Posted by: Kathy Temean | September 8, 2014

Darlene Beck-Jacobson – Book Give-a-Way

wheelsDarlene’s Debut Historical Novel WHEELS OF CHANGE launches on September 22nd. I am only too glad to be part of Darlene’s Blog Tour.

Darlene gave me an advanced copy and I loved the book. It is a middle grade book, so YA readers don’t expect to find steamy and edgy. What you do find is a well-written book that everyone will enjoy. I like that she based it on some real life events that happened in her Grandmother’s life.

We are very lucky. Darlene has agreed to give one lucky visitor a copy of her book. All you have to do is leave a comment below to have a chance to win. Want to up your chance? Then twitter

darlenepicnewabout it, post on facebook, or another social media site, and let me know. I will add your name on a piece of paper for each thing you do. On September 18th, I will announce the winner and have Darlene mail out your copy. Please note: Darlene will pay for US shipping and any other reasonable shipping, but she may have to refuse shipping to every country around the world.

Three Fun Facts About Darlene:

Even though I can’t swim, I snorkeled in the Great Barrier Reef in Australia thanks to a life jacket and swim ring. It was magnificent…and scary. Without the swim ring there was NOTHING to hold onto.

  1. I like trying new food and have enjoyed the following:
  • Frog legs (tastes like chicken wings) and Escargo (garlicky and melts in the mouth) in Paris.
  • Ostrich (like filet mignon) in Lambertville, NJ
  • Crocodile (chewy and fishy, like clams) and Kangaroo (like ground beef only better) Both in Australia
  • Buffalo (leaner and more tender than beef) in Western Canada
  • Passion Fruit (sweet and delicious) in Hawaii
  • Conch (heavenly) Florida keys
  • Panga Fish (BEST fish I’ve ever eaten, bar none) in Vollendam, Netherlands
  1. Food you couldn’t pay me to eat again:
  • Poi (wallpaper paste tastes better) and Vegemite (way too salty)
  1. I love learning new things and have taken classes in:
  • Flint napping
  • Navaho rug weaving
  • Origami
  • Crazy quilting
  • Pisanki (Polish egg decorating)

Three Fun Facts About Darlene’s Grandmother – the real Emily Soper:

      1. She was a debutante in Washington DC Society and travelled in the same social circles as Alice Roosevelt.
      2. She lost her standing in society when she married my grandfather for love instead marrying for money and status.
      3. She was 4 feet 11 inches tall.

If you would like to read the review I posted on Goodreads, here is the link: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/20763764-wheels-of-change

Here is the link to Darlene’s website: http://www.darlenebeckjacboson.com You will find lots of teaching materials for WHEELS OF CHANGE.

Talk tomorrow,

Kathy


Responses

  1. Darlene sounds like a fun loving woman who eats up life. I wish her success with her book.

  2. Especially love the facts about the real person who inspired your heroine!

  3. Congratulations, Darlene! Look forward to reading WOC!

  4. Hi Darlene. How wonderful it is that your grandmother ran with the same crowd as “Sister”, and how bold she must have been to break with the norm for love. I look forward to reading WOC, and wish you much success! :0)

  5. Congrats, Darlene! The big day is almost here…

    Yvonne

  6. Congrats, Darlene! Loved the book!🙂

  7. Thanks everyone and many thanks to you Kathy for your kind words and for having me on your blog. Can’t wait to hear who the winner is!

  8. Reblogged this on Darlene Beck-Jacobson and commented:
    If you’d like to enter your name for a free copy of my book, visit Kathy Temean’s website.

  9. Great post — interesting and entertaining!

  10. If Darlene’s grandmother was anything like Darlene (crocodile?!), she must have been an interesting person to know! I look forward to reading Wheels of Change. Congratulations, Darlene! – Lori Norman

    • Thanks so much for your sweet and thoughtful comment. Maybe you’ll win the free copy…fingers crossed!

  11. My great grandmother married the stable boy…hmmm, thanks for the idea. I look forward to reading ‘Wheels of Change’ and wish you high sales and much success!

  12. Best wishes on your publication. I’m happy for you and delighted that we got to work together at Kathy Temean’s excellent retreat. Lots of future sales and looking forward to your next manuscript. A great tale of the past to share with young minds.

  13. Darlene, I’ve shared your blurbs on FB when i read your review and interview. Keep posting on FB so we can share your postings and get you coverage.

    • Thanks Carol…every bit of sharing helps to spread the word. I post all the blog tour interviews. Hope to see you at a future event. Happy Writing!

  14. I can’t wait to read Wheels of Change and I enjoyed your post.

  15. Well done, Darlene! I definitely want to read your book so if I don’t win, I’ll be looking a book signing close by.

  16. Oh, wow, at least I’m in time to shoot for the giveaway!😀 That’s exciting!

    And I love continuing to learn more and more about you, your family and your book, Darlene. Your grandmother seems to have had a heart and resolve of very large stature, unlike her short physical stature. Quite the winning combo!

    Thanks, ladies!😀

    • Donna,

      Did you see that I put up the information for your two new blogs? Sorry I have been so silent lately. I have been overwhelmed. The writer’s retreat is in two days. Maybe I’ll have time to call you from there.

      Kathy

      • Kathy, as you just learned tonight—no, I’ve been missing (skipping somehow) info as I try to catch up on hundreds of emails that built up while I was getting them ready for launch. Thank you SO much for alerting people! I sure hope some stop by🙂

        And I’m THRILLED about winning Darlene’s book!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!😀


Leave a Reply

Categories

