Posted by: Kathy Temean | November 2, 2012

Free Fall Friday – November

In October I tried something new, by not posting a picture prompt to be critiqued.  I thought I would end out the year doing it this way.  If for some reason you like the other way better, just let me know and we will switch back in the new year.  So you can send in a first page from something you are writing and have a chance to get it critiqued. 

With that in mind, this is how I will work to narrow it down:

1. If you choose to follow me or are already following me, you will get your name put into the basket.

2. If you put a link up on your blog or website, you will get your name put in the basket. If you have both, you can choose to put a link on both and get your name in twice.

3. Do two Tweets about a post on my blog and get your name in the basket. This can be repeated three additional times for a total of four times in the basket. Tweets must be done on separate dates.

4. Post something on Facebook and get your name in the basket.

5. Do it all and you will have your name in the basket eight times. On October 20th I will put all the names in the basket and I will pull out ten names and read the first pages that go with the name. Out of those ten, I will pick 4 to send to our quest critiquer for October.

Here is what you need to do:

WRITERS: Please attach your double spaced, 12 point font, 23 line first page to an e-mail and send it to kathy(dot)temean(at)gmail(dot)com. Also cut and paste it into the body of the e-mail. Put “November First Page Critique” in the subject line. Make sure you have your name on the submission, a title, and indicate the genre. Also let me know which steps you took, so I will know how many times to put your name in the basket. If you end up doing more things to get additional entries, then e-mail me by November 20th with the updated number you have completed. Please let me know what you have done and when, so I can check it out.

Published Picture Book Writers: You can also participate by doing one or more of the five above steps to get your name in the picture book hat. If your name is drawn, I will do a post featuring your book, an interview, bio, and pictures of the cover and interior art. Author Susan Hood was the winner for October.  Here’s the link: http://wp.me/pss2W-5Bc

Please put “November Picture Book Promo” in the subject area and let me know the steps you took, so I can put the correct amount of slips in the basket. Please send it to kathy(dot)temean(at)gmail(dot)com.

ILLUSTRATORS: If you are an illustrator, you can participate and choose to get featured on Illustrator Saturday or get your new book featured by following the five steps for the writers. Please put “November Illustrator Feature” in the subject area. I will need to know what steps you completed to get into the basket and I will need a few illustrations or if you want to promote your book, then send the name and cover along. Also include a promtional blurb.  Please send it to kathy(dot)temean(at)gmail(dot)com.

I will still have the Call for illustrations for November. I’m looking for illustrations that reflect the feel of Fall, the election, and Thanksgiving. You do not have to wait, I will post the illustrations as they come in.  I would like to have them no later than November 25th, since it is hard to find the right place for your work, instead of squeezing it in at the end of the month. I would love to have something to go with the election on Tuesday. Please make sure the illustration is at least 500 pixels wide and include a blurb about yourself and a link to see more of your work. Please send it to kathy(dot)temean(at)gmail(dot)com and put “November Illustration” in the subject box.

Talk tomorrow,

Kathy


Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Categories