Posted by: Kathy Temean | August 30, 2010

No Fee Picture Book Contest and Publication

11th ANNUAL NEW VOICES AWARD

Lee and Low 

http://www.leeandlow.com/p/new_voices_award.mhtml
NO ENTRY FEE

Given for a children’s picture book manuscript by a writer of color. The Award winner receives a cash grant of $1,000 and our standard publication contract, including our basic advance and royalties for a first time author.

Writers who have published other work in venues such as children’s magazines, young adult, or adult fiction or nonfiction, are eligible.

An Honor Award winner will receive a cash grant of $500. Must be a US resident.

Only unagented submissions will be accepted. Work that has been published in any format is not eligible for this award. Submissions may be FICTION, NONFICTION, or POETRY for children ages 5 to 12.

Folklore and animal stories will not be considered. Manuscripts should be no more than 1,500 words in length.

Deadline:  September 30, 2010.

Good luck,

Kathy


Responses

  1. Is this contest only for colored and what color?

    Mary Nida

    • Mary, The contest is only for people with color. I tried calling Lee and Low all day to get a clarification who fits that category, but I tired every number of everyone I knew of in the company and couldn’t get one person to answer the phone. I’ll get back to you when I get the answer.

      Kathy http://www.kathytemean.com http://kathytemean.wordpress.com (Sharing Children’s Writing and Illustrating Information) http://www.temeanconsulting.com

    • Mary,

      See todays post. I put up exactly what they mean by a person of color. It’s much broader than I thought, but even if I go back a couple hundred years, I can still not try out for their contest.

      Kathy

  2. I don’t wish to be offensive, but I find this contest to be not in the spirit of our chapter. To excluse any one race does not serve the children’s book community well. Kathy, I would like to see you remove this entry.

  3. David,

    I understand how you feel. I hate not being able to fit into something, because I am white. But maybe this information will help someone else and I have put up a lot of other contests that focused on specific ethnic groups.

    I would be interested in hearing from other people to see if they think I should steer away from posting these types of things.

    Kathy

  4. Thank you Kathy, for finding the information I needed and more. No, you shouldn’t remove that post. We all need to know and grow. I have colored friends that I love dearly. I hope they submit. Lee and Low does accept white writers for regular submissions. What you posted was a contest.

    Thank you for all your hard work.
    Mary Nida

  5. Kathy
    Your doing a fantastic job. It’s very difficult for writer’s from various non-white background to get published. Kathy please do not steer away from encouraging groups of people that up until recently has endured so much hardship. It’s unfortunate you have to justify your sharing of information.

    Be proud, you are not only making a difference.You are the difference!

    Tres

  6. were do i mail the writing to

  7. were do i mail it


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,909 other followers

