Posted by: Kathy Temean | January 8, 2010

Humor Writing & Photo Competition

I know many of you are very funny writers.  Well, here’s your chance to show off your quirky humor, make a little money and get in free to Erma Bombeck’s Workshop.  I mention the Frommer’s contest, because I know quite a few of you have gotten into photograpy.  Wouldn’t it would be cool to see your work on their cover?  The $5000 prize would be nice, too.  I’m sure you could put that money to good use.  Remember I started out the year with saying we should submit more and make things happen in 2010.  Maybe we have to think out of the box to find our successes. 

Capture the essence of Erma’s writings and you could win in 2010!

Erma Bombeck inspired people worldwide with her columns and books about life’s trials and tribulations. Her memory lives on in the Erma Bombeck Writing Competition hosted every two years by the Washington-Centerville Public Library and the University of Dayton.

Over 1,300 writers from around the world entered the 2008 competition!

For complete writing competition guidelines, online entry form, or more information, visit the library’s Web site.
 
 
 
 

 

Good luck if you enter and remember to share your successes.

Kathy


Responses

  1. Kathy,
    Thanks for the info on these contests. FYI. I tried the second link several times (click, paste, etc.). I couldn’t get it to work. But my browser offered me a choice of Frommers and that took me there. Ironically, when I got there, the address was the same as your link. Weird.

    Like

  2. Yousei,

    Thanks for pointing that out. I forgot to type the “s” at the end of Frommers. I corrected it.

    Kathy

    Like

  3. Kathy,
    Thanks for telling me about this posting. You do such an amazing job of spreading the word and helping people out. Have I told you yet today how incredible you are??

    Like

    • Hallee,

      Sorry I didn’t reply sooner. Unfortunately, I waited to the last minute to do my taxes and then I was running around here pulling out my hair. My printer died, too, so I had to get a new printer. I bought a wireless one, thinking it would be nice not to have wires and then it took five times as long to set it up. But all is well, I have it done and printers out, now I have to get to the post office. Hope the powt gave you some ideas.

      Kathy

      Like


Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Categories