it helped you.

      Kathy

  48. Is gurgling one and choking?

    • I think gurgling might fit, but not choking.

  49. Your list is amazing! xxxxxxxxxxxxxxx love you Kathy xxxxxxxxxxxxx

    • Helo. Very interesting work. I have dificulty in tallying the sound and the object. Can u pls help me out in that area. TJ from nigeria

      • TJ,

        I will give that some thought.

        Kathy

  50. Thanks for ur prompt reply, I hope my request will be granted.

  51. This is an amazing website for essays!!

  52. Reblogged this on The Creative Asian and commented:
    WOW! This is exactly what I need sometimes! Lol :3

  53. I like it but it’s to long

  54. Fab list : )

  55. Hey thanks for this site I needed it to do schoolwork. I’m in 5th grade so my whole class thanks you!


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,280 other followers

