Posted by: Kathy Temean | September 12, 2012

Revising? Critiquing? POETRY

Time To Let Go: Fall – This illustration was sent in by Tiemdow Phumiruk.  It is the first of a series of seasons she has started.  She is a part time pediatrician, full time mom, and budding illustrator.  She joined SCBWI last year and loves to draw faces and animals, and loves the use of bright colors.  Most of her work is mixed media, but predominantly she uses pencil, ink, and Photoshop Elements with my digital pen/tablet.  You can see more on her website:  www.artbydow.blogspot.com  I thought it was a perfect picture to go with our subject today of poetry.

Last week we talked about revising and critiquing your manuscripts.  With so many of you writing poetry and using it in your manuscripts and picture books.  I thought this was a good list to use, especially if you are new to writing picture books and want to use rhyme.  Even if you aren’t new, it is something good to remind you of the things you need to do.

POETRY CRITIQUE CHECKLIST

THEME OR ESSENCE

What is the core truth of this poem?

Does it come across clearly? Is it memorable?

Would you want to read this poem again?

Could you imagine its meaning changing over time?

STORY

Is there a clear story?

Too much? Too little?

Are there any parts left out? Is there something more you want to know?

Can the reader relate to the story on some universal level?

Does any part of the poem distract you, confuse you, or otherwise take you “out” of the poem?

Does the poem “show” instead of “tell”?

LENGTH

Is the poem too long? Does it end before the end? Where?

Are there lines/stanzas that could be removed?

IMAGINATION

Is there something new or fresh about the poem?

Does it use a novel image or analogy?

Are the images concrete, with sufficient detail?

What is the dominant feeling or emotion of the poem?

Meter/rhyme/word choice/line breaks/punctuation

How does the poem look on the page? Is it in balance? If not, is this purposeful?

Does the pacing serve the purpose of the poem?

Are there any words that are hard to pronounce, that stop the flow, or that you do not understand or recognize?

Are line breaks and punctuation consistent? Do they serve the purpose of the poem?

MUSIC

Do the words flow musically, harmonically?

Does the poem use alliteration, repletion, etc. effectively?

Is the poem beautiful (or terribly beautiful)?

COMPLEXITY, NOVELTY

Does the poem have range?

Is it clever?

Does it work on multiple levels?

Is there a turn, or surprise at the end? Is it effective?

Is the poem unpredictable?

This list was put together by the members of the Connecticut Poetry Society. You should check out their site for on-going contests. Their Connecticut River Review has a contest with a September 30th deadline and publication in their magazine. http://ct-poetry-society.org/contests.htm

Talk tomorrow,

Kathy


Responses

  1. Thank you, Kathy 🙂 I tend to rhyme in my picture books, though not always.

    Like

  2. Thank you so much for this checklist. I actually have a poem I wrote earlier this year that needs revision, and your list will definitely help. The story is very special to me, and I’d like to explore the possibility of publication. Considering each point in the checklist and working on the identified weaknesses should put it that much closer to the starting gates. Let me know if you’d like to read it. It’s a bunny tale. 😉

    Like

  3. I adore those sweet leaf faces! Now I am excited for fall to arrive!

    Terrific list of pointers from CPS. Thank you for sharing.

    Like

    • I’m glad you mentioned them ’cause I meant to mention how much I loved the “happy leaves.” 🙂

      Like

      • I wonder if she has a happy face for each season? 🙂

        Like

      • Happy snowflakes…happy raindrops…happy sunflowers? 🙂

        Like

      • Cathy,

        Have to wait to see. I’m sure she will send in the rest when the time is right.

        Kathy

        Like

  4. Oh my! I just now found this page (I was just googling my name to find my interview to look over) with all the kind words about my happy leaves! I am so glad you enjoyed them. Yes, I did do happy snowflakes, happy raindrops, Donna Marie! 🙂 My summer picture is last of the set, coming up soon. Kathy, a belated thank you for posting this one.

    Like


Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Categories