Posted by: Kathy Temean | February 25, 2014

Punch Up Your Prose – Lyrical Language Lab

JulieRowanZochJulie Rowan-Zoch visits this blog a lot, so I had a minute the other day and I checked out her blog and found the post below about her beta-testing a course on punching up your prose using lyrical language. I thought you might like to know about it, since we are all looking for language that makes our stories sing. But first, here is a little bit about Julie:

Julie Rowan-Zoch is an author/illustrator who studied Graphic Design, at FIT in NYC and the Hochschule für Bildende Künste in Braunschweig, Germany. She has recently completed the artwork for three board books for Bailiwick Press, due out in October ’14. Julie Rowan-Zoch now lives and works in Colorado.

Blog: julierowanzoch.wordpress.com

facebook: Artist: Julie Rowan-Zoch

The illustrations below are from the three board books coming out.

julierowanzochfrom You're Here

Renee LaTulippe’s new course - THE LYRICAL LANGUAGE LAB 

The course is designed for   –Rhyming PB writers who would like a stronger foundation in the mechanics of poetry –Prose PB writers who would like to punch up the lyricism of their writing through poetic techniques –Writers who would like to learn more about writing poetry for children.

I happen to be one of the very lucky beta testers of the first five lessons of her course. Renee wanted at least one total newbie to give it a trial run. Someone who may have dabbled but really had no clue what they’re doing. ME! No joke, I GET it now, even what is meant by ‘don’t mess with the stress!’ Teresa Robeson wrote a much more descriptive post about her beta experience – HERE

julierowanzochfrom You're One2

I know, practice makes perfect. I’m an amateur not a fool, but look at some of my  homework: first, an iambic quatrain

I’d like to drink a cup of tea

in your adoring company

But if you don’t enjoy the tea

Ingest! Delight! Just bask in me!

Maybe not gonna bring the house down, but I got the beat (everybody get on your feet… No? Too 80′s for ya?)

julierowanzochfrom You're Two

Just one more – not quite there yet, but here is my first try at the anapest (and Wantagh is where I grew up)

In the middle of winter in Wantagh

I caught cold from the breezy night air

Though my mother had taught me much better

I camped on a patio chair

She said, Child what on earth were you thinking

your whim could have caught you your death

for in Wantagh the devil is lurking

on the moisture that carries your breath

I did rock out an AWESOME double dachtyl, but I can’t share it yet because I’m being brave –  going to enter it in my library’s contest this month - Battle of the Bards!

Click her to read the full post. I guess you will have to keep checking her blog to see when she posts her double dachtyl.

Talk tomorrow,

Kathy


Responses

  1. I love Julie’s work and am thrilled to hear that I can soon buy her books! Thank you, Kathy.

    • Thank you, Donna! Are you gearing up for another Food Fight?

  2. Grateful to you, Kathy for the oprtunity to show how much fun I am having with The Lyrical Language Lab, and I mean fun! I feel empowered to play with my words! That’s fierce!

    • Now if only I could stop making typos on my tablet, I’d be a force to be reckoned with!

  3. Thank you, Kathy, for sharing Julie’s work both in and out of The Lyrical Language Lab. She is a star pupil and delightful illustrator! The gal’s got style.

  4. Thanks for featuring Julie, one of my favorite people who I’ve met online in the last year through kidlit circles. I’m so glad we are running around in the same groups, and I LOVE those board book spreads. It’s so much fun to see your signature style in the art.

    I was also a beta tester of the Lyrical Language Lab, and can second the recommendation. It’s a great course for any children’s writer, whether they write in rhyme or prose.

    • One of the highlights of 12x has been getting to know you too, Sylvia!

  5. I LOVES my Julie!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! XOXOXO I wanna take Renee’s course asap. When the funds tell me I can. HA. Love your art Julie, my friend and your poetry. (You poet you!) MWAH!

    • Thanks for always being in my corner, Robyn!

  6. Fantastic post Kathy!

    So glad that you featured Julie’s rhyme and adorable illustrations,as well as Renee’s Lyrical Language Lab!

  7. Go Julie! I’m a big fan of Julie! Her artwork! Her blog! Her personality! I’m glad to see her featured here and excited for her debut in illustrating. The spreads are adorable :-) Thanks for having her!

  8. Great post Kathy. Can we get Julie or the Lyrical Language Lab to do a workshop at an SCBWI event?

  9. Reblogged this on Darlene Beck-Jacobson and commented:
    This is such a wonderful post, I had to share it!

  10. Awesome post and I love that your unique style is soon to grace the pages of board books woo hoo!

  11. Reblogged this on Catherine Johnson and commented: <3 Julie!

  12. Thank you, Kathy, Renee and Julie! Such incredibly sweet and talented ladies, all. I had planned on taking Renee’s LL course and now I know I must! I’ve also been honored and so happy to be in a group or two with Julie. The beings, large and small, in her illustrations are just loaded with personality and emotion. Such a talented artist! Thank you for this write-up.

    • Thanks for your kind words, Gayle. It’s great being able to support and encourage each other!

  13. Hi Julie! Great seeing you on Kathy’s blog. You are a star student. Great examples. I am considering the lyrical language lab. Good luck with your contest submission!

  14. Wonderful post. And, I am a fan of your style! I’d recognize your work anywhere.

    • Patricia, you are such a keen observer, you are one of the few who could suggest books just for me!

  15. How awesome, Julie, to be featured. Congratulations on your 3 board books coming out. And your poems are great! Thanks, Kathy, for featuring Julie!

  16. Catching you a day late, Julie! So many talents! Props all around.

  17. Oh, these drawings are so adorable and appealing! Fantastic, Julie!

  18. Julie, wonderful work. :-)

  19. Sounds like an excellent course for PB writers. :)


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,403 other followers

