Posted by: Kathy Temean | December 7, 2017

Book Giveaway: PEEP AND EGG: I’M NOT TAKING A BATH

 NANCY RILEY won LITTLE MOUSE FINDS A FRIEND by Jessica Linn Evans

Congratulations Nancy! Please send me your address – Thanks!

Laura Gehl has a new Peep and Egg picture book titled, PEEP AND EGG: I’M NOT TAKING A BATH and lucky us, she has agreed to do the book giveaway.

All you have to do to get in the running is to leave a comment. Reblog, tweet, or talk about it on Facebook with a link and you will get additional chances to win. Just let me know the other things you did to share the good news, so I can put in the right amount of tickets in my basket for you. Check back to discover the winner.

BOOK DESCRIPTION:

In this lively addition to the funny Peep and Egg picture book series for toddlers, a reluctant chick named Egg overcomes her aversion to taking a bath.

Peep thinks Egg needs to take a bath after playing in the mud. But Egg is not taking a bath. Not in the river, not in the duck pond, and definitely not in the dog’s water bowl—too slobbery! Does Peep have any tricks up her feathers to help a chick change her mind? Laura Gehl and Joyce Wan are back with another fun, colorful story that takes the “not” out of “I’m not taking a bath!”

THE BOOK’S JOURNEY:

PEEP AND EGG: I’M NOT TAKING A BATH is the third book in my series with Joyce Wan. The series features two adorable chicken siblings: Egg, the fearful, stubborn younger sister; and Peep, the wise, encouraging, and (when needed) sneaky older sister.

Writing a series is such a delight, because you have already created and bonded with your characters after the first book, and now you get to put them in new situations and help them figure out how to solve new problems. But…writing a series is tricky, too. I had to keep the basic story structure and repetition of phrases that toddlers find comforting (this also allows little ones to participate in the read-aloud process by shouting along with Egg). Meanwhile, I had to keep the story feeling fresh and new.

In the end, I made two significant changes for this third book in the series, as well as for the fourth book, PEEP AND EGG: I’M NOT USING THE POTTY. The first change is that Peep has to get more creative in her solutions—she enlists the other farm animals to help, and she also uses fun props including bath toys and toilet paper tutus. The second change in these third and fourth books comes in the last pages, with Egg gently turning the tables on Peep.

Of course, Joyce also adds her own special and wonderful touches to each book that help the sequels feel fresh and satisfying. You can find my favorite in PEEP AND EGG: I’M NOT TAKING A BATH near the end, when Egg finally (spoiler alert) takes a bath. Joyce put the pigs in a boat so that they can stay muddy while still joining in the big bath party with the rest of the farm animals.

I am so grateful that my wonderful editor Janine O’Malley at FSG/Macmillan gave Joyce and me the opportunity to create Peep and Egg’s universe. When little readers tell me they can’t wait for the next Peep and Egg book, and suggest possible future titles, it makes me feel like Queen of the World. Or at least Queen of the Farm.

LAURA’S BIO:

Laura Gehl is the award-winning author of popular picture books, including One Big Pair of Underwear, illustrated by Tom Lichtenheld. Upcoming books include My Pillow Keeps Moving, illustrated by Christopher Weyant (January 2018); Peep and Egg: I’m Not Using the Potty, illustrated by Joyce Wan (February 2018); and I Got a Chicken For My Birthday, illustrated by Sarah Horne (March 2018).

Thank you Laura for sharing your book and your journey with us. This will make an excellent gift to give someone for the holidays, if the winner can give it up.

Talk tomorrow,

Kathy


Responses

  1. Is there were the candy peeps came from? Such great treats. Would love your feedback on my new short called The Writers Block. Hope to see you there

    Like

  2. Congratulations, Laura! This looks so fun, and I love your art.

    Like

  3. Love Peep & Egg! I shared on FB and Twitter!

    Like

  4. This sounds so delightful! I’d love a copy of this book. I am tweeting and sharing on FB as well.

    Like

  5. This whole series cracks me up. It reminds of myself when I was little. Contrary? Oh you bet. Thanks for the chance to win a copy. To better my chances I’ve tweeted a link: https://twitter.com/carlrscott/status/938899473568219136, and pinned an image on Pinterest: https://www.pinterest.com.mx/pin/336573772143889224/. Thanks again, have a great evening!

    Like

  6. The illustrations are so simple, but so lively, fun, and memorable! Beautifully done!

    Like

  7. I tweeted it and shared the new title with my children’s elementary school.

    Like

  8. I love this series and can’t wait to read the newest installment! Congrats!

    Like


Leave a Reply

Categories

