Posted by: Kathy Temean | August 14, 2017

Book Giveaway – Chicken Wants A Nap by Tracy Marchini

Agent and Author Tracy Marchini has a new book CHICKEN WANTS A NAP hits the book shelves tomorrow. Tracy is giving away a copy to one lucky winner.

If you would like to win a copy, please leave a comment, reblog, tweet, or talk about CHICKEN WANTS A NAP on Facebook with a link and you will get additional chances to win. Just let me know the other things you did to share the good news, so I can put the right amount of tickets in my basket for you. Check back to discover the winner.

DESCRIPTION:

The sun is up, and a happy barnyard chicken is looking forward to a comfortable day—preferably one that includes a relaxing nap. However, every time she tries to find a good spot, something goes wrong. The sun disappears and is replaced by rain. She is driven out of the warm barn by obnoxious noises and smells. The dog is too curious for her to stay on the porch. Finally, the rain stops, and the worms come out. This is good news for the chicken—but bad news for the worms!

BOOK’S JOURNEY TO PUBLICATION: 

I guess Chicken’s story starts in 2012, when I was working part-time and earning my MFA in Writing for Children full time. My professor, Anna Staniszewski, had assigned us to write about a character’s best or worst day. I was absolutely exhausted that evening, and the best thing in the world to me at the time (and plenty of times since!) was a nap. So out popped this line – “Chicken wants a nap.”

I started to write about this chicken who was in desperate need of a nap, but kept being disturbed by the barnyard around her.

(Years before, I had attended a talk by Brian Selznick, and he mentioned that one of his inspirations for The Invention of Hugo Cabret was Remy Charlip’s Fortunately – where it looks like the character will be okay, and then a page turn delivers a new impending disaster. I loved this idea at the time, and I feel like it must have been sitting there in my subconscious while I drafted Chicken.)

So it was good news, bad news, good news for Chicken, depending on the page turn. And when I finished, Chicken was about 166 words.

It wasn’t like my earlier picture book manuscripts, but it felt like there was something there.

But, I was in grad school and had to keep working on other projects. So Chicken stayed on my laptop for three years.

When I saw a call for submissions from Amicus Ink, a sister company of Creative Editions, I reached back out to Tom Peterson (who I had previously worked with and sold a book to as a literary agent’s assistant back in 2008) and sent him the manuscript for Chicken in November 2015. In January, I received an offer!

So, after doing a very, very annoying song and dance that went something like this:

Me: Guess what?

:::Doesn’t wait for an answer from her loved ones:::

Me: I sold a booooo-ook!  I sold a booooo-ook!

I accepted the offer, finalized the contract and went to work on edits with my editor, Amy Novesky.

We switched Chicken Wants a Nap from first person to third and worked to tweak the refrain to make it just right. (As I’m sure all my fellow picture book writers can attest, it’s amazing how much time you can spend working on just a few lines!)

Once we finalized the manuscript, it was time to move forward with the art. It was so exciting to get the digital proof and see what Monique Felix had done with the story – and even better to get a box of author copies a few weeks ago and flip through the physical pages.

The book is so beautifully produced – the pages are nice and thick, I love the ‘hidden’ spot art on the hardcover under the jacket, and everything about it just looks and feels pleasing to me as a fellow picture book aficionado!

 

TRACY’S BIO:

Tracy Marchini is a Literary Agent at BookEnds Literary, representing fiction, non-fiction and illustration for children and teens. Prior to joining BookEnds, Tracy worked as a freelance editor, a Literary Agents Assistant, a children’s book reviewer, and a newspaper correspondent.

Tracy’s debut picture book, Chicken Wants A Nap, is forthcoming from Creative Editions (August 2017). She holds an M.F.A in Writing for Children and can be found at http://www.tracymarchini.com or on Twitter at @TracyMarchini.

Thank you Tracy for sharing your book and journey with us and of course, participating in the book giveaway. It looks like so much fun. I am sure it will be a big success.

Talk tomorrow,

Kathy


Responses

  1. Looks beautiful, the colors, the emotion, the ideas! I am eager to see the entire story!

    Like

  2. Congratulations, Tracy, and thank you for sharing your story with us! Can’t wait to read your book!

    Like

  3. Congratulations, Tracy! I can’t wait to read about Chicken. Thanks for sharing your journey… now off to find my book-in-progress, wherever it’s napping.

    Like

  4. I love the background story of the birth of Chicken Wants a Nap. Thank you for the opportunity to win a copy, my grandson would love it! I’ve also tweeted about this post.

    Like

  5. How cute is this! Would love to win a copy–I also shared on facebook and tweeted about it😀I shared your link on facebook but wrote my own verse 🐥

    Like

  6. As a long-time chicken owner (16 years now!), I always love a good chicken story. Can’t wait to read this one! Congrats to Tracy!

    Like

  7. I loved hearing how CHICKEN WANTS A NAP was hatched. Every book has an interesting story behind it. Congratulations, Tracy.

    Like

  8. Your book looks like such fun! I liked the Fortunately, Unfortunately idea, too. Look forward to reading it.

    Like

  9. Looking forward to reading this! Congratulations Tracy and thank you and Kathy for the generous book giveaway!

    Like

  10. I just love the look of this book and chicken is such a relatable character. Now I want a nap too. Thanks so much for the chance to win a copy.
    For +1 entry I tweeted a link to this post: https://twitter.com/carlrscott/status/897205829559959552
    and for +1 entry more I pinned an image with a link on Pinterest: https://www.pinterest.com.mx/pin/336573772142428095/
    Have a great day!

    Like

  11. Chicken Wants a Nap is such a great idea. I think this will become a favorite nap time book. Can’t wait to read it.

    Like

  12. Congrats, Tracy! And these illustrations are just beautiful 🙂

    Like

  13. Love the artwork. Love the premise. Love chickens!!! Congratulations.

    Like

  14. This sounds like a very appealing book. The poor chicken looks so tired that I just want to say, “Awww . . . You can go to sleep now, little bird.” (Also, it’s neat to hear from an agent who is also a picture book writer!)

    Like

  15. This looks delightful! It needs to be in my collection!

    Like


Leave a Reply

Categories

