Posted by: Kathy Temean | February 15, 2017

Book Giveaway – Dolls Eyes

Congratulations to Marina Cohen for her second book THE DOLL’S EYE hitting the bookshelves on Feb. 28th. You can pre-order on Amazon.

Marina has agreed to give do a book giveaway. All you have to do to get in the running is to leave a comment. Reblog, tweet, or talk about it on Facebook with a link and you will get additional chances to win. Just let me know the other things you did to share the good news, so I can put in the right amount of tickets in my basket for you. Check back to discover the winner.

dolls-eyes

BOOK DESCRIPTION:

All Hadley wants is for everything to go back to the way it used to be—back when she didn’t have to share her mother with her stepfather and stepbrother. Back when she wasn’t forced to live in a musty, decomposing house. Back when she had a life in the city with her friends.

As Hadley whiles away what’s left of her summer, exploring the nearby woods and splitting her time between her strange, bug-obsessed neighbor Gabe and the nice old lady that lives above the garage, she begins to notice the house isn’t just old and creaky. It’s full of secrets, just like appearance of a mysterious dollhouse and the family of perfect dolls she finds.

Oh, how she wishes her family were more like those lovely dolls! Then one day, Hadley discovers a lone glass eye rolling around the floor of the attic. Holding it close one night, she makes a wish that just might change her world forever.

doll-eye-attic

BOOK’S JOURNEY:

I wrote The Doll’s Eye before I wrote The Inn Between. It was the manuscript that garnered the attention of my amazing agent, John Cusick, and for that I’m so very grateful. I spent nearly a year revising it for him, but when it was finally submitted it didn’t sell. Devastated, I set it aside and wrote The Inn Between. When it sold in a two-book deal, I decided to have one final look at The Doll’s Eye before giving up on it entirely, and wham! It hit me. I finally knew what was wrong with the story. I tore it apart and rebuilt it word by word. The plot changed dramatically. I am not only extremely grateful to my editor, Emily Feinberg, for loving it, but to those who passed on it because they forced me to write a better story.

dollhouse

MARINA’S BIO:

Marina Cohen was born and raised in the suburbs of Toronto, Canada. She has a Master’s Degree in French literature and is an elementary school teacher.

THE DOLL’S EYE is Marina’s seventh novel, her second book published by Roaring Brook Press – the first was INN BETWEEN. Her novel, GHOST RIDE was voted 2011 Ontario Library Association Red Maple Honour Book. From a young age, Marina delighted in creepy tales set in dark forests, deep wells, decayed and derelict buildings—stories that presented a meaningful human experience via the magical and the macabre.

blogmarina500

Thank you Marina for sharing your journey with us and offering one lucky winner your new book, THE DOLL’S EYE. I know we will enjoy it as much as INN BETWEEN.

Talk tomorrow,

Kathy


Responses

  1. Sounds amazing, thank you can’t wait to read this

  2. Intriguing! Congratulations on this book!

  3. Congratulations. The book sounds extremely interesting.

  4. Sounds slightly Twilight Zone-esque. Not a bad thing, just an observation. Intriguing.

  5. This book has peaked my interest! It looks wonderful. Congratulations.

  6. An intriguing premise! thank you for sharing your story!

  7. Hi Marina
    Your book seems to be just what I would have loved as a young reader! I am a doll house person, so the premise is exciting to me. If I am not the lucky winner I will order the book.
    The cover art is beautiful. Picture book-like. What age is your reader?
    Best of luck!


Leave a Reply

Categories

