Posted by: Kathy Temean | July 13, 2016

Book Giveaway The Way the Cookie Crumbled

Trinitygrau is the winner of THE WAY THE COOKIE CRUMBLED. Congratulations Trinity! Please email you address to receive your book.

Congratulations to Jody Jensen Shaffer for her new THE WAY THE COOKIE CRUMBLED. The book launched this month and Jody has agreed to do a book giveaway. All you have to do to get in the running is to leave a comment. Reblog, tweet, or talk about it on facebook with a link and you will get additional chances to win. Just let me know the other things you did to share the good news, so I can put in the right amount of tickets in my basket for you. Please make sure you check back on July 26th to discover the winner. Make sure I’m able to find your contact information, in case your name is drawn.

thumbnail_HOFS_cookie_cvr

BOOK DESCRIPTION:

Did you know that Queen Elizabeth I had gingerbread cookies molded into the shapes of her favorite advisers? Or that Girl Scouts used to bake the cookies they sold themselves? Or that if you stacked all the Oreos ever made, they would reach to the moon and back five times?

C is for cookie in THE WAY THE COOKIE CRUMBLED, a nonfiction Level 3 Ready-to-Read that explores the history of cookies, part of a series about the history of fun stuff!

A special section at the back of the book includes Common Core–vetted extras on subjects like science, social studies, and math, and there’s even a fun quiz so readers can test themselves to see what they’ve learned! Learning history has never been so much fun!

MY JOURNEY:

I have always loved words. My parents–a college biology professor and a kindergarten teacher–encouraged my siblings and me to use English correctly but also to explore all the fun it could be. Jokes, puns, made up phrases, irony, and storytelling were all part of my childhood. But so were learning the Latin roots of words, when to use number vs. amount, and how to dole out possessive apostrophes correctly.

In college I was thoroughly immersed in words. I earned undergraduate and graduate degrees in English and worked as a writing tutor and adjunct instructor. I edited a college newsletter and was paid for my first magazine article for adults. If I had any thoughts at the time about becoming a writer, they were likely directed at writing for adults.

My experience in front of a classroom led to a career in corporate training (and adjuncting at night), until I had my first child 12 years later. After that, I was so focused on being a mom, I didn’t write anything but grocery lists for 6 years. But I was still reading. Only this time it was children’s books. Talk about immersion! My kids and I visited the library all the time and checked out unlimited numbers of books and books on tape. Whatever the kids wanted. We read and read and read. And I fell in love with children’s literature. When my youngest started kindergarten and I had a few hours each day to think, I told myself it was now or never. If I was going to be a writer of something, for someone, I’d better get started.

It’s been 10 years since I began writing for the best someones there are, kids. During that time, I joined SCBWI and several critique groups, attended numerous conferences and retreats, met tons of awesome kidlit people, and published over 50 poems, stories, and articles in children’s magazines and 26 picture books, with more on the way. It’s been a great journey and one I credit to my family’s love of words and creativity. Thanks, Mom and Dad.

thumbnail_Jody%20Jensen%20Shaffer%20author%20photo%20final

JODY’S BIO:

Jody Jensen Shaffer is a lifelong Missourian (except for that bit about being born in Wyoming). She’s the author of numerous poems and stories in children’s magazines and over 26 books for children. Jody is a member of SCBWI. Follow her on Twitter @jodywrites4kids and on her blog, Just Kidding, at http://jodyjensenshaffer.blogspot.com!

Talk tomorrow,

Kathy


Responses

  1. Yum! Enjoyed reading more about Jody and her new book. Thanks for the giveaway!🙂

  2. This sounds like a yummy book!

  3. Great topic for a book. Kids will eat it up!

  4. What a sweet way to learn history. Thanks Kathy AND Jody!

  5. Love the sound of this book. Fantastic idea. Congrats, Jody.

  6. This sounds like so much fun, great idea! I think this will definitely have to be a staple for any kid with a sweet tooth.

    • Congratulations! You won The Way the Cookie Crumbled. Please email you address to me. Thanks..

      • Thanks, I’ll do that!

  7. You are so durn cute, Jody. Congratulations on your new boo. Can’t wait to read this!!!

  8. Neat cover on the cookie book. It made me want to go eat a cookie.


Leave a Reply

Categories

