Posted by: Kathy Temean | April 30, 2015

New Imprint and Kudos

caitlyn

Caitlyn Dlouhy

Simon and Schuster Children’s Publishing will launch a new imprint under Atheneum Books, called Caitlyn Dlouhy Books, helmed by the editor of the same name who has worked with such authors as Laurie Halse Anderson, Ashley Bryan, David Small, and Sharon Draper in her 16 years with the company. Dlouhy was previously v-p and editorial director at Atheneum.

Her imprint’s first list will appear in spring 2016, featuring a range of titles from a picture book; middle grade; and a YA novel.

Finding fresh voices is one part of her new venture that Dlouhy is looking forward to: “It’s my favorite thing to publish a debut,” she said. “You can’t anticipate what a reaction will be, and that moment, watching a new author have their first experience of the book, can’t be replicated.” Click here to read the full article.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

mimi2croppedYAY! Mimi!

Mimi Cross’s debut BEFORE GOODBYE, pitched for fans of Before I Fall and We Were Liars, in which a young classical guitarist’s first love dies, leaving her musically paralyzed; on her journey to heal, she finds help in unexpected places from unlikely people; she may be shattered, but she’s learning to examine the pieces to create music that is uniquely hers, to Miriam Juskowicz at Skyscape, for publication in January 2016, in a two-book deal, by Danielle Burby at Hannigan Salky Getzler (World).

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Congratulations to Darlene Beck-Jacobsen for getting on Internet Radio Show,READ ALL ABOUT IT. You can watch and listen to Darlene’s book interview with Stefani Milan. Good job! Good Get! Darlene!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Talk tomorrow,

Kathy


Responses

  1. Congrats to all!
    Thank you, Kathy, for continuing to share these New Jersey success stories, which speak to perseverance. I LOVE reading them! Yay, Darlene and Mimi! And Caitlyn is so deserving of her new imprint. Fabulous news on all fronts.

  2. Reading these posts are so encouraging. It gives me a feeling that I may have a chance in the literary world, and if not me, others with a similar dream.

  3. Huge Congratulations to Mimi and Caitlin! It is so exciting to share news of people I know! Thanks for the shout out about the Internet radio interview with Stefani Milan. She’s a doll to work with and made it a fun experience. If you can come to the studio in Maple Shade for the taping, she is interested in having OTHER AUTHORS on the program.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

Categories

%d bloggers like this: