Posted by: Kathy Temean | December 7, 2015

Fine Life For A Country Mouse – Book Give-Away

Susan Detwiler has agreed to offer her new book to one lucky winner. All you have to do is leave a comment to get in the running. Reblog, or tweet, or talk about it on facebook with a link and you will get additional chances to win. Just let me know the other things you did to share the good news, so I can put in the right amount of tickets in my basket for you before drawing the winners on Christmas Eve and announcing the winner on Christmas Day.
susan Detwiller book

Journey to Publication and Description of Book:

I wrote and illustrated the dummy for Fine Life For A Country Mouse a decade before I found a publisher for it at Penguin. I submitted and revised this book eighteen times in ten years! During that time, I joined SCBWI and learned about picture book creation and the business of children’s book publishing. I found a publisher who appreciated my art and hired me to illustrate several books, in fact, I have illustrated about a book a year for Arbordale Publishing, for which I am very grateful. But this book, which is the retelling of the Aesop fable about the city mouse and the country mouse, is my baby. I hope it is only my first as author/illustrator!

Fine Life For A Country Mouse is a retelling of a favorite fable by Aesop. This story stays close to Aesop’s moral in which the country mouse learns something valuable. Shy Tillie Mouse is visited by her city cousin Oliver, who is difficult to please and bored by the country. She agrees to accompany him back to the city, and sees that his luxurious lifestyle is also fraught with danger. Tillie returns home with a renewed appreciation for her simple life.

Children will relate to a tiny creature in a big, scary world.

Here is the link to Amazon.Definitely would make a nice gift.

I asked Susan to send me some of the interior artwork from the book and I was blown away with what I saw. I have to share them with you. I think you will appreciate them, too.

Susan Detwiller inside 1

Susan Detwiller inside 2

Susan Detwiller 3

Susan Detwiller 4

Susan Detwiller5

http://www.amazon.com/Fine-Country-Mouse-Penguin-Concepts/dp/0448481545/ref=tmm_hrd_swatch_0?_encoding=UTF8&qid=&sr=

Susan Detwiller picture

Susan Detwiler has illustrated several award-winning books for children including One Wolf Howls and Panda’s Earthquake Escape. Fine Life For a Country Mouse is her first as an author/illustrator. She was educated at the Maryland Institute College of Art in Baltimore. Susan grew up in Maryland the eldest of five children, although she insists she was not bossy. Her large extended family is very close. When she isn’t drawing, Susan likes to sculpt at the beach, make pies (especially apple) and sock toys. She loves animals and was always fascinated by the pet mice that belonged to her two sons. She and her artist husband live in Baltimore with their dog. Visit her website http://www.susandetwiler.com

Congratulations Susan.

Talk tomorrow,

Kathy


Responses

  1. I’m a Fable Fan and now a fan of your art as well. Beautiful!

  2. What not to ‘Pin,’ here. I love Susan’s work so much. Gorgeous, perfection, the POV is all a child (and the child in us) could dream of.

  3. You are right about the gorgeous artwork, Kathy! And congratulations to Susan for persisting for ten years to bring this to life.

  4. Wow, susan, your art is fabulous. I enjoyed reading about your books journey and I find that you endured the ten years to publication inspiring! Thank you!

  5. Beautiful artwork!

  6. What stunning art! It definitely makes me want to find out more about Tillie and Oliver. Congratulations— I guess persistence really is the key. (in addition to the obvious fact that you already HAD the talent!!!!)

  7. These images are gorgeous! Kathy, I’ve blogged, retweeted, and posted on Facebook. And if all that doesn’t do the trick, I’ll find another way to get my hands on her book – so pretty!🙂

  8. Adorable mice!

  9. I knew your name was familiar. We have One Wolf Howls, and it’s one of our favorites! Your wolves are absolutely beautiful.

  10. Beautiful illustrations. They make me want to crawl inside the story and live there, too!

  11. I am blown away by the artwork! Not just the skill of the art itself, but the composition. Can’t wait to see this book.

    • Angela,

      I wonder if you noticed that you won Susan’s book. I need you to send me your address, so she can send it to you. If I do not hear back, I will have to give it to someone else. can’t seem to find a direct email for you.

      Kathy

  12. I love the post. I’m going to link to this article from my blog later today. Thanks for sharing.

  13. I love the colors and detailed artwork–can’t wait to grab your book for holiday gifts!

  14. I need this book! Anything mouses is right up my alley! Beautiful illustrating!

  15. Great work, and encouraging to those of us who have not been received by a traditional publishing house yet!

  16. Just shared on twitter and FB. thanks for the opportunity to win this beautiful book!

  17. Wowee! Beautiful work, and what a wonderful post..I’m so happy for Susan! What a success story, and I know it is the beginning of many author/illustrated books…congratulations Susan!

  18. Beautiful art work!

  19. Susan, your persistent is inspiring. Eighteen years, wow! The illustrations are delightful. I sure would love to win your book.🙂 Hi Kathy.🙂

  20. Oops, I meant “persistence”.

  21. Susan, as I read your post the more inspired I became. Good timing because I was ready to quit writing. Your art work is beautiful and so inviting. Nice job.

    • WA,

      Sometimes we all need some inspiration. Glad you found it here.

      Kathy

  22. I absolutely adored the UTales pencil version – now this is so vibrant and wonderful …mega huge congratulations, Susan, and thanks for the good news, Kathy!

  23. I enjoyed reading about your journey and persistence. Your illustrations are delightful and the detail really draws me in. Congratulations on your efforts as author/illustrator,

  24. I would love to win I love to read to my grandchildren. Also FB and twittered this for you!

  25. Timeless illustrations.


Leave a Reply

Categories

