Posted by: Kathy Temean | January 20, 2021

Book Winners – New Fiction Award for Women $150,000 – Industry Changes

Manju Beth Howard won A YEAR OF EVERYDAY WONDERS by Cheryl Klein

Susan Wroble won “SMELLY KELLY” AND HIS SUPER SENSES by Beth Anderson

Carol Balwin won EMPOWERING STUDENTS’ KNOWLEDGE of VOCABULARY by Mary Jo Fresch & David Harrison

Sharon Lane Holms won FROM ARCHIE TO ZACK by Vincent Kirsch

Carl Scott won EVIE’S FIELD DAY: More Than One Way To Win by Claire Nolan

Angie Quantrell won JONESY FLUX and the Gray Legion by James Pray

Becky Ross Michaels won BEAUTIFUL SHADES OF BROWN by Nancy Churnin

Winners please send your address to me so I can arrange for you to receive them. Thank you!

The Carol Shields Prize for Fiction is the first English-language literary award to celebrate creativity and excellence in fiction by women writers in the United States and Canada.

Fans of Carol Shields will recognize the name behind the prize. American-born and Canadian-based author Carol Shields was committed to the wider recognition of writer’s voices and lives, and so the Carol Shields Prize for Fiction was born: her name a perfect match for the new preeminent literary prize for writers in the United States and Canada.

By putting the work of women writers in the spotlight — and by creating charitable grants and mentorships for marginalized and under-represented writers — this new annual literary award will acknowledge, celebrate and promote fiction by a wider, more diverse, and inclusive group of women writers.

Melinda Gates announced she is donating $250,000 to help underwrite the recently established Carol Shields Prize for Fiction, the first English language literary award to celebrate excellence in fiction by women writers in the United States and Canada, through her investment and incubation company, Pivotal Ventures.

The Carol Shields Prize for Fiction will award its winner the largest purse of any literary award in the world—$150,000—with the exception of the Nobel Prize in Literature. Its first winner and four nominees will be announced in 2023.

It looks like they are collecting donations, since there is nothing I could find about how the choose the winner.


Carly Watters has been promoted to the newly created role of senior advisor at P.S. Literary.

Connie Hsu has been promoted to editorial director at Roaring Brook Press.

Alexandra Weiss has joined Jennifer Azantian Literary Agency as an associate agent. She was previously associate agent at The Jennifer De Chiara Literary Agency.

Gretchen Schmid is now associate editor for Viking Penguin; and Nidhi Pugalia is assistant editor.

Talk tomorrow,



  1. Thanks so much! I’m really looking forward to it!!


  2. Yay! Thank you! I look forward to reading Jonesy Flux and the Gray Legion! Thanks for the industry news, too. 🙂


  3. Congrats to all the winners. Thanks for the post.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.


%d bloggers like this: