Posted by: Kathy Temean | March 15, 2017

Book Giveaway – The Case Of the Poached Egg – Robin Newman

Congratulations to Robin Newman her new book THE CASE OF THE POACHED EGG. She has agreed to participate in our book giveaways. All you have to do to get in the running is to leave a comment. Reblog, tweet, or talk about it on Facebook with a link and you will get additional chances to win. Just let me know the other things you did to share the good news, so I can put in the right amount of tickets in my basket for you. Check back to discover the winner.

poached%20egg%20hirescover%2001

BOOK DESCRIPTION:

When Penny goes missing from the nest, Wilcox and Griswold are called in to track her down. Was the egg stolen by a rival for The Most Round in the Spring Egg-stravaganza? Was she used in a carrot cake or scrambled by a hungry porker? Or was she held for a hefty corn ransom? Who took Penny and can the detectives find her before trouble hatches?

A LITTLE BIT ABOUT MY LASTEST BOOK…

The book is filled with foul play and fowl at play. There are two new characters: Gabby Goose, as the name suggests, is a gabber and a gossip. Colonel Peck is a crabby old rooster constantly losing his kernels of corn.

“Wait one chicken pickin’ second!” honked Gabby. “Who are you calling a gabber and a gossip?”

Robin Newman: “My apologies, Gabby! Do you want to tell the readers a little bit about yourself?”

Gabby Goose: “Well, I suppose some might think this book is about a chicken and her egg who’s gone A.W.O.L., but the heart of the story is really about a goose.”

Robin Newman: “You mean you’re the star of the show?”

Gabby Goose: “Well isn’t it obvious? I was talking to the ducks, who heard it from the cows, who discussed it with the goats, who naturally overheard it from the chickens, and everyone knows chickens don’t lie, that I, Gabby Goose, was the main beloved character of the story.

Colonel Peck: “Hold it one cockamamie minute! You’re going to listen to that crazy, gabbing goose?”

Gabby Goose: “Much better than listening to a cranky old Colonel who can’t keep track of his kernels?”

Robin Newman: “I didn’t mean to ruffle any feathers. Now will the two of you calm down before Kathy Temean kicks us off her blog? I can easily write you both out of the third book. So, watch it!”

Gabby Goose: “You’ll be hearing from my agent! Honk!”

Colonel Peck: “Mine too! I wonder if J.K. Rowling could use a suave and debonair rooster in her next book.”

As I was saying, there’s lots of fun word play and chicken, egg, and goose humor on steroids in Wilcox & Griswold’s latest caper.

**No chickens, roosters, geese, or eggs were harmed during the writing of The Case of the Poached Egg, but it doesn’t mean it can’t happen afterwards.

ROBIN’S JOURNEY:

How I came to write for children is a very long story. You may want to grab a seat and a snack. Do you like carrot cake?

Once upon a time, I was a miserable attorney. That’s miserable with a capital M. One dark, stormy, scary day, I quit. And while trying to figure out what I was going to do with my life, aside from eating my way through the chocolate éclair section of my favorite bakery (it wasn’t pretty), I ended up doing research and writing projects for a family law attorney/law school professor before becoming a legal editor. As an editor, I loved the creative work, writing the blurbs and marketing materials, but it wasn’t until I was pregnant that I truly got the writing bug.

For the holidays, I wrote stories for my nieces and nephew. I didn’t realize it at the time, but some of those stories became picture books, and one in particular, became my early chapter book, The Case of the Missing Carrot Cake. After my son was born, my husband encouraged me to take a writing class—my first writing class. I signed up for a children’s fiction writing workshop and as soon as I walked in, I knew I had found my people.

It took me just about eight years to hold my first book.

Eight Years*

or 96 months

or 417 weeks 3 days

or 2,922 days

or 70,128 hours

or 4,207,680 minutes

or 252,460,800 seconds

But who’s counting?

*Anyone who knows me is very much aware that I lack a gene for patience.

I was introduced to my agents, the amazing and incredible dynamic duo, Liza Fleissig and Ginger Harris-Dontzin, at the Liza Royce Agency, by a fellow writer and illustrator. I had emailed Liza a number of my manuscripts, but it wasn’t until we actually met at the 2012 NJ SCBWI Annual Conference that she agreed to represent me. In 2013, I signed a contract with Creston Books for The Case of the Missing Carrot Cake and Hildie Bitterpickles Needs Her Sleep. And the rest is pretty much writing history.

I truly feel like the luckiest writer in the world. I am beyond grateful to Liza Fleissig, Ginger Harris-Dontzin, and to my amazing, incredible, you-take-my-breath-away editor and publisher at Creston Books, Marissa Moss, for taking a chance on me and my mouse detectives. A number of publishers said there wasn’t enough room on the market for another mouse detective story. I am so glad that Marissa thought otherwise.

ROBIN’S BIO:

Raised in New York and Paris, Robin was a practicing attorney and legal editor, but she now prefers to write about witches, mice, pigs and peacocks. She’s the author of The Case of the Missing Carrot Cake, A Wilcox & Griswold Mystery (Creston Books) and Hildie Bitterpickles Needs Her Sleep (Creston Books). The second book in the Wilcox & Griswold mystery series, The Case of the Poached Egg (Creston Books), releases April 2017 (but is already available for pre-order at your favorite independent bookstore, Amazon and Barnes & Noble) and No Peacocks! (Sky Pony Press), flies onto bookshelves fall 2017. Robin lives in New York with her husband, son, goldfish, and two spoiled English Cocker Spaniels.

Website: www.robinnewmanbooks.com

Twitter: @robinnewmanbook

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/RobinNewmanBooks/339179099505049

Thank you Robin for sharing your journey with us and offering one lucky winner a copy of your new book, THE CASE OF THE POACHED EGG.

Talk tomorrow,

Kathy


Responses

  1. So excited for you Robin and excited for kids (and adults) everywhere who can get a second dose of Wilcox and Griswold.

  2. Congratulations, Robin! Our family loved the first book 😀

  3. Oh my gosh, I loved the humor with Wilcox and Griswold in the first book – I cannot wait to read the second!

  4. I love this book before even reading it! Love the humor.

  5. Ohmygosh, so much fun wordplay! And the concept is delicious. I can’t wait to read it.

    • Thanks! Hope you enjoy the book.

  6. Really looking forward to this second tale from a great writing/illustrating team!

  7. Forgot to say, I tweeted and posted to FB. Pick me, pick me!!!!

  8. Reblogged this on and commented:
    Please stop by Kathy Temean’s wonderful blog for a chance to win a copy of The Case of the Poached Egg.

  9. Can’t wait to read this b@@K! Loved the first one. I posted on my children’s author FB back and tweeted ❤

  10. Sounds hilarious, Robin! Congratulations on book 2!

  11. Omg, Looks like a fun book!! Tweeted..

  12. Fun wordplay and whodunits are my favorites. Can’t wait to read this one!

  13. Adorbs! 🙂

  14. Looks like a gripping mystery! Thank you for the contest!

  15. You must have had a ball writing the humorous wordplay. Kids will gobble it up.

    • I do! They’re going to have to scramble to crack this case. 🙂

  16. Can’t wait to read this book! I shared on Facebook and Twitter.

  17. LOVED the first book. Can’t wait for the second! XOXO


Leave a Reply

Categories

