Posted by: Kathy Temean | December 6, 2016

Book Giveaway: Heather Petty’s Lock & Mori

Heather Petty has agreed to participate in our Holiday Book Giveaway Extravaganza with her new book LOCK & MORI.

All you have to do to get in the running is to leave a comment. Reblog, tweet, or talk about it on Facebook with a link and you will get additional chances to win. Just let me know the other things you did to share the good news, so I can put in the right amount of tickets in my basket for you. Check back to discover the winner.

lori-and-lock

BOOK DESCRIPTION:

Sherlock Holmes and Miss James “Mori” Moriarty may have closed their first case, but the mystery is far from over in the thrilling sequel to Lock & Mori, perfect for fans of Maureen Johnson and Sherlock.

You know their names. Now discover their beginnings.

Mori’s abusive father is behind bars…and she has never felt less safe. Threatening letters have started appearing on her doorstep, and the police are receiving anonymous tips suggesting that Mori—not her father—is the Regent’s Park killer. To make matters worse, the police are beginning to believe them.

Through it all, Lock—frustrating, brilliant, gorgeous Lock—is by her side. The two of them set out to discover who is framing Mori, but in a city full of suspects, the task is easier said than done. With the clock ticking, Mori will discover just how far she is willing to go to make sure that justice is served, and no one—not even Lock—will be able to stop her.

BOOKS JOURNEY:

I came up with the idea for the LOCK & MORI series when I read an article about nemeses relationships in literature that used the relationship between Sherlock and Moriarty as one of the examples. The writer pointed out that the only information we have about Moriarty in the canon comes from Sherlock, because no one else meets Moriarty, not even Watson. I hadn’t noticed that when I read the books and stories as a kid, so I went back and reread that story, and the writer was completely correct.

I started to think, what if Sherlock lied to Watson for some reason? What if Sherlock and Moriarty had known each other in their past, had maybe even been close friends? What if something had happened in their past that turned them into enemies?

By the time I shared the idea with my agent, I’d tried to write the first chapter a few times, and the Moriarty character kept spinning feminine in my mind. So I finally gave into my frustration and wrote the character as a girl. It worked. Not only did the chapter come out more naturally for me, but I suddenly fell in love with the idea of writing a female villain–a villain that would use her intellect rather than her sexuality to get what she wanted. And I saw the opportunity to twist the Bad Boy/Good Girl trope on its head and write a Bad Girl/Good Boy story.

When I had written maybe sixty or seventy pages about a girl whose mom had died of cancer, I found out my mom had cancer. My mother passed away six weeks later. When I could write again, I was left raw and lost and trying to figure out whether or not I wanted to change Mori’s story or face down my own grief as I wrote hers.

I decided to face it, but it took me about a year to write the book.

MIND GAMES is the second book in the LOCK & MORI series, which means it came with its own set of stresses. But more than anything else, I just feel really lucky to have the opportunity to write these books and tell these stories. And I hope very much that you enjoy reading them as much as I’ve enjoyed putting them out into the world!

heather-petty

HEATHER’S BIO:

Heather has been obsessed with mysteries since she was twelve, which is when she decided that stories about murders in London drawing rooms and English seaside villages were far superior to all other stories. Lock & Mori is her first novel. She lives in Reno, Nevada with her husband, daughter, and four hopelessly devious cats.

Heather, thanks for sharing your book and journey with us. Have a happy holiday.

Talk tomorrow,

Kathy


Responses

  1. Thank you for the opportunity to win – this looks like a great read & interesting series to add to my list to read. I’ve also tweeted about the giveaway.

    Like

  2. Reblogged this on Darlene Beck-Jacobson and commented:
    Just in time for the holidays!

    Like

  3. I enjoyed reading about your process, Heather. And the book sounds like a real winnah. I have a 14-year-old granddaughter who would love it.

    Like

  4. This story sounds amazing. I’d love to be in the running for a copy. (Tweeted about the giveaway too: https://twitter.com/MGMafioso/status/806267451344179200

    Like

  5. This book sounds SO GOOD! I’ve always loved mysteries and grew up with the Sherlock Holmes stories. I love everything based on them, but I really like the way you’re turning this on its head. Great concept!

    Like

  6. That is a difficult event surrounding this book’s journey. I am thinking that the story must be real and powerful, parallel to the author’s state when she wrote it. I would love to read this.

    Like


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

Categories

%d bloggers like this: