Posted by: Kathy Temean | December 14, 2016

Book Giveaway: Where Do Fairies Go When It Snows?

Liza Gardner Walsh has agreed to participate in our Holiday Book Giveaway Extravaganza with her book WHERE DO FAIRIES WHEN IT SNOWS.

All you have to do to get in the running is to leave a comment. Reblog, tweet, or talk about it on Facebook with a link and you will get additional chances to win. Just let me know the other things you did to share the good news, so I can put in the right amount of tickets in my basket for you. Check back to discover the winner.

where-do-all-the-faires-go

BOOK’S DESCRIPTION:

Everyone knows fairies love spring flowers and summer sun, but what happens when autumn comes and the days get shorter and colder? Now, Liza Gardner Walsh, acclaimed author of the Fairy House Handbook and Fairy Garden Handbook, explores the matter in a charming children’s picture book of rhyming questions. Combined with delightful illustrations by Hazel Mitchell this whimsical book will help children discover just where fairies go when it snows and offer a subtle lesson about the importance of helping one another.

fairies

BOOK’S JOURNEY:

The idea came to me on a walk where I was actually trudging about in the snow. I found a perfect little tree hollow and thought what a good fairy house it would make.  But then I wondered if the fairies hung around in the winter or if they took a long nap or headed south. The questions kept coming and I felt like it might be a story. It helped that I was teaching preschool at the time and probably heard about three hundred questions a day!

lizagardner-web-img_7721-cropped

LIZA’S BIO:

Liza Gardner Walsh has written numerous books for children , including Muddy Boots, Treasure Hunter’s Handbook, Fairy Houses All Year, and Where Do Fairies Go When it Snows? illustrated by Hazel Mitchell. Liza has been a children’s librarian, high school English teacher, a Museum Educator and she holds an MFA from Vermont College. She lives with her family in Camden, Maine.

Thank you Lisa for sharing your journey with us and offering WHERE DO FAIRIES GO WHEN IT SNOWS? to one lucky winner.

Talk tomorrow,

Kathy


Responses

  1. Tweeted via @KidlitTidbits 🙂

    Like

  2. Shared on Facebook @KidlitTidbits, as well. 🙂

    Like

  3. The cover art is fabulous.

    Like

  4. Sounds and looks fun. I love fairies.

    Like

  5. Looks like an lovely book. Can’t wait to read it. 🙂

    Like

    • Maria,

      Congratulations! You won Where Do Fairies Bo When It Snows? Please send me your address. Thanks! Happy New Year!

      Kathy

      Like

  6. this looks wonderful )

    Like

  7. Thanks for the opportunity to win a copy of this adorable book. I really DO need to know where fairies go in the winter weather!

    Like

  8. I have seen this title and thought it looked delightful! Thank you for the opportunity to win a copy!

    Like

  9. Can’t wait to read this – I am a big fan of Hazel Mitchell’s art! I shared this on twitter at: https://twitter.com/kpfenni/status/809065201794449408

    Like

  10. Very sweet cover art!
    I’ll share on Twitter. https://twitter.com/ManjuBeth/status/809081009828462592

    Like

  11. Sounds like a delightful book. I’ll share on FB and twitter. Even though I’ve just won…I can’t pass this up. BTW, I love the snowflakes on your blog!

    Like

  12. I went through an MFA program with Liza! She’s great! My daughter loves her fairy books!

    Like

  13. So Cute! We did a book giveaway for homeless and at risk children last year and this like a really sweet present to give.

    Like

  14. Not only do I love fairies, but I make fairy gardens. I’m always on the lookout for small little items that fairies would love. Now the friend, a floral designer who taught me all about making miniature gardens and settings for the fairies, has learned that she has cancer in three different areas. I would like this book not only for me to read but also for my Chief Fairy who taught me how to keep fairies happy and needs an extra boost of fairy dust and miracles now.

    Like

  15. What a delightful story! I have often wondered about what fairies do when the winter arrives. It’s nice to know that others have found some answers. I would love to win this delightful book for my grandchildren to read.

    Like

  16. Preschoolers ask so many questions. I have been looking for some good fairy stories and this one looks very appealing!

    Like

  17. Aww! Looks cute!

    Like


Leave a Reply

Categories

