Posted by: Kathy Temean | June 14, 2017

Book Giveaway: Liberty: The Spy Who (Kind of) Liked Me

Author Andrea Portes has agreed to giveaway a copy of her New YA novel, LIBERTY: THE SPY WHO (KIND OF) LIKED ME. It came out last week, so it’s available to purchase. All you have to do to get in the running to win a copy is to leave a comment. Reblog, tweet, or talk about it on Facebook with a link and you will get additional chances to win. Just let me know the other things you did to share the good news, so I can put in the right amount of tickets in my basket for you. Check back to discover the winner.

BOOK DESCRIPTION: Liberty: The Spy Who (Kind of) Liked Me

The bestselling author of Anatomy of Misfit and The Fall of Butterflies, Andrea Portes, is back with another irresistible snarky heroine in Liberty.

What is a hero? Paige Nolan knows. Edward Raynes, the young man who exposed America’s unconstitutional spying techniques, is a hero, even if half the dum-dums in the country think he’s a traitor. Or Paige’s parents, journalists who were captured by terrorists while telling stories of the endangered and oppressed. They were heroes, too. Were. . . or are—no one has ever told Paige if they’re still alive, or dead.

Not heroes? Anyone in the government who abandoned her parents, letting them rot somewhere halfway across the world. And certainly not Paige herself, who despite her fluency in five languages and mastery of several obscure martial arts (thanks, Mom!) could do nothing to save them.

Couldn’t, that is, until she’s approached by Madden Carter, an undercover operative who gives her a mission—fly to Russia, find Raynes, and discover what other government secrets he’s stockpiled. In exchange, he’ll reopen the case on her missing parents. She’s given a code name and a cover as a foreign exchange student.

Who is a hero? Not Paige Nolan, but maybe, just maybe, Liberty is.

BOOK’S JOURNEY:

It’s always a strange thing figuring out what, exactly, propelled you forward into writing an entire book.

For my first book, HICK, a work of literary fiction… it was probably passion in combination with a kind of blind ambition. The desire to “be something” (whatever that means). It was an arduous task, as said desire was, also, as is often the case, coupled with a debilitating paralysis. So, the entire process from idea to published book took about ten years. I know. Long time. But, you see, that un-winning combination can be a real kick in the teeth. Passion and ambition won by a nose.

Then there was my second book, BURY THIS, which was, also, a work of literary fiction. That one kind of came storming through the gates, wallowing up from the ether and finishing itself in a kind of fever dream.

My third book, ANATOMY OF A MISFIT, was my first Young Adult. That one I absolutely had to write, as it was based on a true story, a tragedy that happened in my youth, one that haunted me.

My fourth book, THE FALL OF BUTTERFLIES, another Young Adult, was the east coast book I had promised myself I would write one day to exercise the demons of my college experience at Bryn Mawr. There were odes to be given, ghosts to be lifted.

LIBERTY: THE SPY WHO (KIND OF) LIKED ME was a funny thing. The idea of the main character, Paige Nolan, an uber-liberal, neurotic type roped into a kind of covert action, intrigued me. I was in love with the idea of a self-conscious, socially-inept intellectual thrown into a kind of whirlwind of global forces. It appealed to me so much more than the average self-serious, male, BOURNE IDENTITY kind of thing. That, to me, isn’t really that interesting. But a strange girl, one who is constantly lost in her own musings, cast into this hyper-serious landscape, now that had appeal.

I was drawn to the humor of it and found my way through the novel with humor, it was what drove me. In short, Paige cracked me up. I loved the byzantine workings of her thoughts, as well as the Russian characters she encountered.

It didn’t hurt that I travelled to Moscow and Saint Petersburg and absolutely fell in love with its beauty, mystery and grand albeit tragic history. I found Russia to be a kind of hidden jewel, a place shrouded in mystery and even prejudice from the west that was, actually, quite romantic, stunning and bittersweet.

A funny thing, the book was actually bought by Fox Studios while I was writing it, which was intriguing in itself. Suddenly, I was going to meetings on the studio lot hearing a discussion about my protagonist, characters and plot. I, actually, quite appreciated the insights of the producer, Wyck Godfrey, who is well-known for his films TWILIGHT and FAULT IN OUR STARS. The stereotype is always the opposite, that producers are the death of the author’s vision. I, honestly, didn’t have that experience. I felt like my producer was quite pithy. Of course, it’s possible I just got extremely lucky. We’ve all heard the horror stories.

Every one of my books has a life of its own, and its own associations. To me, this one is about humor in the face of daunting odds as well as the power of resistance against the dominant patriarchal power structures of our time.

BIO:

Andrea Portes is a bestselling American novelist.
Her novels include: HICK, BURY THIS and ANATOMY OF A MISFIT and THE FALL OF BUTTERFLIES. Portes is also the author of the upcoming LIBERTY book series and the upcoming HENRY & EVA AND THE CASTLE ON THE CLIFF book series.

Portes was raised in rural Nebraska, outside of Lincoln. She later attended Bryn Mawr College on full scholarship. She then received her MFA from University of California, San Diego. After graduation, Portes moved to the neighborhood of Echo Park in Los Angeles.

In 2007, Portes published her debut novel HICK which was an instant best seller. After the book’s huge success, the movie adaptation of HICK went into production in 2011. The film, starring Chloë Grace Moretz, Alec Baldwin, Eddie Redmayne, Juliette Lewis and Blake Lively  premiered at the Toronto International Film Festival in 2011.

Portes’s second novel, BURY THIS, was published in January 2014 by Counterpoint Press’s imprint Soft Skull Press to critical acclaim.
In 2012, she wrote SUPER RAD, a sci fi series for DARK MATTER COMICS.

Portes’ third novel, ANATOMY OF A MISFIT, was published in September 2014 by HarperCollins. In July 2014, the book was optioned in a pre-emptive deal by Paramount Pictures, with Allison Shearmur(THE HUNGER GAMES,CINDERELLA) producing.

In Winter 2015, Portes spy thriller series, LIBERTY, was bought in a three-book deal by HarperCollins.Twentieth Century Fox – Fox 2000 acquired the rights to LIBERTY and will be producing the series with Wyck Godfrey(TWILIGHT, THE FAULT IN OUR STARS).

Her fourth book, THE FALL OF BUTTERFLIES was published by HarperCollins in 2016. Portes also chose HarperCollins to publish HENRY & EVA & THE CASTLE ON THE CLIFF, the first in a middle reader series of HENRY & EVA books. The second in the installment entitled, HENRY AND EVA AND THE FAMOUS PEOPLE GHOSTS. She is currently working on THEY WERE LIKE WOLVES, a work of literary fiction.

Thank you Andrea for sharing your book and journey with us. Loved Anatomy of a Misfit, so I can’t wait to read this book. Looks like another great read. Here’s Andrea’s website: http://andreaportes.squarespace.com/

Talk tomorrow,

Kathy


Responses

  1. WOW so interesting. Can’t wait to check out these books!

    Like

  2. This sounds fantastic. Definitely putting this (and Andrea’s other work) on my TBR list.
    *also shared on KidlitTidbits’ Facebook page.

    Like

  3. I LOVE hearing what’s behind a book’s journey and this was more than interesting! Congrats on the movie, too, Andrea! Thanks for sharing all this (as I will now on Twitter and Facebook, Kathy 🙂 ) 😀

    Like

  4. Andrea Portes is a genius of unique interior honesty and humor. Anatomy of a Misfit is tragic, hilarious and as brilliant and authentic as To the Lighthouse. My absolute favorite.

    Like

  5. Thanks for sharing your journey, Andrea. LIBERTY sounds super interesting and fun! I’m happy to have learned about your other books, too!

    Like

  6. I really enjoy the title and cover of this book! The plot also has me intrigued! 😁

    Like


Leave a Reply

Categories

