Posted by: Kathy Temean | August 24, 2020

Agent Lauren Spieller TriadaUS Literary Agency

Lauren Spieller at TriadaUS Literary Agency

Lauren is seeking Middle Grade and Young Adult fiction, as well as select Adult fiction and non-fiction. Whatever the age category or genre, Lauren is passionate about representing diverse and underrepresented voices.

In MG, she’s drawn to VOICE—a book with a special voice is guaranteed to steal her heart. She is a good fit for both commercial and upmarket writing, but is most drawn to books that combine high concept hooks with excellent writing. In terms of genre, she loves it all (realistic contemporaries, fully realized fantasy and sci-fi, exciting historical, and spooky horror!). She’d also love to find a MG graphic novel, ideally by an author-illustrator! Finally, if your book can be compared to Aru Shah, Kelly Barnhill, Saavy, or Jonathan Auxier, she wants to read it.

In YA, Lauren is especially drawn to fantasy (contemporary, genre-bending, high—you name it, she wants it!) and high concept stories with killer voice, be they realistic contemporary, thriller, or historical. She would love to see more horror and graphic novels, as well, and is a sucker for a smart genre-bending tale. A few recent favorites: The Wilder Girls, Female of the Species, Spin the Dawn, and Sawkill Girls. She also loves anything that can be compared to Maggie Stiefvater, Julie Murphy, Jenny Han, or Mackenzie Lee.

In Adult, Lauren is seeking twisted, female-driven psychological suspense and thrillers in the vein of Lauren Beukes, Gillian Flynn, and Tana French. She is also interested in immersive, high concept SFF like Gideon the Ninth by Tamsyn Muir, Jade City by Fonda Lee, The Ten Thousand Doors of January by Alix E. Harrow, The Rook by Dan O’Malley, and The Fifth Season by N.K. Jemisin. She is also seeking hilarious romantic comedies in the vein of Crazy Rich Asians, The Hating Game, and Red, White and Royal Blue. And then finally, she is also open to unique non-fiction with an existing platform. In particular, she’d love to see pop and counter culture books, cocktail/coffee books with a twist/theme, and narrative nonfiction with a unique hook (if you’re the next Lindsey West, Roxanne Gay, or Lauren Duca, she wants to hear from you).

Lauren is NOT looking for: category romance, women’s fiction, military sci-fi (unless it is EXTREMELY character-driven, a la Battlestar Galactica), or memoirs. She is also not a good fit for fae/werewolves/vampires unless they are truly terrifying, and tends not to be a good fit for stories in which an animal is the main character.

For a visual manuscript wishlist, visit her MSWL Pinterest page!

Submission Guidelines

Submissions should be emailed to lauren@triadaus.com

Please send a query letter and your first ten pages to lauren@triadaus.com, an include the word QUERY in the email’s subject line. Bonus points for personalization! Links to your Twitter and blog are also welcome. 

Talk tomorrow,

Kathy


Responses

  1. FYI: Lauren Spieller is closed to submissions until Sept. 15. I just found out! 🙂

    Like

    • Thanks for letting us know. So, that gives everyone two weeks to polish up their work and get ready to submit.

      Like


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Categories

%d bloggers like this: