Posted by: Kathy Temean | May 18, 2024

Illustrator Saturday – Corey Egbert

Corey Egbert is a children’s illustrator and author based in Virginia. He believes in telling imaginative, funny and touching stories that empower kids to make their world better. His aesthetic is inspired by lithography illustration from 1930s and 40s. Corey received a BA from Southern Virginia University and did graduate work in illustration at Syracuse University. Recent clients include Disney, Macmillan, Scholastic and Penguin Random House. Corey’s first author/illustrated YA graphic novel titled VISITATIONS will publish in 2024 with Henry Holt. Corey lives with his wife, son, and two cats.

HERE IS COREY SHOWING HIS PROCESS:

 
After the sketch, I use the bright colors to distinguish the different layers as I build them up. I then alpha-lock the layers and turn them into the grayscale values and textures. Finally I do the final color over the top in a multiply layer. I just use the bright colors when I’m building up the separate layers in Procreate.

INTERVIEW WITH COREY EGBERT

What was the first thing you illustrated that you were paid for?

I think I did caricature portraits for some kids in high school.

You grew up in California and Utah, so what made you choose grew up in California and Utah, so what made you choose Southern Virginia University to get your BA?

I’m a member of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints. SVU is run by members of the church, so that’s how it got on my radar. I also really wanted to live on the East Coast.

Did you study art at SVU?

Yes, but I had already taken most of my art credits at Snow College in Utah, so I did a lot of liberal arts kinda classes.

When did you decide to attend Syracuse University to get a Graduate degree in illustration?

I’d been doing graphic design for five years and I wanted a change. I applied to a few different programs and I was able to get a scholarship there.

Did you do any freelance art while getting your BA degree?

Yes, I did illustration on the side throughout college.

I noticed you do some animation. When and how did learn that?

I’ve always loved animation. I taught myself by tinkering around and watching tutorials.

What were your career goals when you entered Southern Virginia University?

Make money with art, haha, so I don’t have to work at McDonalds.

Did SVU help you by trying to introduce you to people who could hire you after graduation?

SVU is a small school and back then didn’t have a lot of resources. I made all my career connections through other avenues.

What was the first job you took after graduation?

Graphic designer.

Did you move to New York when you started attending Syracuse University or are you still in VA?

I moved to Syracuse for the program, came back to Virginia after.

What inspired you to want to illustrate children’s books?

I love children’s books. I love the playfulness and imagination of them. Reading books as a kid inspired me.

Was The Holy Ghost is Like a Blanket by Annalisa Hall and published on August 11, 2013 the first book you illustrated?

I don’t think so – I think it was a book called “One Boy No Water” by Lehua Parker.

How did you get that opportunity?

The Parker book actually came through a school acquaintance at Snow. One of my classmates was interning at a startup publisher, and he helped me get the job.

That book was published by Cedar Fort and it looks like you have developed a nice relationship with them. How many of your books have the published?

Nine or ten. I haven’t worked with them in a while though.

You say on your website that you did the interior art for the book. How many illustrations did you do?

I don’t know. 14 spreads? Something like that.

I see that you are represented by Nicole at Tugeau2. How and when did you connect with her?

I sent her an inquiry during my last year at Syracuse.

You illustrated three My First Ballet Books by Jennifer Adams. They are part of a series of board books, yours titled: Swan Lake, Cinderella, and Sleeping Beauty. The first came out in September 2019 and the last September 2020. Did you work on each book separately?

Yes.

When did you signed the contract for your next book I Survived the Attacks of September 11, 2001 by Lauren Tarshi and published by Graphix?

I don’t remember. Late 2020 probably.

Amazon says it is 160 page and sounds like it would take a lot of time to illustrate. How much time did you have to spend doing research?

A lot haha.

How long did it take you to bring that book to life?

It was a short turn around. I think I only had like six months to work on it or something.


You illustrated Day-Old Child by Carol Lynn Pearson which came out a few months before I Survived the Attacks of September 11, 2001. Was this a stressful time for you trying to get them both done?

I don’t remember there being overlap of the two books. But yes, working on 9/11 was lots of work in little time, so it was stressful.

I see you have another book titled Visitations coming out this year that you wrote and Illustrated, It is 336 pages. How many illustrations did you do for that book?

It’s a graphic novel so every page is illustrated.

Amazon says it is for ages 12 and up. Where do the publisher plan to put it in stores. Is it a middle-grade or a YA book?

It’s YA. It should be available widely, at least in the US.

Where did you get the idea for the book?

It’s based on experiences I had growing up with my mom who was later diagnosed with schizophrenia. At one point she made my sister and I live in a car in the desert. The book is about that.

How long did it take to write and then illustrated?

5 years! 

What do you think helped develop your style?

Doing lots of artwork. Being influenced by my favorite artists and books and cartoons.

Do you have any desire to write and illustrate another children’s book?

Yes, I have a lot of ideas in various stages of development.

You have a lot of nice textures in your illustrations. Do you use fabric to create some parts of your illustration?

No, most of the textures are from brushes I created in Procreate.

Do you take pictures or do any research before you illustrate a book?

I gather lots of reference material for every project.

What do you think was your biggest success so far in your career?

Visitations is the most personal and difficult but rewarding project I’ve done. I hope other people like it too! It will be released in November 2024.

What use any specific brand of materials and/or tools to create your work?

Procreate on iPad mostly.

How can someone purchase one of your illustrations?

I sell prints and sometimes originals on Etsy: https://www.etsy.com/shop/coreyegbert/

Do you own or have you used a Graphic Drawing Tablet when illustrating?

Yep.

Do you try to spend a specific amount of time working on your craft?

6-8 hours every weekday typically. But I’m always thinking and reading and doodling outside of that.

What are you working on now?

I just wrapped up work on a picture book called Mr. Norton’s New Hat by Huw Lewis-Jones. I’m also illustrating the graphic novelizations of the Joey Pigza series by Jack Gantos, and Flat Stanley by Jeff Brown.

Do you have any material-type tips you can share with us? Example: Paint or paper that you love – the best place to buy – a new product that you’ve tried – A how to tip, etc.

I’ve been doing a lot of traditional painting lately, and I just discovered acrylic glazing medium. It allows for some pretty fun layering effects.

Any words of wisdom for new illustrators?

Make tons of work and don’t get stuck in a rut. Try lots of different ways of doing things and learn from your failures. Take notes as you go. Envision where you want your art to take you and keep heading towards that destination. You’ll eventually get there if you’re patient and diligent.

Corey, thank you for taking the time to answer the interview questions and sharing you process with us. It was a wonderful way for everyone to get to know you. I’m sure your illustrations will make everyone smile. Please let me know when your next book comes out and I will share it with everyone.

 You can find more of his work at: 

WEBSITE: www.coreyegbert.com 
INSTAGRAM: @coreyegbert
FACEBOOK:www.facebook.com/coreyegbertillustration
ETSY: etsy.com/shop/coreyegbert
AGENT: TUGEAU2 – Nicole Tugeau (nicole@tugeau2.com)


Responses

  1. Excellent work!

    Like

  2. Excellent post 🎸🎸

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Captivating story and illustrations, Kathy. Thanks for hosting Corey and his work. Excellent!

    Like

  4. The scope of Corey’s work embraces multiple levels of intelligence. So often in the list of giftedness that is used in the public schools, spiritual giftedness is negelected, if mentioned at all. I was so heartened by seeing the variety in Corey’s illustration career. What a joy. Go Corey!

    Like

  5. Cory, I enjoyed looking at your work. What a great collection! Thanks for sharing with us. 🙂

    Like


Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Categories