Posted by: Kathy Temean | May 10, 2024

May Agent of the Month – Amy Nielsen – Interview Part One

Amy Nielsen The Purcell Agency

Amy’s  Wish List

Picture Books

  • I’ll be looking for hyperbolic, zany storylines that teach a life lesson (even subtle) or ones with laugh-out-loud moments written simply to entertain.
  • Check out the legendary Robert Munsch and Michael Marchenko for what I’m hoping to see in my inbox.

Middle Grade

  • I’ll be looking for fast-paced stories mostly set in a contemporary setting that feature characters that think, act, and talk like real middle graders.

Young Adult

  • I’ll gravitate toward contemporary issue-driven plots where teens find themselves in situations they aren’t equipped to handle, but eventually figure it out.

Adult Fiction

  • I’ll lean into contemporary women’s fiction where the main characters are shattering glass ceilings despite obstacles, and defying stereotypes.

General Wishes

  • As the mother of an autistic child, I’d appreciate any story that features characters across the autism spectrum written authentically and free from stereotypes.
  • I’d swoon over a Gilmore Girls retelling with a paranormal or speculative element, anything that could comp my favorite song of all time, “Never Surrender” by Cory Hart or a story set in a coastal boating town.
  • I’m also always game for any fairy-tale retelling or re-imagining, especially if pulled into a contemporary setting.
  • I would love any age range where a dystopian plot mirrors a current social issue. Think Handmaid’s Tale versus the current political landscape of abortion. Or how the political landscape is impacting marginalized communities such as the LGBTQ+ and BIPOC.

In all age ranges and genres, I’m looking for:

  • Succinct and simplistic writing.
  • Diverse representation from authors to main characters, including but not limited to BIPOC, LGBTQ+, neurodiverse, and persons with disabilities.

I wouldn’t be the best fit for:

  • Epic fantasy (if your story features a dragon or fae—probably not for me),
  • High-concept sci-fi (if most of your story doesn’t take place on Earth—probably not for me)
  • Historical fiction (unless it’s the 80s or 90s then bring it on) I’m fine with dual timelines as long as the majority of the plot is in a contemporary setting.
  • Erotica. I’m fine with some on-page-steam, but not if the plot centers around it.
  • Literary. If your story isn’t genre fiction, it’s probably not for me.

If any of this fits your manuscript, please follow me, and stay tuned for when I’m open to queries! I’d love to eventually see your work in my inbox!

Across all age ranges, I’m looking for pacey, plot-driven, and succinct stories that take place in immersive settings. My favorite genres are:

  • Contemporary
  • Dystopian
  • Horror
  • Issue-driven
  • Paranormal
  • Political
  • Romance
  • Speculative
  • Suspense
  • Thriller

2024 Update: I’m leaving my list here, but I am not actively pursuing any more picture book authors. I LOVE you all, but my client list is very full at the moment. If something comes across my desk through a pitch event or referral that fits something I don’t already have, I would consider it. Best of luck to all picture book authors! Keep writing!

  • Hyperbolic, zany storylines that teach a life lesson—even subtle
  • Laugh-out-loud stories to simply entertain
  • Comps to Robert Munsch and Michael Marchenko
  • Supplementary educational materials

Middle Grade will make up about 15% of my client list. I’m looking for:

  • Characters who think, act, and talk like real middle graders
  • MG main characters who have unique hobbies or whose parents have unique careers

Young Adult will make up about 35% of my client list. I’m looking for:

  • Contemporary issue-driven plots where teens find themselves in situations they aren’t equipped to handle, but eventually figure it out.
  • YA main characters who have unique hobbies or whose parents have unique careers

Adult Fiction will make up about 35% of my client list. I’m looking for:

  • Contemporary women’s fiction where main characters are shattering glass ceilings despite obstacles and defying stereotypes
  • Male leads who also defy stereotypes.

I wouldn’t be the best fit for:

  • Epic fantasy (if your story features a dragon or fae—probably not for me)
  • High-concept sci-fi (if most of your story doesn’t take place on Earth—probably not for me)
  • Historical fiction (unless it’s the 80s or 90s then bring it on) I’m fine with dual timelines if the majority of the plot is in a contemporary setting.
  • I’m fine with some on-page-steam, but not if the plot centers around it.
  • Literary (If your story isn’t plot-driven—probably not for me.)
  • Nonfiction (I will take the odd NF especially if it’s about social injustice, parenting, and neurodivergency.)

For all queries, I recommend checking out these resources I created so you know what I’m looking for craft-wise.

Ten Steps Authors Should Consider Before Querying

My Top Ten Self-Editing Tips

Polishing Your Submission Packet Before Querying

Fun facts about me:

I spent nearly twenty years on the other side of the writing aisle as a youth librarian both at the elementary and middle school levels. Daily immersion in story took root and I began penning my 2024 Young Adult debut Worth It at my checkout desk.  When my youngest son was diagnosed with Autism Spectrum Disorder, I left the library to be home while he was little. That led me to write It Takes a Village How to Build a Support System For Your Exceptional Needs Family and Goldilocks and the Three Bears: Understanding Autism Spectrum Disorder. All three books are published with Wild Ink Publishing.

Now that he’s a big boy, he and I do big things together! We were recently in the upcoming short film about nonverbal autism Mandy’s Voice featuring autism advocate and supermodel Rachel Barcellona and actress Karen Sillas. It’s currently hitting film festivals!

Being a librarian most of my adult life, I’m extremely disheartened at the book-banning epidemic in our country. This inspired me to become the lead anthologist on the upcoming anthology Uncensored Ink: A Banned Book Inspired-Anthology. You can find submission guidelines for it here.

When I was a librarian, I was fortunate enough to also teach Television Production, and one project I always had my students complete was to make a book trailer for a favorite book. This led me to start Mayflower Media to help authors create trailers for their books.

I also run the Author(ish) podcast with author Dana Hawkins where we work to share practical advice and tips to aspiring and emerging authors.

You can find out more about me on either of my websites Big Abilities or Amy Nielsen Author 

When I’m not reading or writing I’m usually cruising the waters of Tampa Bay with my family and our boat dog, Sandy!

HERE IS PART ONE OF AMY’S INTERVIEW:

Did you grow up in Florida?

I did. My family relocated from Southern Mississippi to Central Florida in the 80s to join the then-booming citrus industry. Back-to-back freezes crippled the citrus industry not long after and tourism rose to the forefront.

What school did you attend to become a librarian?

As a child, I’d always been a huge reader. In college, I acquired campus employment in the library. My original goal was elementary education. I taught for three years as a second-grade teacher. When the librarian from my school retired, my assistant principal offered me the job! I went back to school at the University of Central Florida (UCF) and earned a K-12 media certification. I enjoyed almost ten years as an elementary school librarian and another ten at middle school.

Were you working as a librarian when you started Mayflower Media to work with writers to bring the heart of their stories from the page to the screen?

In addition to running my school’s library, I also taught Television Production. One of my colleagues and I wrote a curriculum TEACHING THE VIDEO PRODUCTION CLASS: BEYOND THE MORNING NEWSCAST published by Libraries Unlimited, now a part of Bloomsbury Publishing. One of the units we always taught with our students was making book trailers. So, when I transitioned into working with authors, helping them make book trailers was a natural progression.

When did you decide you wanted to be an agent?

Well, I can thank my writing besties for that. I’d been working closely with sapphic romance author, Dana Hawkins, and YA author S.E. Reed as critique partners for years. I’d stop working on my YA novel, when they’d send me their work. They both said, “Amy, you need to pursue agenting. You are such an advocate for authors. So, I listened!

How did you end up working with Purcell Agency?

After my youngest son was diagnosed with Autism Spectrum Disorder, I left education. Early on, his needs were big. Nine years later, his needs were less big. When Dana and S.E. encouraged me to pursue agenting, I applied for an internship at an agency. I didn’t get it. They said, “keep going!” I then cold-emailed Cathie Hedrick-Armstrong at The Purcell Agency. I’d always loved her online persona and felt I could really relate to her. I asked her if she was looking for an assistant and she said, “Yes!” I worked with her over the summer and by fall, Tina offered me a position as associate literary agent.

Are you able to work from home most days?

I work from home all days! That is unless I decide to work from one of my favorite ocean-side spots here in Apollo Beach, Florida!

Do you have a goal to represent a certain number of clients?

I don’t have a client list number, but currently, I’m erring on keeping it small. As a new agent, I want to give my clients and their work as much time as I possibly can. Keeping a small client list for me for now, is how I can do that.

Any story or themes you wish someone would submit?

As the mother of a queer daughter and autistic son, LGBTQ+ and neurodiverse representation are both SO important to me, both in authors and characters. I want to read stories that reflect a world of inclusivity.

Which do you lean more towards: Literary or Commercial?

I 100% lean commercial. I’m a plot-driven reader, so as an agent, I’m also on the hunt for a plot that keeps me turning pages. I love to see a beautiful character arc, but fast-paced page-turners are the key to this readers’ heart!

What do you like to see in a submission?

See above! LOL! fast-paced page-turners. Even in picture books, I want to feel the urge to turn the page. In longer fiction, I’m looking for voicey short chapters that make me not want to go to sleep until I read one more!

CHECK BACK NEXT FRIDAY FOR PART TWO OF AMY’S INTERVIEW.

Submission Guidelines

Submissions should be emailed to https://querymanager.com/query/AmyNielsen

BELOW ARE THE SUBMISSION GUIDELINES FOR MAY FIRST PAGES:

IF YOU WOULD LIKE A CHANCE TO HAVE  YOUR FIRST PAGE, HERE ARE THE FIRST-PAGE CRITIQUE SUBMISSION GUIDELINES :

PLEASE name the Word document file using 2024 MAY FIRST PAGE  – Your Name – Title of first page. 

  1. You must include at the top of the page your name, the title, and the genre. Do not use a header for this.
  2. Make sure you include the genre. This will help the agent give you a better critique.
  3. This is not an anonymous submission. So please include your name at the top of the page.
  4. I still need everyone to use their name, title, and genre in the file name of the attachment.

REMEMBER: I DO NOT OPEN ATTACHMENTS WITHOUT HAVING THE FIRST PAGE PASTED DIRECTLY INTO THE EMAIL THEN THE WORD DOCUMENT ATTACHED. PLEASE PUT 2024 MAY FIRST PAGE IN THE SUBJECT BOX AND SEND IT TO: kathy(dot)temean(at)gmail(dot)com.

Your First Page Word document should be formatted using one-inch margins and 12-point New Times Roman font – double space – no more than 23 lines – only one page. Remember to indent your paragraphs. When Dialog is used “Quotation marks” should be used. When a new person speaks a new line should be used.

PLEASE DO NOT USE A HEADER. Place everything directly on the page. Remember a first Page should have a title, your name, and the genre on the first line. Thanks!

USE WORD OR A PDF – I CAN’T OPEN PAGES

Send to: kathy(dot)temean(at)gmail(dot)com.

DEADLINE May 24th – noon EST

RESULTS: May 31st

CHECK BACK NEXT FRIDAY FOR PART TWO OF AMY’S INTERVIEW.

Talk tomorrow,

Kathy


Responses

  1. Great info, thank you!

    Like


Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Categories