Posted by: Kathy Temean | February 22, 2017

Book Giveaway – Hold Your Temper, Tiger by Carol Roth

The Winner of HOLD YOUR TEMPER, TIGER is Tina Marie Cho – Congratulations! Please send address – Thanks!

Congratulations to Carol Roth for her new book, HOLD YOUR TEMPER, TIGER coming out on March 7th. Available now on pre-order at Amazon.

Carol has agreed to give do a book giveaway. All you have to do to get in the running is to leave a comment. Reblog, tweet, or talk about it on Facebook with a link and you will get additional chances to win. Just let me know the other things you did to share the good news, so I can put in the right amount of tickets in my basket for you. Check back to discover the winner.

hold-that-temper

BOOK DESCRIPTION:

A playful look at managing tempers for tigers of every age.

Little Tiger has a temper! He stomps his paws, cries, and growls when he doesn’t want to do something. But when his mom says “Hold your temper or else,” Little Tiger has to make some changes. Where will he hold his temper? In his pocket . . . in his underwear?

hold-your-temper-tiger2

BOOK’S JOURNEY:

When I was a little girl growing up in the Bronx, I spent many days going back and forth to the library. We didn’t have a car, and the library was not nearby, but my mother bundled me up and we walked there, rain, shine or snow! Why? Because when we got there, we were transported into the world of books, which could take us to warm places and anywhere we wanted to go. The library was my biggest treat. I felt like I could pick out new presents and take them home for free! So this started my love of books. But I never dreamed at the time that some day I would become an author. I became a teacher, because that was something I always wanted to do, but later in life, when my children were grown, I decided to embark on a new career. I went back to school and took courses in Children’s Book Writing, and a new world opened up for me. (cont.)

hold-your-temper-tiger3

I always loved books with a sense of humor. My favorite children’s book was Caps For Sale because it made me laugh. Keeping that in mind, I decided to write stories that would bring a smile to little faces. I usually get my inspiration from life around me. For example, my very first book, Whose Mess Is This? was about two sisters who had to share a room. One was messy and one was neat. That’s exactly how it was for me sharing a room with my sister. The inspiration for Hold Your Temper Tiger came from one of my experiences as a Literacy Volunteer. I was tutoring a twelve year old Korean boy and I asked him if he was familiar with idioms. He told me he was, for example: “When Pigs Fly!” That opened up a whole new discussion for us, and I thought how funny it would be if someone took an idiomatic expression literally. So that led me to select the idiom, “hold your temper” and my latest book was born. Of course, who is better than a little tiger to have a temper? Once I get inspired, the writing comes easily. I am not involved with the selecting of an illustrator, that is the job of the publishing company, but I have always been more than thrilled with the beauty and genius of the illustrations in each and every book. I wonder where my next inspiration will come from. I always keep my eyes and ears open!

hold-your-temper-tiger

CAROL’S BIO:

Carol Roth was born in New York. She received her B.A. and Masters degrees in early childhood education. After teaching kindergarten for several years, Carol embarked on a new journey 29 years ago where she fell in love with the world of picture books. She is now a published author of thirteen children’s books, the most recent, being Hold Your Temper Tiger. Other fun-filled books include Five Little Ducklings Go To School, Five Little Ducklings Go To Bed, Who Will Tuck Me In Tonight? – a Children’s Choice book for 2005 (IRA-CBC) and a nominee for the 2005 Missouri Building Block Picture Book Awards; The Little School Bus, which won the Missouri Building Block Award for Best Picture Book 2003; and Little Bunny’s Sleepless Night, which won the Parent’s Guide To Children’s Media Award for Outstanding Achievement in Children’s Books in 1999, and was an IRA-CBC book for 2000 and an Honor Book in the 2000 Storytelling World Awards. She is a mother of two and grandmother of four. When not writing, Carol enjoys taking ballet classes, teaching English as a Literacy Volunteer of America, and traveling. She currently lives in New Jersey with her husband.

carol-with-books

Thank you Carol for sharing your journey with us and offering one lucky winner your new book, HOLD YOUR TEMPER, TIGER. Can’t wait to read it. Here is the link to Carol’s website: http://www.authorcarolroth.com 

Talk tomorrow,

Kathy


Responses

  1. Can’t wait to hold this book in my hands and read it 🙂 Thanks, Carol and Kathy!

    Like

  2. Hold Your Temper, Tiger looks like a lot of fun! Congratulations!

    Like

  3. This would be perfect my child! Going to share on Facebook and Twitter. Lots of parents would welcome this.

    Like

  4. Looks fun and colorful, and I would love to share it with my grandkids. Maybe I’ll win!

    Like

  5. Love the play on words! Looking forward to reading this!

    Like

  6. This sounds like a cute, clever book!

    Like

  7. It’s adorable! Can’t wait to read it.

    Like

  8. My spitfire of a child and I laughed when we saw the cover and read the title. Looks like the perfect picture book!

    Like

  9. This book looks very cute!

    Like

  10. I love the story line of the tiger trying to hold his temper. Sounds funny for kids and adults not to mention it would be great for a child that throws temper tantrums. Thank you for the opportunity to win a copy. I’ve also tweeted about this post: https://twitter.com/LH171/status/834569138202886144

    Like

  11. Congratulations, Carol! Clever use of an idiom.

    Like

  12. I enjoyed reading about your writing journey. Congratulations on this book!

    Like

    • Yippee! You won Carol Roth’s book. Please send me your address. Congratulation!

      Liked by 1 person

  13. I enjoyed reading all about Carol and look forward to reading this delightful book.

    This post was shared on my Word Press. I posted on Facebook and shared on Twitter.
    ~Suzy Leopold

    Like

  14. Looks like a great book!

    Like

  15. What an adorable book! Congratulations.

    Like


Leave a Reply

Categories

