Posted by: Kathy Temean | October 14, 2012

The Dorothy Sargent Rosenberg Poetry Prizes


The Dorothy Sargent Rosenberg Memorial Fund offers a poetry contest to award prizes to young poets with unusual promise. The first year of this writing contest was 2004. The Fund plans to disburse between $125,000 and $200,000 in “Dorothy Prizes” each year, reserving the right to adjust the size and number of awards to suit the quality and quantity of the submissions in any given year. The Fund also sponsors the Anna Davidson Rosenberg Awards for Poems on the Jewish Experience, and has endowed the Dorothy Rosenberg Memorial Prize in Lyric Poetry at the University of California, Berkeley.

The poetry prizes in memory of Dorothy Rosenberg will be awarded for the ninth time in 2012. Entries in the poetry competition must be postmarked by October 20, the third Saturday in October.

To learn more, CLICK HERE.


The Anna Davidson Awards for Poems on the Jewish Experience were established in 1987 by Marvin Rosenberg and his sisters, Nedda Fratkin and Violet Ginsburg, with support from other members of the family, in memory of their mother, Anna Davidson Rosenberg. This annual poetry competition is now administered by The Magnes Collection of Jewish Art and Life (a unit of the Bancroft Library of the University of California, Berkeley). To view the guidelines for this year’s contest, CLICK HERE.

  • Prizes ranging from $1,000 up to as much as $25,000 will be awarded for the finest lyric poems celebrating the human spirit.
  • Entrants must be under the age of 40 on November 6, 2012.
  • The contest is open to all writers, published or unpublished.
  • Winners may continue to enter until their prizes total in excess of $25,000.
  • Submissions must be in English: no translations, please.
  • Each entrant may submit one to three separate poems.
  • Only one of the poems may be more than thirty lines in length.
  • All poems must be original and previously unpublished.
  • Each poem must be printed on a separate sheet.
  • Submit two copies of each poem. Write your name, address, phone number and email address clearly marked on each page of one copy only.
  • Include an index card with your name, address, phone number, email address and the titles of your submitted poems.
  • Include a $10 entry fee payable to the Dorothy Sargent Rosenberg Memorial Fund. (This fee is not required for entries mailed from abroad.)
  • In summary, send two sets of copies of your poems, with your name on one set only; plus an index card with your contact information; plus a $10.00 fee if you reside in the U.S.
  • Mail entries to:
    Dorothy Sargent Rosenberg Poetry Prizes
    PO Box 2306
    Orinda, CA 94563
  • Deadline: Entries must be postmarked on or before October 20, the third Saturday in October, 2012.
  • Poems will not be returned. Include a stamped addressed envelope if you wish us to acknowledge the receipt of your entry.
  • Notice of prize winners will be published on our website on February 5, 2013 together with a selection of the winning poems.
  • Winners will be contacted shortly before that time and invited to keyboard their poems for presentation on the website.

Visit their website for further information.

Talk tomorrow,



  1. There is definately a lot to know about this subject. I like all the points you made.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.


%d bloggers like this: