Posted by: Kathy Temean | May 9, 2012

Maurice Sendak

I canceled today’s post, because even though you probably have heard of Maurice Sendak passing away yesterday, he really deserves to have it recognized.

Maurice Sendak, widely considered the most important children’s book artist of the 20th century, who wrenched the picture book out of the safe, sanitized world of the nursery and plunged it into the dark, terrifying and hauntingly beautiful recesses of the human psyche, died on Tuesday in Danbury, Conn. He was 83.

Mr. Sendak’s books were essential ingredients of childhood for the generation born after 1960 or thereabouts, and in turn for their children. He was known in particular for more than a dozen picture books he wrote and illustrated himself, most famously “Where the Wild Things Are,” which was simultaneously genre-breaking and career-making when it was published by Harper & Row in 1963.

Among the other titles he wrote and illustrated, all from Harper & Row, are “In the Night Kitchen” (1970) and “Outside Over There” (1981), which together with “Where the Wild Things Are” form a trilogy; “The Sign on Rosie’s Door” (1960); “Higglety Pigglety Pop!” (1967); and “The Nutshell Library” (1962), a boxed set of four tiny volumes comprising “Alligators All Around,” “Chicken Soup With Rice,” “One Was Johnny” and “Pierre.”

In September, a new picture book by Mr. Sendak, “Bumble-Ardy” — the first in 30 years for which he produced both text and illustrations — was issued by HarperCollins Publishers. The book, which spent five weeks on the New York Times children’s best-seller list, tells the not-altogether-lighthearted story of an orphaned pig (his parents are eaten) who gives himself a riotous birthday party.

To rest the rest of the article written by MARGALIT FOX in May 8th New York Times, click the link below:

http://www.nytimes.com/2012/05/09/books/maurice-sendak-childrens-author-dies-at-83.html

Christina Tugeau’s post: http://catugeau.wordpress.com/2012/05/08/loss/

Mr. Sendak, thank you for your wonderful contribution to children’s books. You will be missed! We all are happy that we can still have a part of you and share your talent with the generations to come.

Talk tomorrow,

Kathy


Responses

  1. I still have my 1971 hardcover copy of “In the Night Kitchen”. Complete with Mickey’s you-know-what hanging out. My son read it in Kindergarten, and the illustrations had Mickey wearing underwear *eye roll*. I love that book. I was planning on doing something with Where the Wild Things are with my Kindergarten classes before they graduate from our little school, and now I think I need to do something really special.

    Like

  2. I recently saw an interview with Mr. Sendak. He himself was a real character. As his work is remembered, may he RIP.

    Like

  3. What a great man. My kids love him, too. He will be missed. We have a dvd compliation of his books put to song by Carole King. I found a link to “Pierre” on Youtube that might make you smile, so I thought I’d share the link…

    Be warned, the song may stay with you all day.

    Like

  4. I didn’t mean for that whole thing to pop up. I thought I knew how to share links…Sorry!

    Like

  5. Thank you for posting this, Kathy. It is so sad. Where the Wild Things Are is one of the most memorable books from my childhood.

    Like

  6. Oh, Please Don’t Go!
    We’ll eat you up!
    We love you so!

    Max (Screams): NO!!!!!

    Like

  7. Lesser known, but among my favorites – and on my bookshelf – are Sendak’s pen and ink illustrated books – Higglety-Pigglety Pop, The Bat Poet (by Randall Jarrett) and his double volume set of Grimm’s Fairy Tales. His contributions are unforgettable. Thanks for acknowledging him and his work.
    jeanne

    Like

  8. Some people leave a really big mark, and he certainly did! And I like that the whole thing popped up, Eileen! lol

    Like

  9. His books will live on and isn’t that a wonderful thing about writing?

    Like


Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Categories