Posted by: Kathy Temean | January 14, 2018

Book Giveaway: Love, Triangle by Marcie Colleen

Marcie Colleen has agreed to give away a copy of her picture book LOVE, TRIANGLE to one lucky winner. All you have to do to get in the running is to leave a comment. Reblog, tweet, or talk about it on Facebook with a link and you will get additional chances to win. Just let me know the other things you did to share the good news, so I can put in the right amount of tickets in my basket for you. Check back to discover the winner.

BOOK DESCRIPTION:

A hilariously clever geometry-inspired picture book from acclaimed author Marcie Colleen and popular illustrator Bob Shea. Perfect for fans of Amy Krouse Rosenthal.

Ever since they were a dot and a speck, Circle and Square have been best friends…. Then someone new comes along: a cool, exciting Triangle. And three starts to feel like a crowd. . . .

With their friendship bent out of shape, can they put it back together again?

BOOK’S Journey:

Many have heard me tell this story of Love, Triangle’s journey before, but it’s kind of funny and worth repeating.

In February 2012, I attended my first ever writing conference—the Winter SCBWI conference in New York City. I had recently started writing picture books and was eager to learn all I could.

Young Adult author, Cassandra Clare took the podium for a keynote titled “Love Triangles and Forbidden Love: Creating and Maintaining Romantic Tension in YA Literature.” I pulled out my pen ready to take notes, but as she began my pen did not move. In fact, I hardly moved.

Booming through speakers of the ballroom came description after description of types of love triangles. I was completely enthralled, but it was so scandalous! I was a picture book writer! I spent my days writing a manuscript about a spunky penguin who wanted to fly to the moon!

I turned to my friend, picture book author, Jodi Moore, who was sitting next to me, and half-jokingly whispered, “Not sure how I will ever use this in a picture book!” Jodi coyly responded, “You never know.”

And that planted the seed. I started to wonder if I could possibly write a “love triangle” picture book.

After a year of thinking on it, the premise finally came to me: A circle and square are best friends until a more interesting triangle shows up! It would be a story of navigating friendship, layered with lots of fun geometry puns and wordplay.

Did you catch that? After a year of thinking on it. That’s how my writing process usually goes. 1. I get an idea. 2. I think on it, let it marinate, let it simmer and sauté for a time—sometimes years. 3. When I have gotten to a point where I can visualize the story from start to finish, it’s finally time to write.

Once written, Love, Triangle went through a few revisions with my critique group and my agent, Susan Hawk. I think it was about seven rounds.
One early November evening in 2014, Susan hit send and Love, Triangle went out on submission. By the next morning, we had an offer from a big publishing house. The rest of the day we were flooded with more offers. Eventually, Love, Triangle went to a five-house auction and in the end, found a home with Alessandra Balzer at Balzer+Bray/ HarperCollins.

Alessandra’s vision for the book included bringing on Bob Shea to illustrate. In his brilliant hands, Circle, Square, and Triangle popped into life. It was amazing to finally see my characters.
With our team together, Love, Triangle quickly took shape and made its debut on bookshelves everywhere October 3, 2014.

Oh, and to bring it full circle, we sent a copy to Cassandra Clare as a thank you.

MARCIE BIO:

I may have been named after the girl who called everyone “Sir” in the iconic comic strip, Peanuts, but I can relate more to Frieda who constantly reminded us that she had “naturally curly hair”.  After all, that is how I am most recognized.

In previous chapters I’ve been a teacher, an actress, and a nanny, but now I spend my days writing children’s books!

I enjoy reading, long distance running, watching baseball, and eating ice cream–not all at the same time!  Although I never turn down a challenge.

Although I will always be a Brooklynite at heart, I now live with my husband–LEGO artist, Jonathan Lopes–and our mischievous sock monkey in San Diego, California.

Represented by Susan Hawk at Upstart Crow Literary.

Marcie Colleen is a former classroom teacher turned children’s book author. She is the author of THE SUPER HAPPY PARTY BEARS chapter book series with Macmillan/Imprint, as well her debut picture book, LOVE, TRIANGLE, illustrated by Bob Shea (Balzer+Bray/HarperCollins), and PENGUINAUT!, illustrated by Emma Yarlett, to be published by Scholastic in 2018.  ​She lives with her husband and their mischievous sock monkey in San Diego, California. To learn more, please visit her at www.thisismarciecolleen.com.

You can visit Marcie at: http://www.thisismarciecolleen.com/.

Thank you Marcie for sharing your book and journey with us. It just proves that an idea can come from anywhere. 

Talk tomorrow,

Kathy


Responses

  1. This looks like an interesting and fun story! Thanks for sharing!

    Like

  2. I loved reading the story behind the story! What a brilliant way to take a seemingly inappropriate topic for a picture book and turn it into something fun and relatable for little kids.

    Like

  3. This book sounds like a lot of fun! I really enjoyed seeing how the idea grea from initial inspiration to the final book.

    Like

  4. A heartwarming storyline with a twist! Love it!

    Like

  5. Just love the wordplay in your book, Marcie! Thanks for sharing the journey from idea to publication — it’s inspiring for those of us who are “pre-published.”

    Like

  6. I can’t wait to read this book. I love the idea and the story behind it. Proof, you never know where the next idea is.

    Like

  7. I love this book, Marcie! And always fun to hear the story of its beginning!

    Like

  8. Love the story of how it came to be. Just myself wrote a story about shapes. Thanks!

    Like

  9. So fun to learn about your journey! I work in a preschool and see a group of students struggle to manage their friendships each year. Hearts are certainly broken when their bestie won’t sit next to them. : (. Thank you for writing LOVE, TRIANGLE to open this discussion!

    Like

  10. Looks adorable and I LOVE the pun. I’ve also tweeted about the giveaway.

    Like

  11. It was so fun to hear more about this book’s journey. I love puns and can’t wait to read it. Congratulations Marcie!!

    Like

  12. Tweeted!

    Like

  13. I love hearing the evolution of this book. We never know where inspiration might come from. Congratulations Marcie.

    Like

  14. I put in a request with our library and they have ordered the book. Can’t wait to see it for real. Now lots of kids will get to enjoy it.

    Like

  15. It was so fabulous to learn the story behind the story of the infamous Love, Triangle! Thanks for sharing!

    Like

  16. This is such a cleve book. Thanks for sharing the journey you took to create it!

    Like

  17. I can’t resist punny picture books! And your husband’s art is great! Love Mr. Tiger and the fire stations – surprised to see the new San Diego stations!

    Like

  18. What a scandalous start to a sweet book!

    Liked by 1 person

  19. Thanks for sharing your journey!!!!!!!!!!

    Like

  20. Congratulations, Marcie. I “heart” the idea behind this Love Triangle book. Looks like it’s “shaping” up to be a great seller.
    Kathy, I retweeted your tweet about the giveaway. Thanks.

    Like

  21. Working with elementary students, I always love books that have a great message and subtly teach concepts. Already added Love Triangle to my TBR stack!

    Like

  22. I think a lot of publishers seek simple illustration styles these days because it is “the look” that is fashionable these days, but here is someone who does perfect illustrations, with design, composition, color, and wit! Very fun!

    Like

  23. Love the spreads. I enjoyed hearing how the story developed and the time it took for the seed of an idea to develop into something tangible. Thanks!

    Like

  24. I definitely want to read this book! Thank you for sharing!

    Like

  25. Congrats Marcie, love this clever book concept.

    Like

  26. I love your inspiration behind the story and can’t wait to read this “punny” sounding book!

    Like

  27. Marcie, you are the BEST and this book is aDORable! 😀 I’m totally in for the giveaway AND of course, I’ll share this 😀 😀 😀

    Like


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

Categories

%d bloggers like this: