Posted by: Kathy Temean | September 9, 2019

Red Hen Press Fiction Award

Red Hen Press Fiction Award

Established in 2015 to nurture the unique and vibrant channels through which fiction has carried us, the Red Hen Fiction Award is for a fresh and original story of fiction with a minimum of 150 pages. The awarded fiction manuscript is selected through an annual submission process which is open to all authors.

Award details

Book publication by Red Hen Press
Final Judge: Cai Emmons
Deadline: September 30, 2019

Notes: Entry fee is $25.00. Name on cover sheet only, with a 150 page minimum. Entries will be accepted via Submittable only.


The award is open to all writers with the following exceptions:

A) Authors who have had a full length work published by Red Hen Press, or a full length work currently under consideration by Red Hen Press;
B) Employees, interns, or contractors of Red Hen Press;
C) Relatives of employees or members of the executive board of directors;
D) Relatives or individuals having a personal or professional relationship with any of the final judges where they have taken any part whatsoever in shaping the manuscript, or where, for whatever reason, selecting a particular manuscript might have the appearance of impropriety.

Procedures and Ethical Considerations

To be certain that every manuscript finalist receives the fairest evaluation, all manuscripts shall be submitted to the judges without any identifying material.

Bios, acknowledgments, and other identifying material shall be removed from judged manuscripts until the conclusion of the competition.

Red Hen Press is committed to maintaining the utmost integrity of our awards. Judges shall recuse themselves from considering any manuscript where they recognize the work. In the event of recusal, a manuscript score previously assigned by the managing editor of the press will be substituted.

Please submit materials via Submittable by clicking here or pasting this link into your browser:

For questions or to withdraw a submitted entry, please contact Editorial.

Red Hen Press Fiction Award Winners

2018 – Animal Wife, Lara Ehrlich

2017 – Living Things, Landon Houle

2016 – Trash Mountain, Bradley Bazzle

2015 – Cake Time, Siel Ju

Facebook Twitter Instagram

Visit our bookstore!



Kate’s Blog: The Life of a Writer/Editor

Red Hen Press Awards

Talk tomorrow,


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.


%d bloggers like this: