Posted by: Kathy Temean | March 15, 2010

TWO “No Fee” Poetry Contests

Foley Poetry Contest

$1,000 Cash Prize
The 2010 Foley Poetry Award. Each entrant is asked to submit only one typed, unpublished poem of 30 lines or fewer that is not under consideration elsewhere.

Include contact information on the same page as the poem. Poems will not be returned. Please do not submit poems by e-mail or fax. Submissions must be postmarked by March 31.

Poems received outside the designated period will be treated as regular poetry submissions, and are not eligible for the prize. The winning poem will be published in the June 7-14 issue of America. Three runner-up poems will be published in subsequent issues.

Cash prize: $1,000.

Send poems to: Foley Poetry Contest / America, 106 West 56th Street, New York, NY 10019.


DEADLINE: April 1, 2010

How to Submit: Just click here to submit your entry online. There is no fee to submit to the Wergle Flomp Poetry Contest. Poets of all nations may enter. Your poem must be in English (inspired gibberish also accepted). Please submit only one poem per year. Your poem may be of any length. Both published and unpublished work are welcome.

First Prize of $1,500 and publication on
Second Prize of $800 and publication on
Third Prize of $400 and publication on
Twelve honorable mentions will receive $75 each and publication on

The winners and honorable mentions will also all receive official Winning Writers polo shirts.

Announcement of Results
The winner and honorable mentions of the ninth contest will be announced in our free email newsletter and on on August 15, 2010.

You retain the copyright to your submission. If you place as finalist or better, Winning Writers only requests permission to publish your work on, in our email publications and in our press releases. Any other use will be negotiated with you.

Final Judge of the Wergle Flomp Poetry Contest – Jendi Reiter
Ms. Reiter is the editor of Poetry Contest Insider, an online database of poetry contests published by Winning Writers. Her first book, A Talent for Sadness, was published in 2003 by Turning Point Books. Her poetry chapbook Swallow won the 2008 Flip Kelly Poetry Prize and was published in 2009 by Amsterdam Press. Her work has appeared in numerous poetry reviews, journels and publications. You can add numerous awards to her list of achievements. Visit her blog at

If you write poetry, there is no excuse for not submitting something.  What’s the worse that can happen?  Rejection?  Maybe, maybe not.  I say go for it.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.


%d bloggers like this: