Posted by: Kathy Temean | November 24, 2020

My Favorite Books of 2020

I have shared My Favorite Books for the last two years. Last year I read over 240 novels and the year before 255 books. I expect to read as many this year. It seems like many of you enjoyed the posts and read some of the books I listed, so I will add any books that I read by the end of the year that make me say, “Wow” to this list. 

Not all books were published in 2020 but all are books that made me want to prop my eyelids open so I could keep reading. Most are books that made me sigh, made me laugh, and caused a few tears. I did not include any picture books – that would be a real struggle. Look for me on Goodreads if you want to view all the 4 and 5 star books. 

BIG SUMMER by Jennifer Weiner: Big Summer is a witty, moving story about family, friendship, and figuring out what matters most. “Big fun, and then some. It’s empowering and surprising—a reminder to put down the phone and enjoy each moment for what it is.” —The Washington Post (I definitely agree, especially with surprising. I never knew that the book would end up being a murder mystery.)

A deliciously funny, remarkably poignant, and simply unputdownable novel about the power of friendship, the lure of frenemies, and the importance of making peace with yourself through all life’s ups and down. From the #1 New York Times bestselling author of Good in Bed and Best Friends ForeverBig Summer is the perfect escape with one of the most lovable heroines to come to the page in years.

(My Goodreads vote for Best Fiction)

WHAT YOU WISH FOR by Katherine Center: “The story’s message, that people should choose joy even (and especially) in difficult and painful times, seems tailor-made for this moment. A timely, uplifting read about finding joy in the midst of tragedy, filled with quirky characters and comforting warmth.”—Kirkus (starred review)

From the New York Times bestselling author of How to Walk Away comes a stunning new novel full of heart and hope.

THE VANISHING HALF by Brit Bennett: #1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER – A NEW YORK TIMES NOTABLE BOOK OF THE YEAR – A WASHINGTON POST NOTABLE BOOK OF THE YEAR – ONE OF TIME MAGAZINE’S Top Ten Books of the Year – LONGLISTED FOR THE NATIONAL BOOK AWARD – LONGLISTED FOR THE ASPEN WORDS LITERARY PRIZE

(My Goodreads vote for Best Historical Fiction)

TIME AFTER TIME by Lisa Grunwald: A magical love story, inspired by the legend of a woman who vanished from Grand Central Terminal, sweeps readers from the 1920s to World War II and beyond.

MAJESTY: Is America ready for its first queen? If you can’t get enough of Harry and Meghan and Will and Kate, you’ll love this sequel to the New York Times bestseller that imagines America’s own royal family–and all the drama and heartbreak that entails. “Inventive, fresh, and deliciously romantic–American Royals is an absolute delight!” –Sarah J. Maas

(My Goodreads vote for Best Young Adult Fiction)

OONA OUT OF ORDER: A remarkably inventive novel that explores what it means to live a life fully in the moment, even if those moments are out of order.

National Bestseller – A Good Morning America Book Club Pick – Amazon Editors’ 20 Best Books of the Year Pick –“With its countless epiphanies and surprises, Oona proves difficult to put down.” —USA Today – “By turns tragic and triumphant, heartbreakingly poignant and joyful, this is ultimately an uplifting and redemptive read.” —The Guardian

MUSIC SHOP: “An unforgettable story of music, loss and hope. Fans of High Fidelity, meet your next quirky love story.”—People

NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY THE TIMES (UK) AND THE WASHINGTON POST

HONEY DON’T LIST by Christina Lauren: From the “hilariously zany and heartfelt” (Booklist) Christina Lauren comes a romantic comedy that proves if it’s broke, you might as well fix it.

IN FIVE YEARS by Rebecca Serle: Perfect for fans of Me Before You and One Day—a striking, powerful, and moving love story following an ambitious lawyer who experiences an astonishing vision that could change her life forever.

QUEEN OF NOTHING by Holly Black: A powerful curse forces the exiled Queen of Faerie to choose between ambition and humanity in this highly anticipated and jaw-dropping finale to The Folk of the Air trilogy from a #1 New York Times bestselling author. (“Read the first two before reading.”)

(My Goodreads vote for Best Young Adult Fantasy and Science Fiction)

THE HAPPILY EVER AFTER PLAYLIST by Abby Jimenez: One trouble-making dog brings together two perfect strangers in this USA Today bestselling romantic comedy full of “fierce humor and fiercer heart.” Casey McQuiston

(My Goodreads vote for Best Romance)

NO OFFENSE by Meg Cabot: New York Times-bestselling author Meg Cabot returns with a charming romance between a children’s librarian and the town sheriff in the second book in the Little Bridge Island series. (You don’t have to read the first book to enjoy this book, but you will want to read both)

WINTER IN PARADISE by Elin Hilderbrand: A husband’s secret life, a wife’s new beginning: escape to the Caribbean with #1 New York Times bestselling author Elin Hilderbrand. (This is the first book in a 3 book series. You will want to read all)

NEXT YEAR IN HAVANA by Chanel Cleeton: “A beautiful novel full of passion, secrets, courage and sacrifice.” (Reese Witherspoon)

After the death of her beloved grandmother, a Cuban-American woman travels to Havana, where she discovers the roots of her identity – and unearths a family secret hidden since the revolution (I was taken by the Cuban culture and discovered things I did not know.)

REGRETTING YOU by Colleen Hoover: The #1 Wall Street Journal bestseller that People Magazine calls “a poignant, addictive read.”

From #1 New York Times bestselling author of It Ends with Us comes a novel about family, first love, grief, and betrayal that will touch the hearts of both mothers and daughters. (Read and Listen for free on Kindle Unlimited)

ONLY WHEN ITS US by Chloe Liese: Prepare for an emotional rollercoaster brimming with laughter, tears, and slow-burn sexiness in this new adult romance that tackles the vulnerability of love with humor and heart. (Read Free on Kindle Unlimited)

MORE THAN MAYBE by Erin Hahn: “Like your favorite song, More Than Maybe burrows inside your heart and stays there. Vada and Luke’s story of music, family, and first love will shoot to the top of your book playlist. A rich, sweet, rock and roll ride.” – Kathleen Glasgow, New York Times bestselling author of Girl in Pieces and How to Make Friends With the Dark

AWK-WEIRD by Avery Flynn: “Hilariously adorable and full of heart Awk-Weird had me giggling and melting equally from practically the first page.” – Red Hatter Book Blog (Agree)

UNFORGETTABLE by Melanie Harlow: “Melanie Harlow always delivers unputdownable romances, and Unforgettable is no different. Holy SWOON! This is sexy, small-town romance at its finest.”– Claire Kingsley, Amazon Top 10 Bestselling Author

“If you love a romance novel that has humor, sex, banter and two characters that are just meant for each other, then you want to read this book!!! Melanie has a brilliant way of writing her stories that you can’t help but root for the couple to get their HEA. Even if it isn’t smooth sailing all along the way.” – Book Bitches Blog (Agree) (Read for Free on Kindle Unlimited)

HAPPILY LETTER AFTER by Vi Keeland and Penelope Ward: From New York Times bestselling authors Vi Keeland and Penelope Ward comes a love story about taking chances and the surprises that come with them. 

“Hilarious mishaps, unexpected twists, and a large dollop of sweetness combine into an irresistible romance. This one is sure to tug at readers’ heartstrings.” Publishers Weekly (starred review) (Read for free on Kindle Unlimited)

FIX HER UP by Tessa Bailey: Fix Her Up ticks all my romance boxes. Not only is it hilarious, it’s sweet, endearing, heartwarming and downright sexy. It’s a recipe for the perfect love story.” – Helena Hunting, New York Times bestselling author of Meet Cute

A steamy, hilarious new romantic comedy from New York Times bestselling author Tessa Bailey, perfect for fans of Christina Lauren and Sally Thorne!

IN A HOLIDAZE by Christina Lauren:  THE INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

One Christmas wish, two brothers, and a lifetime of hope are on the line for hapless Maelyn Jones in In a Holidaze, the quintessential holiday romantic novel by Christina Lauren, the New York Times bestselling author of The Unhoneymooners.

PARTY of TWO by Jasmine Guillory: A chance meeting with a handsome stranger turns into a whirlwind affair that gets everyone talking in this New York Times bestseller. 

Talk tomorrow,

Kathy


Responses

  1. So many novels! I am such a slow reader in comparison. Congrats on being able to read so widely! And thanks for sharing some of your favorites!

    Like

  2. I hardly ever have time to read adult books. I probably only read 15-20 a year. I’m going to be putting some of these on my list. Thanks for the recommendations.

    Like

  3. While I am not much into light romances a couple of your titles intrigued me, like the time travel aspects. Thanks for the title tips.

    Like

  4. Thanks for sharing your favorites. 🙂

    Like


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Categories

%d bloggers like this: