Posted by: Kathy Temean | February 11, 2016

Book Giveaway – Salad Pie

Congratulations! Eva Leona Lerriqs is the winner of this book giveaway. Remember to send me your address.

Wendy BooydeGraaff has agreed to offer her new book, Salad Pie, to one lucky winner. All you have to do is leave a comment to get in the running. Reblog, or tweet, or talk about it on facebook with a link and you will get additional chances to win. Just let me know the other things you did to share the good news, so I can put in the right amount of tickets in my basket for you before drawing the winners on February 22nd.

blogsalad pie

Journey to publication:  One day at the playground, my daughter said “Salad Pie” and I thought the words were so witty and creative that I wrote them down. That sparked the story of Maggie and Herbert. When I found out about Ripple Grove Press through SCBWI’s The Bulletin, I submitted the story and waited. I checked in with them after about four months and they asked for more time to consider the story. Another four months later, I checked in again and they were “still thinking.” I  didn’t think that was a good sign, but a month later (June 2014), they called! I revised the ending and we changed a few words. After Bryan Langdo finished sketches, we revised a bit more. And now, SALAD PIE is available for preorder and will be available in stores March 1, 2016.

blog WendyBook Description: There is nothing sweeter than arriving at the playground, seeing it empty, and knowing you have it all to yourself–the silent comfort of playing alone.

Maggie is overjoyed to have that solitude to make her Salad Pie. But then Herbert saunters over and wants to play too.

“I’m making salad. Salad Pie. And don’t you touch it!”

Herbert just wants to help, even though Maggie makes it clear she won’t let him. Then her imaginary pie takes a spill, and she realizes Herbert’s intentions are not so bad after all.

You can visit her at: http://www.wendybooydegraaff.com

Talk tomorrow,

Kathy


Responses

  1. What a sweet story! What great inspiration! It sounds wonderful. Congratulations on writing it and making a sale!

  2. Congratulations, Wendy! I can’t wait to read the book.

  3. Can’t wait to take a bite out of this book

  4. The title and illustrations have my attention. I can’t wait to read it. Congratulations!

  5. Looks adorable!

  6. This book sounds like a winner. I am tweeting and posting this link on FB as well! Good Luck, Wendy!

  7. Great title! Can’t wait to read it.

  8. This looks like a delightful book. Having worked with children in various jobs, I can remember kids like this–they get absorbed in doing something creative with weeds or bugs or dirt, and they’re in a world of their own.

  9. Salad pie…delicious words!

  10. Congratulations, Wendy! I attended a webinar with Rob Broder from Ripple Grove and he was excited about his new titles, and mentioned yours! Looking forward to reading.🙂 (I tweeted this post, too!)

  11. Yay for Wendy and Salad Pie! (Also shared the good news on fb.)🙂

  12. Salad Pie sounds delicious!

  13. Salad Pie! What a great idea for a kids book!

  14. I am always looking for new stories to read to my grandchildren and they are coming for a visit next week!!

  15. Cool story about a cool story! Well done, Wendy. Can’t wait to read it.

  16. Love the name and idea. Super cute!

  17. So Excited for Wendy!😉 Can’t wait to get the book!😉 what FUN! shared on fb and pinterest…hope there is a HUGE response!😉

  18. Thanx for showing to all your readers about tricks!


Leave a Reply

Categories

