Posted by: Kathy Temean | January 26, 2016

Little Butterfly – Book Giveaway – Laura Logan

The winner of Laura Logan’s Little Butterfly was Julie Rowan-Zoch – Julie please send me  your address so you can receive your book.

Here is the first book giveaway of 2016.

Laura Logan has agreed to giving a copy of her new book Little Buttfly that is hitting the book shelves on February 9th. Available to Pre-order on Amazon 

Leave a comment for a chance to win. Let others know about it on facebook, tweet, or blog and you will get an additional chance added for each one you do. Just let me know in the comments. Remember, to check back on February 9th to see if you are the winner and make sure I have your contact information so I can notify you if you win.

blog book give a wayLittleButterflycover

Little Butterfly is a wordless picture book, and follows a sensitive little girl’s act of compassion towards an injured monarch butterfly.  Her kindness is repaid with a magical, dreamlike gift of flight with the monarchs as they journey south on their migration.  Whether the flight is real or a dream, is up to the reader.

JOURNEY:

The origins of this story began as a dream I once had about flying with birds.  Initially, it didn’t feel like a happy dream, and I remember the sensation that I was hanging on for dear life to this flock of birds.  I was going through a tough stage in my personal life, and it was one of those dreams where you are panicked and struggling, and then you finally stop and give yourself over to what’s happening.  Once I really “let go” I discovered that I let the flock of birds carry me and lift me out of this feeling of fear and sadness.  I couldn’t shake the images in my head and drew the book without words, it all took place like a movie in my mind.  I remember the first draft of the book–I woke in the middle of the night and didn’t leave my desk for many, many hours, until the whole book had been thumbnailed and crudely drawn out.  I had to get the images on paper before I forgot them!

blog Lauravloganpic

LAURA LOGAN BIO:

My agent, Chris Tugeau, submitted a more polished book dummy in late 2012 to Donna Bray at Balzer + Bray, and she wanted to publish it.  I was very lucky and so incredibly fortunate to have worked with such a talented team on my first book as an author/illustrator.  Donna and the designer, Ellice Lee, have such an eye for details and design/storytelling–from the hand lettered title font (thank you, Jill Bell), to the book’s wrap, swathed in monarchs.  It was a very positive experience.

I’ve been illustrating books for other authors for a number of years.  I got my start illustrating greeting cards and working in educational publishing, and children’s magazines.  Slowly, I started illustrating board books and toddler books, and the occasional picturebook.  I’m so excited and proud for Little Butterfly to be out in the world.  It has been a labor of love for me.

I live and work in Austin, Texas, with my husband, son and daughter.  I work in a combination of traditional and digital media–beginning with pencil/prismacolor sketches, and watercolor, then re-painting and finishing artwork up in Painter and Photoshop.

blog little butterflies wrap

Congratulations Laura! Good Luck with the book!

Talk tomorrow,

Kathy


Responses

  1. LOVE your art. Hope your book flies to the top of the Sales Charts! Shared this post on FB.

  2. Beautiful!

  3. Looks like a very cute book!!

  4. One of our fields is almost 17 acres full of milkweed, so you can say we’re fans of Monarchs.🙂 Laura’s book look lovely!

  5. I love the drawing. Butterflies always remind me of my late grandmother, who was a botanist and scientist.

  6. Inspirational story. Thanks for sharing.

  7. OOh! I loved the idea, and the illustration snippets are wonderful. This is one I will have to look for!

  8. Hi, I hope you will share with us on Literacy Musing Mondays. This book sounds fascinating. http://maryanderingcreatively.com/free-book-resources-for-bloggers/

  9. I like how Laura got right up from her bed and immediately got her ideas down on paper. There has been the odd dream idea that I put off until the morning. And when morning comes, it has gone into an unreachable part of my brain. I hope someday the idea may resurface and be caught once more!

  10. Best of luck with your book, Laura. It looks amazing and I love your story of how it came to be.

  11. The cover and butterflies are gorgeous!

  12. This book sounds lovely! Congratulations!

  13. I am a Monarch mom with a Monarch waystation in my backyard. Of course I think they are the most magnificent of all butterflies. I love the idea of this book that will reach a new generation. Maybe together we can save this beautiful butterfly from sliding any closer to extinction.

    • Sheri,

      Do you have any butterfly bushes planted in your yard? We planted seven of them this past summer. They are small, but there was always a few butterflies on each of them. It is fun watching them.

      Kathy

  14. this is SUCH a special lovely book about beauty, kindness and imagination….sure to be a quiet favorite and start some conversations!

  15. Nice work!

  16. This book sounds so sweet and lovely!:)

  17. I marvel how inspiration can strike and be re-worked into a magical story.
    Well done.

  18. Great idea! Can’t wait to read it!

  19. This looks like such a sweet book–look forward to reading it! The illustrations are lovely!

  20. I love wordless picture books, and this one looks beautiful!

  21. Happy book birthday Laura! I’m a butterfly gal, too.


Leave a Reply

Categories

