Posted by: Kathy Temean | April 2, 2013

Literary Agent Suzie Townsend

suzietownsendSuzie Townsend started at FinePrint Literary Management in January 2009 and worked her way up from intern to agent. Now an agent at New Leaf Literary, she represents adult and children’s fiction. She is actively looking to build her list. In adult, she’s specifically looking for women’s fiction, romance (historical and paranormal), and fantasy (urban fantasy, science fiction, steampunk, epic fantasy). In Childrens’ she loves YA (all subgenres) and is dying to find great Middle Grade projects (especially something akin to the movie SUPER 8). She’s an active member of AAR, RWA, and SCBWI.

She’s interested in strong characters and voice driven stories: she’s particularly keen on strong female protagonists, complex plot lines with underlying political, moral, or philosophical issues, and stories which break out of the typical tropes of their genre. Some of her favorite novels (that she doesn’t represent) are Ender’s Game by Orson Scott Card, When You Reach Me by Rebecca Stead, How I Live Now by Meg Rosoff, Jellicoe Road and Finnikin of the Rock by Melina Marchetta, The Time Traveler’s Wife by Audrey Niffenegger, Jeaniene Frost’s Vampire Huntress series, Anne Bishop’s Black Jewels series, and Jacqueline Carey’s Kushiel series.

She drinks too much diet orange soda, has a Starbucks problem (those soy chai lattes are addictive), and lives in New York with her two dogs, Slevin and Fate, who know that chewing on shoes is okay but chewing on books is not.

Selected Recent Releases Personal Demons, Original Sin, and Last Rite by Lisa Desrochers (Tor Teen) A Brush of Darkness, A Sliver of Shadow and A Trace of Moonlight by Allison Pang (Pocket Books) Sophie & Carter, Anew, Awry and Avow by Chelsea Fine  Tempest and Vortex by Julie Cross (Thomas Dunne Books) When the Sea is Rising Red by Cat Hellisen (FSG, 2/28/2012) All These Lives by Sarah Wylie (Margaret Ferguson Books, 6/5/2012) False Memory by Dan Krokos (Disney*Hyperion, 8/14/2012) The Treachery of Beautiful Things by Ruth Frances Long (Dial Books for Young Readers, 8/16/2012) The Sinister Sweetness of Splendid Academy by Nikki Loftin (Razorbill, 8/21/2012) Valkyrie Rising and Valkyrie Symptoms by Ingrid Paulson (HarperTeen) Nobody But Us by Kristin Halbrook (HarperTeen, 1/29/2013)

Selected Forthcoming Titles The Nightmare Affair by Mindee Arnett (Tor Teen, 3/5/2013) Arclight by Josin L. McQuein (Greenwillow, 4/23/2013) The Planet Thieves by Dan Krokos (Starscape, 5/21/2013) Faking It by Cora Carmack (William Morrow, 6/4/2013) Prep School Confidential by Kara Taylor (Thomas Dunne Books, 7/30/2012) False Sight by Dan Krokos (Disney*Hyperion, 8/13/2013) This is How I Find Her by Sara Polsky (Albert Whitman, Fall 2013) Finding It by Cora Carmack (William Morrow, Fall 2013) Premeditated by Josin L. McQuein (10/2013) Avalon by Mindee Arnett (B+B, Winter 2014) Something Beginning with You by Sarah Wylie (Margaret Ferguson Books, Winter 2014) Nightingale’s Nest by Nikki Loftin (Razorbill, Winter 2014) After You by Jessica Corra (Dial BFYR, Summer 2014)

Recent Sales Middle Grade: The author of When the Sea is Rising Red, Cat Hellisen’s BEASTKEEPER, a reimagining of Beauty and the Beast and what might have happened if they didn’t actually life happily ever after, set two generations later when a young girl discovers that the curse is hereditary, to Noa Wheeler at Holt Children’s, at auction, by Suzie Townsend at New Leaf Literary & Media.

Young Adult:  Alexis Bass’s debut GIRLS EVOLVED, about a seventeen-year-old girl and her best friends, who have made it to second semester senior year heartbreak-free by abiding by the wisdom of Marilyn Monroe — “A wise girl kisses but doesn’t love, listens but doesn’t believe, and leaves before she is left” — until a boy moves to town and changes everything, pitched in the vein of Sara Zarr and Nina LaCour, to Rosemary Brosnan at Harper Teen, in a good deal, in a two-book deal, in a pre-empt, by Suzie Townsend at New Leaf Literary & Media.

Young Adult: Makiia Lucier’s debut A BEAUTIFUL AND DEATH-STRUCK YEAR, about a seventeen-year-old student in Portland, Oregon who risks her heart and her life when she volunteers for the Red Cross during the Spanish Influenza epidemic of 1918, to Adah Nuchi at Houghton Mifflin Harcourt Children’s, by Suzie Townsend at New Leaf Literary & Media.

Digital Young Adult: Author of the forthcoming AVALON, Mindee Arnett’s prequel novella, featuring a teen mercenary and his talented crew of thieves who must pull off a jewel heist on a distant planet without being double-crossed by his unwanted mentor, again to Jordan Brown at Harper Teen Impulse, by Suzie Townsend at New Leaf Literary & Media.

Young Adult:  Author of the forthcoming PREP SCHOOL CONFIDENTIAL, Kara Taylor’s next two novels in the series, featuring a sixteen-year old Queen Bee at a blue-blooded prep school outside Boston who finds herself embroiled in a murder mystery buried in the school’s disturbing secret history, pitched as GOSSIP GIRL meets TWIN PEAKS, again to Brendan Deneen and Anne Brewer at Thomas Dunne Books, by Suzie Townsend of New Leaf Literary & Media.

Middle Grade: MarcyKate Connolly’s debut novel, MONSTROUS, about a girl recreated from the parts of her broken body, the wings of a raven, the tail of serpent, and a cat’s razor-sharp vision, and given the mission to avenge her own death and stop other girls of the countryside from suffering the same fate, pitched as Frankenstein meets Brothers Grimm, to Rosemary Brosnan at Harper Children’s, in a good deal, at auction, in a two-book deal, by Suzie Townsend at New Leaf Literary & Media.

Middle Grade:  Author of THE SINISTER SWEETNESS OF SPLENDID ACADEMY and the forthcoming NIGHINGALE’S NEST Nikki Loftin’s next untitled middle grade novel, again to Laura Arnold at Razorbill, by Suzie Townsend and New Leaf Literary & Media.

Middle Grade: Rebecca Behrens’s debut WHEN AUDREY MET ALICE, featuring the thirteen-year-old First Daughter who finds Alice Roosevelt’s secret diary hidden beneath the floorboards of the White House and is inspired to “eat up the world” though one wrong step could mean tabloid scandal, to Aubrey Poole at Sourcebooks, by Suzie Townsend at New Leaf Literary & Media.

Paranormal: CARNIEPUNK, an anthology which combines the carnival setting and the world of urban fantasy, a place of deception, where monsters wait silently in the dark, featuring short stories by authors Rachel Caine, Jennifer Estep, Seanan McGuire, Rob Thurman, Delilah Dawson, Kelly Gay, Kevin Hearne, Mark Henry, Hillary Jacques, Jackie Kessler, Kelly Meding, Allison Pang, Nicole Peeler and Jaye Wells, to Adam Wilson at Pocket, for publication in August 2013, by Suzie Townsend at New Leaf Literary & Media.

Young Adult: Sara Polsky’s debut THIS IS HOW I FIND HER, featuring a teenage girl who comes home from school the third day of her junior year to discover her mother has tried to kill herself and now she’ll have to move in with an aunt and cousin she hasn’t spoken to in years and ultimately learn how to rebuild her life, to Kristin Ostby at Albert Whitman, by Suzie Townsend at New Leaf Literary & Media (world English).

Young Adult: Mindee Arnett’s FINDING EDEN, about a teen mercenary who leads a talented crew of thieves and who finds his life on the line when he takes on a high risk job in order buy freedom for him and his sister, pitched as Firefly meets White Cat, to Jordan Brown at Balzer & Bray, in a good deal, in a two-book deal, by Suzie Townsend at New Leaf Literary & Media (NA).

Talk tomorrow,

Kathy


Responses

  1. Thanks for the info. As always, another great blog!

    Like

  2. Another talented agent from New Leaf! 🙂

    Like


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Categories

%d bloggers like this: