Posted by: Kathy Temean | July 29, 2010

Man Asian Literary Prize

The Man Asian Literary Prize was founded in 2007. It is an annual literary award given to the best novel by an Asian writer, either written in English or translated into English, and published in the previous calendar year. 

The judges chooses a longlist of 10 to 15 titles announced in December, followed by a shortlist of 5 to 6 titles announced in February, and a winner is awarded in March. The winning author is awarded USD 30,000 and the translator (if any) USD 5,000. Submissions are invited through publishers based in any country.

i. Authors must be citizens of one of the following Asian countries or territories: Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Bhutan, Cambodia, East Timor, India, Indonesia, Japan, Laos, Malaysia, Mongolia, Myanmar, Nepal, North Korea, Pakistan, Papua New Guinea, Philippines, Singapore, South Korea, Sri Lanka, Taiwan, Thailand, The Hong Kong or Macau Special Administrative Regions, The Maldives, The People’s Republic of China, Vietnam; “Citizen” in the case of the Hong Kong or Macau SAR may be taken to be permanent residency.

ii.  Documentary evidence of citizenship may be required.

iii. Books must be unified and substantial works of fiction in English or in English translation.

iv. Translated works may have been previously published in another language, but the date of their first publication in English must be 2010.

v. Self-published books, children’s books and books that exist only in electronic form are not eligible.

vi. Books may be published anywhere in the world but must be published in the calendar year 2010.

vii. Books or authors winning other prizes are eligible.

viii. Eligibility of any given submission is at the sole discretion of the Prize Board. No correspondence will be entered into.


i. Publishers may enter up to two eligible books with scheduled publication dates in 2010. Publishing houses with more than one imprint may enter up to two eligible titles for each imprint.

ii. Entry forms must be submitted online and entry titles must reach the Prize Manager by 31 August 2010.

iii. At that date five copies of all books entered, whether already published or not, should also be received by the Prize Manager. Proofs should be submitted as soon as available and finished copies must be received by the Prize Manager by 30 November 2010.

iv. The Prize Board has the right to disqualify any entry not received in finished copy by 30 November 2010.

v. The judges may, at their entire discretion, call in any eligible book they choose published in 2010.

vi. No copies of books entered by publishers will be returned to them.

If you know an Asian Writer, please pass this on to them.  Thanks!

Talk tomorrow,


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.


%d bloggers like this: