Posted by: Kathy Temean | May 21, 2021

May Agent of the Month – Lindsay Auld

LINDSAY AULD – MAY AGENT OF  THE MONTH

LINDSAY AULD Agent at Writer’s House

Writers House is one of the largest literary agencies in the world and is known for providing an extraordinary amount of individual client attention combined with the benefits of full service foreign rights and subsidiary rights departments.

She is seeking: Picture book, middle-grade, and young adult manuscripts. She particularly loves mystery, fantasy, adventure, historical fiction, nonfiction from a fresh perspective, and stories with humor—light or dark or both.

I started at Writers House in the West Coast office, where I apprenticed with Steven Malk and had the opportunity to work with some of the very best authors and artists in the industry. Before taking time off to start a family, I helped launch the careers of several bestselling and award-winning authors. I’ve now re-joined Writers House and I’m actively building my list.

I’m seeking books in the picture book, middle grade, and young adult categories, including illustrated and graphic novel submissions. I’m particularly drawn to mysteries, fantasy, historical fiction, friendship stories, romance, magical realism, adventure, and books with humor–light or dark or both. Growing up, I loved (and still love) stories by Lois Lowry, Beverly Cleary, Madeleine L’Engle, Mildred D. Taylor, Philip Pullman, Katherine Paterson, and E. L. Konigsburg. As someone who is an environmentalist at heart, I would be happy to read submissions with an environmental element or streak. I would also love to see manuscripts from diverse and underrepresented authors and artists. I’ve always been passionate about children’s and young adult literature, and, as an agent, I’m eager to help bring fresh voices, characters and stories to a new generation of readers.

Juvenile fiction
Children’s books
Middle grade
Young Adult
Early graphic novel
Illustrated middle grade
MG and YA graphic novels

RECENT SALES / FORTHCOMING BOOKS
A COMB OF WISHES by Lisa Stringfellow (Quill Tree/HarperCollins)
WHAT BEAUTY THERE IS by Cory Anderson (Roaring Brook/Macmillan)
HUSH-A-BYE by Jody Lee Mott (Viking/Penguin)
WHAT IF, PIG? by Linzie Hunter (HarperCollins)
HOW TO BE A ROCK STAR, Lisa Tolin (Putnam/Penguin)
MY FIRST COOKBOOK, Rachel Stubbs (Walker UK)
I’M GONNA PUSH THROUGH, Jasmyn Wright (Atheneum/Simon & Schuster)
LITTLE ECHO by Al Rodin (Penguin Random House UK)
BEST FRIEND IN THE WHOLE WORLD by Sandra Salsbury (Peachtree)
OH LOOK, A CAKE! by Jonathan McKee (Clarion/HMH)
TWINKLE, TWINKLE, WINTER NIGHT, Megan Litwin (Houghton Mifflin Harcourt)
HOW TO TEACH YOUR CAT A TRICK, Zoe Si (Tundra)

If you have a manuscript that you feel would be a good fit for me, please see my submission guidelines below–I’d love to hear from you.

I accept email submissions only at: lauld@writershouse.com.

Please send a query, along with the first 10-15 pages of your manuscript pasted into the body of the email.

In the picture book category, I am currently looking to represent author/illustrators and illustrators only. Please try one of my colleagues if you’re an author of a picture book text.

For illustrators or graphic novelists, I prefer a link to a dummy or portfolio, or an attached PDF that is less than 3 MB.

I do read each query carefully and will respond as soon as possible. If you haven’t received a response within two weeks, please feel free to follow up. I look forward to reading your work!

*******

HERE IS PART TWO OF MY INTERVIEW WITH LINDSAY:

Would you be interested in representing a writer/illustrator? 

Yes, and I do represent some wonderful and amazingly talented author/illustrators such as Linzie Hunter, Al Rodin, J.C. McKee, Sandra Salsbury and Rachel Stubbs.

How far do you normally read before you reject a submission?

This can really vary. Sometimes, I know rather quickly that I wouldn’t be the best match for something–and other times, I’ll read the entire submission before deciding whether to request the full or not.

Do you let people know if you are not interested?

Yes. I respond to all queries.

Lately, there seems to be various age groups for MG and YA novels. Do you think a writer should worry about classifying a middle grade as lower or upper middle grade and same with YA or is it okay to just say MG or YA and let you decide how to classify the book?

It’s definitely fine to just say MG or YA in the query.

Any tips on how an author can get you to ask to see more?

Truly, it is such a subjective industry, and, for me, it comes down to whether I absolutely love the writing and story so much that I can’t resist asking to see more. If I do feel that way, then I’ll definitely request to read the full. And if I don’t, then I know I wouldn’t be the best person to champion the book. In that case, it’s better for the author to find the right agent for their work. In terms of a tip for authors, I would just suggest that they focus on crafting the book they are most excited about writing, and that only they could write, as I feel that will ultimately be what makes their work stand out.

How long does it usually take to respond to requested material? And query letters?

My response times for queries and requested material can range from a few minutes to several weeks, but I always try to get back to everyone as quickly as possible. If don’t get back to someone within two weeks, they are always welcome to check in.

Any pet peeves?

Not really. I think it takes a lot of courage, heart, and grit for writers to submit queries, so I’m not looking for things to be annoyed by when reading queries or submissions. I respect anyone who’s putting themselves out there in that way to pursue their dream.

Do you give editorial feedback to your clients? 

Yes, I would definitely say I’m an editorial agent. I love working with my clients to develop and revise to help make their books as polished as possible before they are submitted to editors.

Any words of wisdom on how a writer can improve their writing, get an agent, and get published?

Joining a critique group can be a wonderful way for writers to stay motivated, get feedback, and enjoy the process. Conferences, workshops, and mentor programs are another great way to focus on certain areas of writing and to connect with others in the industry.

Would you like to be invited to other writer’s retreats, workshops, and conferences?

Yes, definitely!

*******

HERE ARE THE SUBMISSION GUIDELINES FOR MAY 2021 FIRST PAGE CRITIQUES:

In the subject line, please write “MAY 2021 FIRST PAGE CRITIQUE” Example: Paste the text in the email, plus attached it as a Word document to the email. Please make sure you put your name, the title of the piece, and genre: a picture book, chapter book, middle grade, or young adult, Non-fiction, contemporary, historical, Sci-fi, fantasy, etc. at the top on both the email and the Word document (Make sure you include your name with the title of your book, when you save the first page).

PLEASE name the Word document file by putting 2021 MAY  – Your Name – Title of first page. Thank you.

REMEMBER: ATTACH THE WORD DOCUMENT AND NOT GET ELIMINATED! Your First Page Word document should be formatted using one inch margins and 12 point New Times Roman font – double space – no more than 23 lines – only one page.

Send to: kathy(dot)temean(at)gmail(dot)com. Sending it to my hotmail account will probably keep me from seeing it and including you in the running.

PLEASE FOLLOW THE GUIDELINES: Your submission will be passed over if you do not follow the directions for both the pasted email and the attached Word doc. This is where most people mess up.

DEADLINE: MAY 21st. – noon EST

RESULTS: May 28th.

Talk tomorrow,

Kathy


Responses

  1. Thanks for sharing!

    Like


Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Categories