Posted by: Kathy Temean | June 7, 2017

The 2018 Helen Sheehan YA Book Prize

The 2018 Helen Sheehan YA Book Prize

Prize of $1,000 and publication with Elephant Rock Books YA.

Judges: Jennie Kendrick, Forever Young Adult; Suzy Takac, owner of The Book Cellar.

Elephant Rock’s Helen Sheehan YA Book Prize is awarded to only the strongest full-length YA novel. We’ve had great success with the prize. The Carnival at Bray, our 2014 winner by Jessie Ann Foley, went on to become a Printz Honor Book; The Art of Holding On and Letting Go, our 2016 winner by Kristin Bartley Lenz, was a Junior Library Guild selection and has since been nominated for the Michigan Great Lakes Great Books Award.

The press accepts electronic submissions through Submittable.

Elephant Rock does not read manuscripts outside their contest.

Submission Guidelines

Eligibility: Novelists writing in English and with completed YA manuscripts.

Submit the first fifty pages. Full manuscripts submitted during round two of evaluation.

A manuscript may be submitted that is being considered elsewhere, but Elephant Rock should be notified upon the manuscript’s acceptance elsewhere.

Cover letter: include a brief bio; relevant publication information; address, phone number, and title of the manuscript.

Submission fee: $20 via Submittable.

The winning manuscript will be announced late Fall 2017, and published in 2018.

Submissions Deadline: June 30.

Good luck!

Talk Tomorrow,



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.


%d bloggers like this: