Posted by: Kathy Temean | May 5, 2022

Book Giveaway: THE HAIR BOOK by LaTonya Yvette

LaTonya Yvette has a new picture book, THE HAIR BOOK, illustrated by Amanda Jane Jones and published by Union Square Kids. It hit bookstores on May 3rd. Union Square Kids has agreed to send a copy to the one lucky winner in the US or Canada.

All you have to do to get in the running is leave a comment. Reblog, tweet, or talk about it on Facebook with a link and you will get additional chances to win. Just let me know other things you do to share the good news, so I can put the right amount of tickets in my basket for you. Sharing on Facebook, Twitter or reblogging really helps spread the word for a new book. So, thanks for helping Valerie and Kayla.

If you have signed up to follow my blog and it is delivered to you everyday, please let me know when you leave a comment and I will give you an extra ticket. If you want to make sure you don’t miss seeing that you won, please click “Notify Me of Follow-Up Comments By Email” box. I will leave a comment in reply if you win the book. Thanks!

BOOK DESCRIPTION:

With bold, colorful graphics and poetic rhyme, this is a stunning tribute to every kind of hair, perfect for fans of Hair Love.

Covered hair,
Bun Hair,
Party Hair…
No matter your hair—YOU are welcome anywhere!

Author and lifestyle blogger, LaTonya Yvette makes her children’s book debut with a must-have gift purchase for any occasion alongside art from award-winning illustrator Amanda Jane Jones.

BOOK JOURNEY:

LaTonya and I have been following each other’s work for years – pre instagram even, back when blogs were the thing. I was always inspired by her advocacy and style and grace. This book came to be in 2020 when we had just moved from the south side of Chicago to a much less diverse area. I realized my youngest child’s formative years would be very different from his siblings which made it all the more important to teach him messages like “no matter your hair, you are welcome anywhere!” I started playing around with illustrations and asked LaTonya if she’d want to write it together and she graciously accepted.

We work really well as a team, and I absolutely love how the book turned out. The book also touches on religious diversity—my son attended a Jewish Day school back in Chicago—so including hair coverings like turbans, Hijabs and kippahs felt like a really important part of teaching about hair and all the many types.

The New York Times Kids just did a timely article which reiterates why this type of messaging is so important to teach even from infancy (https://www.instagram.com/p/CcyZ6hZvCI1/). We chose to make the book in both board book and picture book format, so that all ages could read and enjoy and learn for years to come!

LATONYA YVETTE’S BIO:

LaTonya Yvette, was born in Brooklyn, New York, and it is the same place she now calls home with her two children. LaTonya started her eponymous blog as a way to document the coming and goings of a new young mother, and it has now grown into a celebrated lifestyle site focused on family, style, design, wellbeing, and culture.

Currently, LaTonya splits her time working on her first home and community endeavor, The Mae House in upstate New York, while living in the city working as the Creative Director of LY, and writing her second book,a collection of essays with Dial Press. Her first book, Woman Of Color was published April, 2019 with Abrams books. And she has co-authored a children’s book with graphic designer Amanda Jane Jones, titled The Hair Book to be published by Sterling Children’s Books on March, 8th, 2022.

AMANDA JANE JONES’ BIO:

Amanda Jane Jones is a graphic designer, illustrator, and art director. The co-creator and founding designer of Kinfolk Magazine and Define Magazine, she has been featured by Architectural DigestThe New York Times, and Martha Stewart Living, as well as online publications that include Mother Mag, Cup of Jo, Domino, Wit & Delight, Oh Joy!, VSCO, Gap, and Click Magazine. Amanda has also created successful product collaborations with Solly Baby, Map Tote, Stockhome, Esembly Baby, Schoolhouse Electric, Saranoni Blankets, Gathre, Alice & Ames, and Winter Water Factory.  She is currently working on new partnerships with Sundays Furniture, Revival Rugs, Four Points Puzzles, plus a second collection with Winter Water Factory. With her husband Cree, she authored her first children’s book Yum Yummy Yuck in 2019; the sequel, called Fuzzy Furry Ouch, will be released in the fall of 2022. The Hair Book, co-written with LaTonya Yvette, debuts in April 2022, with the tagline “No matter your hair, you’re welcome anywhere.”

She is a recent transplant to the Wasatch Mountains, after having all of her children (Jane (8), Miles (6), and Wes (2)) on the south side of Chicago.

She is a mama to three. Their favorite time of the day is bedtime books.

Thank you, LaTonya and Amanda for sharing your book and journey with us. I love the theme of this book: No matter your hair—YOU are welcome anywhere! I am sure the simple rhyming text will help many children to read while discovering the many ways of hair. Good luck with the book.

Talk tomorrow,

Kathy


Responses

  1. love it!

    Like

  2. What a wonderful way to show all kids that whatever kind of hair or head covering or no hair they or their friends or family have, it’s ok. Can’t wait to get this for my soon-to-be-born grandson. Love the vibrant, kid-friendly illustrations.

    Like

  3. I’m excited to read and study this book as mentor text–such a fabulous and important message presented in a fun way. I’m an email subscriber and shared: https://www.pinterest.com/pin/570620215297279019

    Like

  4. Wow, what a fun way to share the hair! Congratulations!

    I follow by email and tweeted this post. 🙂

    Like


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Categories

%d bloggers like this: