Posted by: Kathy Temean | April 12, 2017

Book Giveaway: Lizzie and Lou Seal

Congratulations to author/illustrator Patricia Keeler on her new book LIZZE AND LOU SEAL. She has agreed to participate in our book giveaway. All you have to do to get in the running is to leave a comment. Reblog, tweet, or talk about it on Facebook with a link and you will get additional chances to win. Just let me know the other things you did to share the good news, so I can put in the right amount of tickets in my basket for you. Check back to discover the winner.

BOOK DESCRIPTION:

Lizzie lovers her flip-flops. They go shuffle shuffle across the rug, smack smack on the floor tiles, and thwap thwap down the stairs. Lizzie also loves her blow-up toy, Lou Seal. Lizzie and Lou Seal are off to the beach, but beach fun turns to beach disaster when Lizzie loses her flip-flops and Lou Seal starts losing air! It’s a sink or swim scenario. What will Lizzie do?

This is a beautiful book with mixed media art and a lovely retro feel, for fans of Ladybug Girl at the Beach. Children will relate to Lizzie’s independence and creative problem solving and fall in love with Lou Seal themselves. Filled with lots of fun words and sounds, this is a perfect read aloud book for parents and children alike.

BOOK’S JOURNEY:

Developing LIZZIE AND LOU SEAL 

I happened across articles from The Washington Post titled “The Podiatric Dangers of Flip-Flops”, and blogs like Pedorthics with posts titled Children Shouldn’t Flip Flop Their Way Through Summer. The dangers of flip-flops seemed amusing and serious to me at the same time. Why not a story that included flip-flops?

Soon I began writing one with the working title FLIP FLOP STOMP. The main character, a little girl named Lizzie, loved, loved her new flip-flops. She was excited to wear them everywhere. She was tickled by the sounds they made as she flip-flopped her way across different surfaces down to the sand. Unfortunately, her flip-flops were always tripping her up.

I brought the manuscript to NJSCBWI in 2014 and received supportive and insightful critiques.

I revised my manuscript. I set the story at the beach in a small retro trailer. I scrapped Lizzie’s parents and gave her a pal, a blow-up seal, named Lou Seal. I began to illustrate the dummy. As I sketched, Lizzie got younger and Lou Seal got bigger.

A lot bigger!

Lou Seal was making space for his own part in the story. So what was Lou Seal doing while Lizzie was fussing with her flip-flops? It occurred to me that Lou Seal could be having his own difficulties. Events Lizzie doesn’t see, but the reader does! Even the youngest readers/viewers like catching onto the story before the main character does.

After working with my author/illustrator group, Drawn To Picture Books, and creating a final dummy in my studio, I was ready to shop my picture book proposal with the new title, LIZZIE AND LOU SEAL. I returned to NJSCBWI.   

How I Sold LIZZIE AND LOU SEAL or David’s Rule of Five

David, a wise friend indeed, said children’s books exist on a different time continuum than normal life. It takes 5 times longer to create a picture book dummy than you’d imagine. Expect 5 weeks to get your takeaways printed and organized, instead of the one week you’d planned. And meeting an editor 5 times only counts as 1 connection.

The wonderful thing about NJSCBWI is that you CAN connect with the same editor 5 times. There are the one-on-ones, workshops and portfolio shows. There is breakfast, lunch, dinner, and (my favorite) happy hour.

Publishing houses spend a lot of effort and money, as well as trust, in the author-illustrator to create a dynamic picture book. According to David’s Rule of Five, you first need to give an editor adequate time and a variety of venues to get to know you and your work so that a level of working relationship can be established.

I use this Rule of Five model instead of seeing how many different editors I can meet. I research the editors attending an NJSCBWI conference and find the one who has published picture books most similar to mine. And if my writing or illustrations aren’t what my chosen editor is looking for, I’ve made a wonderful friend!

I focused my NJSCBWI conference time on connecting with Julie Matysik from Sky Pony Press, and reconnecting with Liza Fleissig from Liza Royce Agency. Luckily, both were successful!

Pull out your sketchbook and pencil and try your hand at drawing Lizzie with me!

 

PATRICIA’S BIO:

Patricia Keeler received the Christopher Medal in 2011 for her illustrations for WOULD YOU STILL LOVE ME IF, written by Wendy LaGuardia. She was also the winner in the children’s book category for the New York Book Festival 2013.

Patricia has been positively reviewed by the New York Times Book Review, along with Kirkus Reviews and School Library Journal. Her work has also been a selection of the Junior Library Guild and the Children’s Book-of-the-Month Club. 

The Kerlan Collection at the University of Minnesota, which houses the largest collection of children’s books in the world, has obtained the original illustrations, galleys, proofs, acceptance letter, contract and pages of editorial critiques for Patricia Keeler’s DRUMBEAT IN OUR FEET. The Drumbeat collection is currently studied by future children’s book authors and illustrators.

Patricia Keeler lives across the Hudson River from New York City in Hoboken, NJ, with her husband, photographer Francis X. McCall. Ms. Keeler received an undergraduate degree from Virginia Polytechnical and State University and a master’s degree from Virginia Commonwealth University. Before coming to Hoboken, Ms. Keeler worked in advertising for the Richmond Times Dispatch and was art director for PBS Television (WCVE, Channel 25) in Richmond, VA.

She has illustrated and/or written many books, including Thank You, Angels (Hay House, 2007), Drumbeat in Our Feet (Lee & Low, 2006), Car Wash (Lee & Low, 2004), A Huge Hog Is a Big Pig (Greenwillow/HarperCollins, 2002), and Unraveling Fibers (Atheneum Books for Young Readers/Simon and Schuster, 1995). She is the illustrator for Brain Food: 100+ Games That Make Kids Think, published by Prufrock Press. Ms. Keeler has also created a variety of illustrations for magazines, posters, and educational projects with Scholastic, Pearson, Victory Publications, and Techbooks/GTS.

Thank you Patricia for sharing your book and your journey with us.

Talk tomorrow,

Kathy


Responses

  1. Congratulations Patricia! Well done and well earned!

    Liked by 3 people

    • Hi Kim! Thanks so much! I’m getting a lot of exercise in my virtual walk with you each morning! Although I’m glad we don’t go out when it’s really raining, haha!

      Like

  2. Congratulations, Patricia! LOVE Lizzie and Lou Seal!

    Liked by 2 people

    • Thanks! We’re feeling like family these days! I guess in a way we are!

      Like

  3. Wonderful, Patricia! ❤ I already own one of you adorable prints. 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

    • Your work is amazing! It’s so nice to follow you especially on Instagram where I can see your work so well!

      Like

  4. What a wonderful give-away! I am glad to know Patricia from the NJ-SCBWI conferences I used to attend. Best of luck to you!

    Liked by 2 people

    • Thanks so much! I’m missing going to NJSCBWI. Can’t go this year because of Book Expo America, but I’m back next year! Maybe see you there.

      Like

  5. This book looks SOooo cute! 😀

    Liked by 2 people

    • I think so too, haha! I mean there is nothing better than the round stomach of a 4 year old! It took me awhile to discover how to draw her.

      Like

  6. This looks adorable! Thanks for sharing the book’s story with us.

    Liked by 2 people

    • It’s funny, now that L&LS is out, I’ve kind of forgotten how much work it was and how many people who were involved. I wonder if I gave a sticker to all the people who helped make this happen, how many stickers that would be?

      Like

  7. Great interview, Patricia! I love hearing how this book evolved and learning about the awesome Rule of 5…great concept. Congrats on a darling book!

    Liked by 2 people

    • I love David’s Rule of Five! It helps me put creating books in perspective. Too bad we don’t get 5 lives to go with it, haha!

      Like

  8. I’m a fan of the retro feel too! Thanks for showing us how to draw little Lizzie. I Tweeted https://twitter.com/ManjuBeth/status/852181536917028864

    Liked by 2 people

    • Thanks so much for the Tweet! I’m using Twitter more often and finding it has an amazing reach! In making L&LS I visited the NJ shore and found a number of retro-cool signs and buildings. They didn’t make it into the book, but nice portfolio pieces!

      Like

  9. Congratulations! This looks like a fun book. Thanks for a chance to win one!

    Liked by 2 people

    • I kind of think of this book as a mystery — one that the viewer can solve ahead of Lizzie. I’ve always liked mysteries and it was a challenge to write one for the littlest people!

      Like

  10. Congratulations, Patricia. I loved reading your journey with Lizzie & Lou Seal through the NJ SCBWI conference & on to publication. I look forward to seeing it at the June conference.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Ish. I can’t make it to this NJ SCBWI conference! I got a tiny, tiny booth at Book Expo America during the same time. My booth is 4 feet x 4 feet and costs a fortune, but so many librarians and bookstores will be there I thought it might be a good place to promote L&LS. I guess I’ll find out, haha!

      Like

  11. Congratulations!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks! I looked at your Facebook Page. Your work is so charming!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Thank you! You’re too kind. 🙂 Wishing much success with your book and writing career!

        Like

  12. Hooray for Lizzie and Lou Seal! Congratulations Patricia!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks! And a huge congratulations for When a Tree Grows! Go LRA sisters!

      Liked by 1 person

  13. What a beautiful book. I love Lizzie & Lou, such great illustrations. Congrats.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks so much! I think discovering encaustic wax through Denise Fleming really helped! This is such a fascinating journey!

      Like

  14. It’s a delightful book…perfect for a summer beach read…ALL YEAR LONG!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I was thinking of attempting a book with Lizzie about the end of summer. She could collect plastic bottles from the beach after folks leave. But getting her into pants may be a bit of a struggle, haha!

      Like

  15. Patricia, I like how your drawing of Lizzie makes her look bouncy, like her seal, Lou. Thank you, Kathy, for running the giveaway. Posted on Facebook.

    Like

    • Hahaha! It actually took a lot of tries to put energy in Lizzie, and also to make everything at her eye view . . . but really fun! Thanks so much for posting, your FB site looks really interesting and informative!

      Like

  16. Aww! I love that seal. Now I need a blue seal. This book looks so cute! And I think the way the coloring of the art and the sketchiness works really well for this book style!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Haha! Everybody should have a blue seal. It’s a necessity. I carried mine around so much he really did loose his puff. . . Thanks so my for your kind words!

      Like

  17. Congratulations! This looks like a delightful book.

    Like


Leave a Reply

Categories

