Posted by: Kathy Temean | June 17, 2010

Kristin Daly Ren Editor at Blazer & Bray

A few days ago I posted information about the writer’s Retreat we are having on October 1-3 at the Hyatt Regency in Princeton, NJ.  I am happy to announce that Kristin Daly Ren (Remember she got married last year, so we need to get used to her new name) has agreed to join us for the weekend.  Here is a little information about Kristin:

Kristin Daly Rens first became interested in children’s books as a career in high school, when she worked in her local public library shelving—and often covertly reading!—books in the children’s room. While studying at Boston College she became sidetracked by a newfound love for the works of Johann Wolfgang von Goethe and decided to learn German in order to get her Masters in Comparative Literature. In 1999, degree in hand and thoroughly finished with academia, she made the decision to return to her original love, children’s books, and moved back to New York to become an Editorial Assistant at Golden Books. In January 2002, she began working at HarperCollins, where she has been for the past eight years and counting. In May 2008 she joined the team at Harper’s newest imprint, Balzer & Bray.

Kristin has been privileged to work with authors and illustrators such as Michael Bond, Valeri Gorbachev, Charles Santore, Lee Bennett Hopkins, Jack Prelutsky, and Barbara McClintock. Currently, she is especially excited to be working with several talented newcomers to the Harper list, including Sudipta Bardhan, on the picture books Pirate Princess and Hampire!; Audrey Vernick, on the biography She Loved Baseball: The Effa Manley Story and the humorous picture books Is Your Buffalo Ready for Kindergarten? and Teach Your Buffalo to Play Drums; Diana Peterfreund, on the YA unicorn hunter fantasy Rampant and its upcoming sequel, Ascendant; and debut author Crystal Allen, on the middle-grade novel How Lamar’s Bad Prank Won a Bubba-Sized Trophy.

As an editor Kristin is interested in Picture Books through to Young Adult and includes fantasy, graphic novels & rhyme.  She is very selective with non-fiction and historical novels, but does do them.  Anyone who knows Kristin, knows she is a great choice for the weekend.  You will love her.  Hope to be able to announce the second editor soon.  I have other goodies to talk about in tomorrow’s post and some new ideas.

Did you know that 12 or more cows is called a flink?  Thought I would share what I just learned from a Snapple bottle.

Kathy


Responses

  1. A flink?! LOL I’ve never heard that word in my life! But then again…I grew up in the Bronx and Northern New Jersey…no Jersey cows this far north that I know of! 🙂
    Donna

    Like

    • Donna,

      I’m a southern Jersey Girl. My Grandparents had a farm, so every Sunday I would get to see the Moo Cows, but I never heard the word, “Flink.” And I don’t remember any teacher talking about a flink in school. We’ll have to use it in a story.

      Kathy

      Like

      • Kathy, I think you’re right. It’s a great word!
        Donna
        P.S. I haven’t been watching the Yanks vs. Phillies games, but I should be home to watch them tonight 🙂

        Like

  2. Kathy,
    You are one amazing friend, constantly giving to anyone and everyone who may be interested in children’s books. Thank you–I honestly don’t know how you do what you do.
    Pam B

    Like

    • Pam,

      I tell you the conference really wore me out. Today was the first day where I could say I felt sort-of normal. I am hoping that I can finish my middle grade novel this summer. I really would like to see everyone succeed and I am happy that I had a little hand in helping some people do just that.

      Thanks for your kind words.

      Kathy

      Like

  3. Ditto from me 🙂 Sirenz (official title!) would not be happening if it weren’t for you–Char and I would never have met (it was through NJSCBWI) and then there was all the feedback from the conferences we attended. xxNat

    I put you in the inspiration roll on my blog

    Like

  4. Kathy, I would love to join the retreat, at the Hyatt,in October. Count me in, if there is still room. Singe room both Friday and Saturday. I have heard such wonderful things about the Toms River retreat. I can’t wait.
    Barb

    Like

  5. Ah. Flink. I was wondering.

    Glad to hear you’re bounding back from the conference, I feel like I’m still gliding along on some of the momentum from that weekend . . . whee . . .

    Very best,
    Mimi

    Like

  6. […] can find more info on Kathy Temean’s blog here and here. Possibly related posts: (automatically generated)NJ SCBWI Conference UpdateI’m Back!NJ SCBWI […]

    Like

  7. […] Writer’s Retreat Info […]

    Like

  8. I just attended a retreat weekend in Illinios- Kristin was one of the speakers. She was wonderful, generous, kind and generous. My writing greatly improved after her sessions on dialogue and voice.

    Like

  9. Okay….I accidently wrote generous twice…but that’s okay…it’s a perfect word for her!

    Like


Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Categories