Posted by: Kathy Temean | March 25, 2018

Book Winners & The Ghost Story Supernatural Fiction Award competition

Nancy Riley is the winner of

A CHIP OFF THE OLD BLOCK by Jody Jensen Shaffer

Rebecca Koehn is the winner of

HELLO DOOR by Alstair Heim

Please send addresses – Thanks!

The Ghost Story Supernatural Fiction Award

The Ghost Story Supernatural Fiction Award competition for full-length short stories on a supernatural theme is now open for submissions!


Twice each year TGS awards $1,000 and both online and print publication to the winner of our short story competition. (Read our most recent award winners.)

Two other writers receive Honorable Mention and Second Honorable Mention awards that include publication and cash prizes of $250 and $100 respectively. Online publication dates are Midsummer’s Eve, and October 31. In addition, Winners and Honorable Mentions will be included in our paperbound anthology21st Century Ghost Stories—Volume II, which is scheduled for publication by Wyrd Harvest Press (Durham, U.K.) in 2021. All proceeds from the sale of 21st Century Ghost Stories—Volumes I & II, will be donated to projects of Britain’s Wildlife Trusts.

Online publication for each story includes a custom illustration by British folk-horror artist Andy Paciorek! Andy is also the creator of the wildly popular Facebook group, Folk Horror Revival.


Our competition typically draws around 200 submissions from all around the world. The winning stories are selected by the editors of The Ghost Story, and contest winners have included writers with a long history of publishing their work and/or winning awards, as well as writers who have never before published a story.

GUIDELINES: Ghost stories are welcome, of course—but your submission may involve any paranormal or supernatural theme, as well as magic realism. What we’re looking for is fine writing, fresh perspectives, and maybe a few surprises in the field of supernatural fiction. Story length should run between 1,500 and 10,000 words. Please be assured that we will read and carefully evaluate ALL submissions to The Ghost Story Supernatural Fiction Award competition. If you would like us to consider publishing your story even if you do not win an Award or an Honorable Mention, let us know in your cover letter.

For some tips on what we’re looking for in our winning stories, read the interview we recently did with Duotrope.

Further information about the editor and publisher of TGS is available here.

Entry fee is $20 per story. Multiple entries and simultaneous submissions are permitted. We do not accept stories that have been published previously or that are scheduled for publication elsewhere. Please submit all entries via the link at the top of this page.

RIGHTS: The Ghost Story acquires First Rights (online and print) to the winning and honorable mention stories in the Fiction Award competition. Following publication on our website and in 21st Century Ghost Stories, authors are free to resell/republish their pieces elsewhere.

Good luck to all you ghost loving writers.

Talk tomorrow,



  1. YAY! I’m very excited! Will email you my address. Love Alastair!


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.


%d bloggers like this: