Posted by: Kathy Temean | June 20, 2015

Illustrator Saturday: NJSCBWI ART SHOW SHOWCASE

Remember as a child how your imagination ran wild with these simple words… “Once upon a time”? The illustrators attending the 2015 NJSCBWI June Conference were given the challenge to set their imaginations free again. That was the theme for this year’s Juried Art Show.

Some chose to visit a favorite childhood story and recreate an image with their own unique take on a scene. Others chose to create their own world. Places filled with monsters and fairies, pirates and magic. They all had magic.

The Juried Art Show has become a favorite part of our conference. Each year the art show seems to get better. The artists are reaching further and achieving new heights. As a result the judges really had their work cut out for them.

In all there were 34 illustrations on display. The name of the game was CHILDREN’S BOOKS. Our select faculty judges looked for dynamic pieces that also fit into the realm of books for young readers. They based their decisions on the following criteria:

• CRAFT—How well the artist handled their craft and technique
• IMPACT—Did it possess that “WOW!” factor
• CONCEPT—Was it fresh, were there unique takes on universal themes
• MARKETABILITY—Was it suitable for the marketplace
• NARRATION—How convincing was the visual storytelling
• EMOTION—Did the piece evoke reader response

The winners for the 2015 NJSCBWI Juried Art show are:

art winners

From Right to Left: Wallace West, Kara Kramer, Lisa Falkenstern, Janet Kusmierski, and David Bucs

Published Illustrator Category

Winner – Janet Kusmierski

Honorable Mention – Lisa Falkenstern

Unpublished Illustrator Category 

Winner – Kara Kramer

Honorable Mention – Wallace West

Members Choice Award – Voted for by EVERYONE attending the conference! David Bucs

Once Upon A Time...

PUBLISHED ILLUSTRATOR AWARD CATEGORY – Winner – Janet Kusmierski
http://www.kusmierski.com/

Falkenstern_Lisa_Snowqueen

PUBLISHED ILLUSTRATOR AWARD CATEGORY – Honorable Mention – Lisa Falkenstern http://www.lisafalkenstern.com/

Kramer_Kara

UNPUBLISHED ILLUSTRATOR CATEGORY – Winner – Kara Kramer – http://karakramerillustration.com/

West_Wallace_snow white

UNPUBLISHED ILLUSTRATOR CATEGORY – Honorable Mention – Wallace West
http://wallacewest.com/home.html

Bucs_David_LionAtDoorsm

MEMBERS CHOICE AWARD Winner – David Bucs – http://davidbucs.blogspot.com/

Anton_Nancy

Nancy Anton – Nancyanton.artwebsites.com

Some historians believe that when traveling the underground railroad, enslaved people seeking freedom would follow the secret codes sewn into quilts that were displayed outside.

Some historians believe that when traveling the underground railroad, enslaved people seeking freedom would follow the secret codes sewn into quilts that were displayed outside.

Kimberly Batti – http://www.kimberlybatti.com/

Ciccotello_Mike

Mike Ciccotello – http://ciccotello.com/

Cohen_Sybil_S_Once_Upon_A_Time

Sybil Cohen

Cuneo_Deborah

Deborah Cuneo – http://deborahcuneoillustration.com/

Daniels_Cathleen_Once_Upon_A_Time

Cathleen Daniels (our new RA) – http://www.cathleendaniels.com/

Once Upon a Time Thumbelina

Diana Delosh – http://dianadelosh.com/home.html

DiLorenzo_Barbara

Barbara DiLorenzo – http://www.barbaradilorenzo.com/

Ettlinger_Doris

Doris Ettlinger – http://www.dorisettlinger.com/

Hoffman_Amalia

Amalia Hoffman – http://www.amaliahoffman.com

Hoke_Jeeyhun

Jeeyhun Hoke – http://jeehyunhoke.blogspot.com/

Keehner_Lori_2015_NJ_JAS_Chefarella

Lori Keehner – http://www.lorikeehner.com/

Keeler_Patricia_Once_Upon_A_Time

Patricia Keeler – http://patriciakeeler-author-illustrator.com/home.html

Kirschner_Jason_once upon selfie

Jason Kirschner – http://jasonkirschner.com/jasonkirschner.com/Home.html

Once upon a time...3

Guy Olivieri –  www.facebook.com/privateerartiststudio.com

Padron_Angela

Angela Padron – http://www.angelapadron.com/

Patton_Diana

Diana Patton – http://dianapatton.com/illustration.html

Podgor_Susan

Susan Podgor

raulerson_annie

Annie Raulerson – http://www.annieraulersonarts.com/

Romagna_Karen_Once_Upon_A_Time

Karen Romagna (Our RA Illustrator Coordinator) http://www.karenromagna.com

Rowan Kosinski_Colleen

Colleen Rowan Kosinski – http://colleenrowankosinski.com/

Sailer_Eric

Eric Sailer – http://www.ericsailer.com/

ouat-4

Jill Turner

Williams_Ann_Marie

Ann Marie Williams – http://www.annmariewilliamsart.net/

Yin_Amanda

Amanda Yin – http://amandaboydyin.com/

Congratulations to everyone who entered their artwork – Great job! 

Talk tomorrow,

Kathy


Responses

  1. These are indeed a wonderful collection of illustrations! Thanks, Kathy, et al.

  2. A very talented group! Thank you for sharing.

  3. This post is a feast for the eyes! Made my Saturday🙂

  4. I loved seeing everyone’s work last weekend! NJ has a talented group.

  5. Terrific artwork and a true pleasure to see it all. I always enjoyed participating in the NJSCBWI illustrators workshops and I miss having all this fun!

  6. Extraordinary talent, loved seeing these and thank you for sharing, Kathy.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

Categories

%d bloggers like this: