Posted by: Kathy Temean | July 27, 2017

Literary Agent Andrea Somberg at Harvey Klinger

A literary agent for over fifteen years, I represent a wide range of fiction and nonfiction, including projects for adult, young adult and middle grade audiences.  Previously an agent at the Donald Maass Agency and Vigliano Associates, I joined Harvey Klinger Literary Agency in the spring of 2005. My clients’ books have been NYTimes and USABestsellers, winner of ALA’s Alex Award, nominated for The Governor General’s Award, the Lambda Award, the Mythopoeic Fantasy Award and the VCU Cabell First Novelist Award, and named best books of the year by NYPublic Library.  I also teach courses for MediaBistro and Writers Digest on topics such as nonfiction, memoir, mystery and thrillers, fantasy and sci-fi.

My client list is quite full, however I am always actively looking to take on new authors who write in the following categories:  Fiction: literary, commercial, book club fiction, romance, thrillers, mystery, fantasy, science fiction, young adult, new adult, middle grade. Nonfiction: memoir, narrative, popular science,  pop-culture, humor, how-to, parenting, self-help, lifestyle, travel, interior design, crafts, cookbooks, business, sports, diet, health & fitness.

My list is diverse and I love it that way. I represent almost all types of fiction and nonfiction, as well as young adult and middle grade. For nonfiction I am searching for books that look at the world in a new, unusual way, or that give me insight into a topic that I may not be familiar with. For fiction, regardless of whether it’s literary, upmarket book club fiction, romance, epic fantasy, science fiction, cozy mysteries, thrillers, ya or middle grade, I am looking for a narrative voice that resonates with me. Books that particularly make me sit up and take notice these days are:

FICTION:
Literary
Commercial
Upmarket Women’s Fiction
Romance
Thrillers
Mystery
Fantasy
Science Fiction
Historical
Young Adult
Middle Grade
Upmarket fiction (i.e., bookclub fiction) that have a twist or shed light on an intriguing issue, or that feature quirky, dysfunctional families.
Novels that explore cultural heritage
Epic fantasy, especially one set in a non-Western culture, military sf or space opera
Psychological thrillers with female protagonists
Magical realism for the adult, YA or MG market.
Young adult and middle grade novels that feature diverse protagonists
Nonfiction for middle grade or young adult audiences
Any novel with great characters and a compelling storyline

NONFICTION:
Memoir
Narrative
Popular science
Parenting
Pop-culture
Humor
How-to
Self-help
Lifestyle
Travel
Interior design
Crafts
Cookbooks
Business
Sports
Diet/health & fitness

Unique nonfiction
All that being said, I’m really just looking for projects that I fall in love with and since I can’t always predict what that is going to be, definitely feel free to reach out to me regardless!
Fiction: Action/Adventure, Children’s, Commercial, Crime, Family Saga, Fantasy, General, Historical, Horror, Humor, LGBTQ, Literary, Middle Grade, Mystery, Romance, Science Fiction, Thriller, Women’s Fiction, Young Adult
Non-Fiction: Cookbooks, Crafts/DIY, Humor, Journalism, LGBTQ, Memoir, Pop Culture, Psychology, Science, Sports, Travel, True Crime

Submission Guidelines
Submissions should be emailed to andrea@harveyklinger.com
Please send along a query letter and the opening five pages of your manuscript to andrea@harveyklinger.com


Responses

  1. Thanks for sharing! I’m looking at agents and narrowing down the ones I would like to send proposals to right now. This is another agent to research.

    Like


Leave a Reply

Categories

