Posted by: Kathy Temean | November 18, 2023

Illustrator Saturday – Kaly Quarles

Kaly is a 4th-generation Texan freshly minted in the mountains out west. She studied Interior Design and worked in architecture before landing in illustration. Her love for historic shopfronts, Victoriana, and vintage ephemera runs deep! She adores vibrant palettes, mischievous characters, and playful details. She is always down for hand-lettering and adding all the razzle-dazzle flourishes. She especially loves to draw cats ‘n mice, sausages, ole timey cars, and characters of indeed questionable character loitering in decorative frames.

When Kaly is not drawing with a cat in her lap, she is hunting for obscure antiques, watching/reading historical fiction, or hosting one-woman french fry eating contests for herself. She claimed the title of World’s Most Mediocre Skier five years in a row and lives in Salt Lake City with her husband and three cats.

HERE IS KALY DISCUSSING HER PROCESS:

If I’m not sure what I want to draw, I start on a giant sheet of newsprint (18″ x 24″) and make lists and mindmaps until a concept makes me smile. In this case, I knew I wanted to draw a hedgehog character with historic shops so I skipped that.
I always make a ton of thumbnails to explore perspective, POV, composition, etc. I love the ideation phase and who cares if they’re ugly!

At this point, I’ll pick my fave thumbnail and start refining it at the size of the finished piece.

Time to bring on the color roughs! Yet another very ugly stage, but hey, it’s all working toward something more attractive. I’ll pick a bunch of colors I want to use or that feel right and try them. If there’s an older piece of mine that I feel encompasses something I’m trying to recreate or just has something I fundamentally love, I’ll drop it in my file to cheer me on. Characters with snouts are challenging for me so I added my lil’ postal mice friends to model for me.
If I’m not sold on palettes, I’ll take screenshots of different options and send them to my Creative Director (my mom) for feedback. I’ll also step away because fresh eyes are everything!

Once I’ve picked my fave color rough, it’s smooth sailing on the final! It doesn’t always look like the color rough, but I like the guide for more complicated pieces. I also toggle on a preview in black & white frequently to check my values. That’s all, folks!

FINISHED ILLUSTRATION

INTERVIEW WITH KALY QUARLES:

What was the first thing you illustrated that you were paid for? 

A kid in my 3rd-grade math class paid me a quarter to draw Garfield on his folder.

What made you move from Texas to Salt Lake City in Utah?

The mountains! My husband and I had both been in Austin for 15+ years, so a smaller city with mountain access was high on the list. I’m so spoiled with four seasons and no humidity now! I really miss Tex-Mex though.

What made you choose to attend the University of the Incarnate Word to study Interior Design, Spanish?

The Fashion Design program. Growing up on a farm in a tiny town outside San Antonio, I wanted to move to NYC and stomp around in stilettos at my high-profile job at Dolce & Gabbana. I changed my major after one semester. Turns out I like strolling in sneakers and avoiding crowds more. Casual > couture.

LinkedIn says you studied Interior Design, Spanish. Does that mean you only were interested in Spanish Design? Did you want to hone in on Spanish design, because you live in Texas and that is the type of design everyone is interested in in your state?

Haha, oh no, Spanish was my minor until I transferred schools! Unfortunately, I’m not fluent, and it’s a shame because I love words and admire people who speak multiple languages.

Why did you switch Universities two years later to attend Texas State University?

I started at a tiny private school, which was too much like a high school. I had also just started spending time in Austin and was so enamored with the city – I had to be closer! There are allegations a boy was involved… 😉

Did you do any freelance art while getting your degree?

Nope. The thought of making art for anything other than self-fulfillment and exploration didn’t cross my mind for many years.

Did either of your universities offer any illustrating classes?

Oh, both, for sure! I took drawing classes at both and minored in Art.

What classes did you enjoy the most?

In my major, my rendering class, hands-down! It kicked off my love for drawing interior spaces as well.

Did Texas State University help you find an Interior Design Job?

Not really. Finding a job in design was tough. Competition was stiff, and applicants outnumbered opportunities by a long shot. I highly doubt that’s changed. Hopefully, job placement through the university has.

What was the first job you took after graduation?

I worked very briefly–3 months, I think–at a modern furniture store in Austin before I found a design job. I found my job (as a junior designer at a design/build landscape firm) on CraigsList in 2008. It sounds so sketchy now!

How did you take any illustrating classes after graduating?

Only when I discovered digital illustration in 2018 – over 10 years after graduation! I learned how to use Photoshop from one of Tom Froese’s classes on Skillshare, and it took me a whole week to make this in 2019!

Did you ever get a job using your interior design expertise?

I didn’t! Although the same principles applied to landscape design, and I was at that firm for years.

What inspired you to start illustrating children’s books?

Three words: Little Golden Books

Was Guitar (Eureka! The Biography of an Idea) by Lori Haskins Houran published in April this year with Kane Press, the first picture book you Illustrated?

It was. Talk about a challenge! Drawing a boatload of hands makes most illustrators break a sweat, but drawing hands somewhat accurately playing the guitar was a next-level challenge! I’ll give myself a pat on the back for that one.

How did that opportunity come about?

I scored that project through my first agent.

Last month Welcome to the Opera: Discover the Enchanting World of Opera with Mozart’s The Magic Flute by Carolyn Sloan published by Workman Publishing. How long did it take you to illustrate that book?

Ummm, let’s see, I did the first round of sketches in a month, revised sketches in another month, then color illustrations and revisions in maybe 2.5 months. I learned sooo (add about 100 more ‘o’s) much from that one. Everyone get approval on your characters before you blast through the roughs!

I noticed The Ultimate Reading Challenge for Kids! An activity book on your website. Did you write wrote and illustrate the book? 

Ah, I wish I had come up with the concept! Praise Art Director Stuart Smith at Insight Editions for that one. I illustrated all the elements, and it was rewarding (and amusing!) to see my work brought to life in a variety of tiny products. Little me would’ve gone nuts for this kinda thing. I have the ‘reading is rad’ magnet on my fridge because reading is indeed, super rad!

It looks like a lot of fun. Is it only available through your website? 

It’s available at all the major book retailers: Bookshop.org, Barnes & Noble, the retailer that cannot be named… There’s a reading challenge for adults too! I didn’t illustrate it, but it looks great. Nice gifty type thing.

Do you design any greeting cards?

I have! What fun! I did this super fun pop-up card for Up With Paper. That was my first paid project as an adult pursuing an illustration career. I’ve come a long way since Mr. Sackett’s math class.

How did you connect with Jennifer March Soloway at Andrea Brown Literary Agency? How long has she been representing you?

Jennifer March Soloway – there’s a name to put a smile on my face! I signed with her in May of this year after querying her. I didn’t have a formal referral, but I believe one or two of the illustrators on her roster put in a good word for me. Let me know if you need me to write a couple times about how lovely and supportive she is. 😉

I discovered you when I featured Folktales Week. Is this the first year you participated? 

This is my 4th year participating and my 3rd year co-hosting. I’m drawn to classic folk & fairy tale-type work for picture books, so it’s an easy challenge to love. And it’s incredible to see all the talent and support worldwide! Join us next year, Kathy! 😀

Have you illustrated any book covers or illustrated anything for a magazine?

I’ve only done one book cover, but I’m hankering for work in middle-grade and young adult covers. Or adult covers with lettering! Hello, editors, and art directors, I’m flashing a smile at ya.

I’d also love to do more editorial work. I did the cover for a Kickstarter project called Mail Order Museum, and it was a blast. It delivers the museum experience to your door, and since I grew up on a farm, this is another concept that tiny me would’ve loved.

What do you think helped develop your style?

Endless experimentation (still) and a broad range of inspiration. Traveling. Window shopping. A lifetime of antiquing. I pay attention to anything that quickens my pulse because it impacts my voice/style/brand.

Do you think your style has changed over the years?

Haha, yes and no. I don’t know if it’s changed so drastically, but hopefully, it has improved. I did start off doing very graphic collagey-type work that I now miss. I’m going through a significant creative shift in the style of work I want to produce. I’m learning to paint traditionally, and I want a more handmade feel in my digital work.

Do you have any plans to write and illustrate a children’s book?

Absolutely. Stay tuned!

Do you have a studio in your home?

A lovely one. 3 walls of windows. Weird tidbits and books piled everywhere. And lots of cat hair.

You do very nice lettering. Has anyone asked you to do the lettering for their wedding invitations?

They have. I would do it for the right cool client, but it’s not on my goal list.

Do you take pictures or do any research before you illustrate a book?

Oh yes! I take my own reference photos for posing. It’s so much faster than trying to find the right angles/pose online. I also make Pinterest boards. I love That rabbit hole, but I have to set a timer. It’s easy to stay in ‘research’ mode too long.

What do you think is your biggest success?

Hmmm. I haven’t hit my biggest goals yet to be completely honest!

What materials and/or tools do you use to create your work?

Photoshop with a Cintiq. I paint my own textures and do my lettering manually sometimes.

Has that changed over time?

I started out in Procreate on the iPad, but I got a Cintiq early on.

Do you own or have you used a Graphic Drawing Tablet when illustrating?

I beat you to that one!

Do you try to spend a specific amount of time working on your craft?

Always. I’m always working on something, somehow. Even if I’m reading or watching a show, I’m always thinking about how I would craft a moment.

What are you working on now?

Finishing my Folktale Week pieces! I wanted to try my own story and a mix of illustration types (spreads, spots, etc.) this year. Success so far!

Do you have any material-type tips you can share with us? Example: Paint or paper that you love – the best place to buy – a new product that you’ve tried – A how to tip, etc

Pure Ref for Desktop is my fave tool for making moodboards! You can zoom in/out and copy/paste into Photoshop. Pinterest can’t hang with that part.

Any words of wisdom for new illustrators?

Step away! Fresh eyes – even a quick trot to the bathroom – make a difference. And aim for volume over perfection. If you’re laboring and agonizing over every piece in your portfolio, you will be hired to do that for 32 pages. Break that habit early!

Kaly, thank you for taking the time to answer the interview questions and sharing your process. This was a nice way for all of us to get to know you. Please keep me posted on all your future successes, so I can share them with everyone.

Here are some links you can use to visit with Kaly:

WEBSITE: https://www.kalyquarles.com/
INSTAGRAM: https://www.instagram.com/kalyquarles/
AGENCY: https://www.andreabrownlit.com/illustrator/kaly-quarles
TWITTER X: https://twitter.com/kalyquarles

Talk tomorrow,

Kathy


Responses

  1. What a delightful Saturday post! Congratulations on your beautiful artwork, your partnership with Jennifer as an agent who I’ve heard is amazing, and of course your honorary title of World’s Most Mediocre skier!

    Liked by 1 person


Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Categories