Posted by: Kathy Temean | May 2, 2015

Illustrator Saturday – Carrie O’Neill

48122_515364215195016_336799011_nCarrie ONeillCarrie O’Neill is a children’s book writer and illustrator living in Olympia, Washington.  In 2014 she helped establish the Olympia Knitting Mills Artist Collective with five other women.  Their suite of studios and gallery are in a historic building where we host art shows, classes and musical events. She is a member of the Society of Children’s Book Writers and Illustrators since 2012. 

In addition to children’s book illustration, she does commercial illustration, portrait commissions, and teach art classes to kids. 

Here is Carrie explaining her process:

Carrie ONeill Process 1

I wrote a story about a desert tortoise and began working out the illustrations for the picture book through thumbnail sketches. I usually do several rounds of thumbnails to work out the overall flow of the story, page turns and the basic composition of each spread.

Carrie ONeill Process 2

After I had the story mapped out, I worked out the composition and tone for each illustration in my sketchbook. I then created a pencil and ink sketch for a half-size book dummy. I completed the book dummy, with a number of sample full-color illustrations, in time for a SCBWI critique event last fall. I received helpful feedback and I decided to rework the story and illustrations.

Carrie ONeill Process 3

This is the second version of the same illustration from the reworked book dummy. I took this dummy to the SCBWI-WWA conference in April. With the feedback I received, I was ready to create the full-color version of the illustration.

Carrie ONeill Process 4

I printed the illustration to trim and reworked a few areas of the illustration on tracing vellum to make the characters more dynamic.

Carrie ONeill Process 5

I used a light table to transfer my sketch onto Arches 10 lb. cold press watercolor paper.

Carrie ONeill Process 6

Since I had made a few full-color illustrations for this story already, I mixed up the colors I needed for this illustration based on the recipe I had written down. I love Dr. Ph. Martin’s Hydrus watercolor for their vibrancy and transparency.

Carrie ONeill Process 7

I then begin laying down many thin washes of background color. At this point I had put down 7 layers of wash and used a scrubby brush to splatter a dilute solution of acrylic ink.

Carrie ONeill Process 8

Once I’d laid down enough washes for the image to emerge, I used a mechanical pencil to go over the lines and to add details to the illustration.

Carrie ONeill Process 9

Carrie ONeill Process 10

I then went back into the painting adding more thin washes of color.

Carrie ONeill Process 11

Once I’d pushed the painting as far as I could, I scanned it and punched up the color and tone through Photoshop, fixing areas that needed tidying. Here is the final art and a detail view.

Carrie ONeill Process 12

Here are the two book dummies I created, with the reworked story titled Good Turn for Tortoise in the foreground.

Carrie ONeill Process 13

Below is the cover of SWIM

1901339_669334379797998_869591074_n

How long have you been illustrating? 

I’ve been illustrating since 2008. I had been working on fiber art and quilting for a short time and found myself becoming more interested in the drawings I was doing in thread. I stumbled onto the Illustration Friday blog and began submitting illustrations to their weekly challenges. I then started a daily drawing challenge that I posted on a now defunct blog called 365 Illustrations of Love. I sold many of these illustrations on Etsy.

il_570xN_739568696_2kt5

What was the first art related work where someone paid you for your work? 

I began showing my artwork in my community. Each show would result in sales, in addition to the work I was selling through my Etsy shop.

il_570xN_740411377_kr5k

Did you go to school to study art? 

I graduated in 1996 with a B.A. from The Evergreen State College in Olympia, WA. I focused on painting and sculpture all four years, culminating in a senior thesis show and an art education internship at the local school district. After graduation I taught art classes to children and adults through our city’s parks and recreation department. I also developed a art class for seniors with dementia and Alzheimer’s.

hare

What do you think helped to develop your style?

When I was in college I was focused on fine art and created a body of work that was based on the post-minimalist movement of the 1970’s. After graduation I struggled to find an outlet for my work and found that I was losing interest in pursuing that highly cerebral style of work. I stopped creating art altogether for a few years and it wasn’t until my first child was born that I returned to making art. Although I did not grow up with many children’s books, reading to my kids opened me up to the incredible world of children’s book illustration. This time when I began making art, I started creating work that was much more relevant to my life. In terms of style, I love drawing a line that captures a gesture and using color to strengthen the drawing.

birds

What made you decide you wanted to illustrate for children?

Five years ago I began researching the children’s book industry. In 2012 I joined the Society of Children’s Book Writers and Illustrators and attended my first regional conference in 2013.

5569650_orig

Are you planning on self-publishing SWIM?

I wrote SWIM in 2014 and created a book dummy. When I began, my goal was to challenge myself to write a story and to get a hands-on experience creating a picture book dummy. I’m still submitting the story to editors and art directors, so I don’t plan to self-publish it at this time.

moon

Have illustrated any other picture books, yet?

Since SWIM I have written another story, Good Turn for Tortoise, about a myopic tortoise that learns to look outside his shell and discovers a new friend. I recently completed the book dummy and a handful of full-color illustrations for it.

546006_342152265849546_1706199535_n

Have you ever tried creating a wordless picture book?

I attended the SCBWI-Western Washington Conference a week ago. David Wiesner was one of the faculty members and his presentation on the history of the wordless picture book was infectious! During the conference, I participated in a daylong workshop that he led on character development. I plan to use the character I developed for the class in a wordless picture book.

551979_416078511790254_1418320937_n

What types of things do you do to find illustrating work?

At this point most of my illustration work has been commissions for local companies and portraiture. I have a website and blog, and I’m on Twitter, Instagram, and Facebook.   My next step is to query agents and artist representatives to reach a larger audience.

540721_518487518216019_405798784_n

Do you have an artist rep.? If so, who and how did you connect. If not, would you be interested in being represented?

I don’t have an artist rep or an agent yet, but I’m actively seeking one.

563662_518486321549472_729346182_n

Would you like to write and illustrate your own book?

Yes!

602097_518488408215930_2131873452_n

Do you have a studio set up in your house?

I worked for a number of years in a studio in my house. Last summer, I helped establish an artists’ collective with five other women. We have a suite of five studios and a small gallery space in a historic building that once housed the Olympia Knitting Mills in the early part of the twentieth century. Over the years the building has been home to an independent music label and studios for fine artists and designers. Today the main tenant is a craft brewery, our downstairs neighbors. There’s a steam whistle that blows every day at 5:00 p.m. for quitting time at the brewery. I love working alongside other artists and appreciate the support that we provide for each another.

73707_116369405094501_6965856_n

Have you worked with educational publishers? If so, which one’s? 

Not yet, but I’d be open to it.

562363_518673151530789_1882863239_n

Have you done illustrations for any children’s magazines?

No, but I would like to do so.

6799_508470225884415_1153003705_n

What materials do you use to paint your color illustrations?

I work primarily in watercolor, gouache, and ink.

199282_428459530552152_632761882_n

How much time do you spend illustrating?

I work every weekday morning while my youngest daughter is in preschool, as well as weekends. At night I usually work in my sketchbook and stay up much later than I ought to.

1534287_813254202072681_3583081060793085473_n

Do you do any artwork other than for children?

I do commissioned work which includes portraiture and illustration for small businesses.

1012513_589071057824331_1663833975_n

Do you ever exhibit your work?

I exhibit my work regularly in my region and I participated in a group show with SCBWI at the Washington State Convention Center in 2013.

1176380_660115840719852_1485071992_n

What is the one thing in your studio that you could not live without?

It’s a tie between my Sakura mechanical pencil and the radio.

1497191_660209620710474_291874236_n

Do you try to spend a specific amount of time working on your craft?

I work every day, normally for several hours.

1620628_660201627377940_1051991883_n

Do you take pictures or do any types of research before you start a project?

I’ll take reference photos and create multiple files of reference images I find on the internet. I spend time at the library looking for books on whatever I’m planning to illustrate.

1723477_658520544212715_1898705231_n

Do you think the Internet has opened doors for you?

Absolutely! It has been helpful in building my confidence as an artist by giving me the opportunity to share my work with a larger audience and to connect with other illustrators.

1503958_687503477981088_1557653036_n

Would you be open to working with an author who want to self-publish a picture book?

At this point I would prefer to work with a publisher.

1507791_669344429796993_1102100588_n

Do you use Photoshop or Corel Painter with your illustrations?

I use Photoshop to touch up my illustrations. I’m learning how to take elements that I create traditionally and digitally manipulate them. Although I’m excited about adding digital tools to my artist’s toolbox, I don’t think I could ever give up the experience of working with paint and paper.

1524804_654001121331324_202612684_n

Do you own or have you used a Graphic Drawing Tablet in your illustrating?

I have a Wacom Bamboo tablet that I use for editing my scanned illustrations.

426287_439406652790773_2138013966_n

Do you have any career dreams that you want to fulfill?

I would love to find an agent and spend my life writing and illustrating picture books. I’m also interested in pattern design and packaging.

523812_461218010609637_359732015_n

What are you working on now?

I have a wordless picture book that I’m beginning to flesh out. I’m continuing to refine my portfolio in anticipation of future SCBWI conferences. I’m also teaching drawing classes for kids this spring.

childpaint

Do you have any material type tips you can share with us? Example: Paint or paper that you love – the best place to buy – a new product that you’ve tried – A how to tip, etc.

I love Dr. Ph. Martin’s Hydrus watercolors. At the beginning of any illustration project I develop my color palette and create recipes for the colors I plan to use. I fill my jars with water and add drops of the Hydrus watercolors, making a note of how much of each color I use to create a specific hue. That way I can recreate the exact color I need for an illustration, something that is very helpful when I decide to rework an illustration months after the fact.

602958_467063570025081_947220826_n

Any words of wisdom on how to become a successful writer or illustrator?

Work on your craft every day. A sentence, a doodle, a photo–no matter how small, it all adds up.

fox

Thank you Carrie for sharing your talent, process, and journey with us. Please make sure you keep in touch and share your future successes with us.

To see more of Carrie’s work, visit her Web site,  http://www.carrieoneill.com

If you have a minute, please leave a comment for Carrie. I am sure she’d love it and I enjoy reading them, too. Thanks!

Talk tomorrow,

Kathy

 


Responses

  1. Wow! The image of the chubby cheeked child surrounded by Monarch butterflies and sunflowers should start a series. Beautiful colors, composition and theme!

  2. Carrie, I so enjoyed following your pb process. Your art is so beautiful!

  3. I love your work, Carrie! Thanks for sharing it and especially the step-by-step of your technique. Best luck to you!

  4. I’m always amazed at the quality of the work you post, Kathy. Carrie’s work is no exception. Thanks for sharing all of these artist’s and their process.

  5. Reblogged this on This is a pencil. and commented:
    I’m thrilled to be the featured illustrator for Illustrator Saturday on Kathy Temean’s Writing and Illustrating Blog!

  6. Carrie does stunning illustrations! Loved the look into her process and I eagerly await her first book so I can buy a copy.

  7. Can’t wait to share this with my students!🙂

  8. I love this vibrant, expressive work. What a great interview!

  9. Love the lightness and beauty of your work!

  10. I like it! Very simple, neat, and straight to the point. It’s not too complicated, but presents a lovely clear picture to look at.

  11. Carrie and Kathy, thanks so much for sharing. I learn so many tips reading about how other artists work. And Carrie, your work has such a softness to it. Just beautiful.🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

