Posted by: Kathy Temean | May 24, 2009

Stacy Cantor, Walker Books for Young Readers

Stacy Cantor, Associate Editor, Walker Books for Young Readers www.walkeryoungreaders.com

Bio:  Stacy Cantor is an Associate Editor at Walker Books for Young Readers. She has previously worked at Bloomsbury Children’s Books and as a writer for a book packager in Chicago, Illinois. Stacy’s interests lie primarily in literary, contemporary young adult fiction, traditional and emotional girl-centric middle-grade fiction, and quirky and funny picture books. Her favorite projects thus far have been the novels Undone by Brooke Taylor; Teen, Inc. by Stefan Petrucha; and The Ultimate Teen Book Guide. Forthcoming projects include novels Violet Raines Almost Got Struck by Lightning by Danette Haworth, The Rule of Won by Stefan Petrucha, Abigail Iris: One of Many by Lisa Glatt and Suzanne Greenberg, and picture books Sophie and the Next Door Monsters by Chris Case, Animal House by Candace Ryan, and Desert Rose by Alison Jackson and illustrated by Keith Graves. Stacy also spent a summer as an intern for Viking Children’s Books, where she honed her skills reading the slush pile.

What Stacy has to say about herself and Walker Books:

Interests:  In Picture Books I’m looking mainly for funny, quirky picture books, or very strong read alouds.  Rhyming PBs is not my preferred format.  Walker has begun to do board books, but thus far they have all been buy-ins from our UK office.  I’m not looking for any new board book texts at this time.  Walker doesn’t publish easy readers or chapter books. We’re definitely looking to grow our MG list, both boy and girl-centric.  Adventure for boys, coming-of-age for girls. 

Walker has traditionally done more edgy YA, but I find I’m looking for the more traditional coming-of-age tale: a romance, preferably.  Nothing too fluffy, chick-lit wise.  No subjects are really off limits, although anything too similar to the “issue” books we’ve already done wouldn’t exactly work.  (eating disorders, sexual abuse, relationship abuse come to mind.)  In general though, I’m open to anything. 

I am not interested in fantasy (Walker doesn’t do them) or horror.  I’d be interested in a mystery, but only if it’s not too obvious and comes off as a unique and compelling tale.  Walker does publish historical fiction, but I feel it needs to have a strong curriculum tie-in for the age group it’s targeting, and must also be a compelling story in its own right. 

Walker publishes a good deal of nonfiction in all formats—PB, MG, YA.  I’m not over-the-moon for nonfiction myself, though, so I don’t know that I’d be necessarily dying to publish it. 

Stacy has come out to many of the New Jerset SCBWI events, so I personally know that anyone who is fortunate enough to grab Stacy’s attention with their writing will be lucky to work with her.

Stacy Cantor

Walker BFYR

175 Fifth Avenue, 8th Floor

New York, NY, 10010


Responses

  1. Stacy Cantor is awesome! She’s very easy to talk to, gives really helpful feedback, knows the industry well, and has a great sense of humor. If you get a chance to have a critique with her, go for it!

  2. Hello Stacy, I hope this reaches you. I have some childrens books that I have written over the years. Now in my retired years am bringing them out of the dusty attic, so to speak. One in particular everyone tells me would make it. Written for children but related to a disease that afflicts many families. Humorous but sad, meaningful. I don’t know where to send it. I can write them, but never have I sent them anywhere. This one though I would like to do so. Can you help me ?


Leave a Reply

Categories

