Posted by: Kathy Temean | April 25, 2009

101+ Descriptive Words For Foods

Characters have to eat, right? Well, here is a list of 345 words you can use when food is present in  your story. If you think of some others and I will add them to the list.

Acid
Acidic
Acrid
Airy
A la carte
A la king
A la mode
Alcoholic
Al dente
Almond flavored
Ambrosial
Appetizing
Aroma
Aromatic
Au fromage
Au gratin
Au jus
Balsamic
Battered
Béarnaise
Bite-size
Biting
Bitter
Blackened
Blah
Blanched
Bland
Blended
Bold
Bolognese
Boned
Brackish
Braised
Brewed
Briny
Brittle
Broiled
Browned
Bubbly
Burning
Bursting
Butterflied
Buttery
Cacciatore
Candied
Canned
Caramelized
Caustic
Chalky
Charcuterie
Charred
Cheesy
Chewy
Chili
Chilled
Chipotle
Chocolaty
Chopped
Chowder
Clarified
Classical
Comfort Food
Condensed
Condiment
Course
Creamed
Creamery
Creamy
Creole
Crispy
Crumbly
Crunchy
Crusty
Cuisine
Curd
Curdled
Cured
Curried
Dash
Decadent
Deglaze
Dehyrated
Delectable
Delicious
Delightful
Devein
Deviled
Dietary
Diluted
Dipping
Disagreeable
Disgusting
Distasteful
Distinctive
Divine
Dredged
Drenched
Dripping
Dried out
Drizzled
Dry
Dry-Roasted
Dull
Dusted
Earthy
Eatable
Edible
Enjoyable
Enticing
Entrée
Escalloped
Etouffee
Evaporated
Exquisite
Fermented
Fine
Finger Licking Good
Fibrous
Filling
Fiery
Fishy
Fizzy
Flakey
Flambé
Flavorless
Flavorsome
Florentine
Floury
Fluffy
Foie gras
Folded
Foul
Fra diablo
Fragrant
Feathery
Fresh
Freeze dried
Fricasseed
Fried
Frosty
Frozen
Fruity
Full-bodied
Full-flavored
Gamy
Garlicky
Gastric
Gingery
Glazed
Glopy
Glossy
Gluteny
Good
Gooey
Grainy
Granulated
Grated
Gratifying
Greasy
Griddled
Grilled
Gritty
Gross
Hardboiled
Heady
Heavy
Healthy
Hearty
Heavenly
Herbaceous
Hint
Homogenized
Honeyed
Hors d’oeuvre
Hot
Hot Sauce
Icy
Infused
Intense
Inviting
Juicy
Julienne
Kick
Kosher
Laced
Laden
Laiche
Layered
Lemony
Light
Limp
Lip-smacking
Liquid
Low-Fat
Lumpy
Luscious
Lusty
Lyonnaise
Malodorous
Marinate
Marvelous
Mashed
Mealy
Medium
Mellow
Melting
Messy
Microwave
Mild
Milky
Minced
Minty
Mixed
Moist
Moldy
mouth-watering
Muddy
Mushy
Nasty
Natural
Nauseating
Nectarous
Nosey
Nourishing
Noxious
Nuked
Nutriment
Nutritious
Nutty
Odoriferous
Odorless
Oily
Oniony
Oozing
Organic
Overpowering
Palatable
Pan-fried
Paprika
Parboiled
Parched
Pasteurized
Pasty
Pâté
Peck
Penetrating
Peppered
Peppery
Perfumed
Perishable
Piccata
Pickled
Piping
Piquant
Pleasant
Powdered
Powdery
Potent
Pouched
Preserved
Puffy
Pulverized
Pungent
Puréed
Ragout
Rancid
Rank
Rare
Raw
Redolent
Reduced
Reeking
Refreshing
Relish
Rich
Rib Sticking
Ripe
Roasted
Robust
Rotten
Roux
Ruined
Runny
Saline
Salted
Salty
Saturated
Sapid
Saporous
Sauté
Savory
Scalded
Scented
Scorched
Scrambled
Scrumptious
Seared
Seasoned
Sharp
Shredded
Sizzling
Simmering
Skimmed
Skunky
Slathered
Sliced
Slimy
Slivered
Smelly
Smokey
Smooth
Smothered
Snappy
Snappy
Soaked
Sodden
Soft
soft-boiled
Soggy
Sordid
Soufflé
Soupy
Sour
Sparkling
Spicy
Spirited
Spoiled
Spongy
Spread
Sprinkled
Stale
Starchy
Steamy
Stewed
Stiff
Stinging
Stringy
Stinky
Strong
Stuffed
Subdued
Succulent
Sunnyside up
sugar-coated
Sugary
Sweet
Sweet and Sour
Syrupy
Tainted
Tangy
Tantalizing
Tart
Tasteless
Tasty
Tempting
Tender
Tepid
Thick
Titillating
Toasted
Toothsome
Tough
Tumaceous
Unsavory
Vanilla
Velvety
Vicious
Vinegary
Warm
Watery
Well-done
Wet
Whey
Whipped
Wholesome
Wild
Wilted
Yucky
Yummy
Zestful
Zesty
Zippy
I know there are more. Let me know.

Kathy
http://www.kathytemean.comn


Responses

  1. slimy – as in clams and oysters. yuck!

    • That’s a good one.

      • i know its not a good one but what about nice ???

      • what about hard and rough you may already have them nut i didn’t seen then

  2. How about: chalky, charred, nutty, spoiled, chewy, tough…

    • Good one’s! I’ll add them. Thanks for leave a comment. I appreciate it.
      Kathy

    • Claudia,

      Just wanted to let you know I updated the food descriptive list and added your suggestions, thanks!

      Kathy

  3. Greasy, cold and of course my personal favorite- decadent!

    • Kim,

      I added a lot of new words to the descriptive food list and yours was a good addition. Thanks, Kathy

  4. How about glazed (as in doughnuts), pallete cleansing (you kind of already said that), frosty, chilled, and fast.

    • Kyra,

      Great, I will add them to the list. Thanks!

      Kathy

      • Kyra,

        Almost a year later and I am still adding to the list. Thanks for sending in yours.

        Kathy

  5. Flavorful?……I think you forgot that one

    • Carrie,

      Good one. I’ll have to add it to the list. Thanks for coming up with it.

      Kathy

  6. This helped me so much! Thank you for this wonderfully descriptive list :)

    • Jehanne,

      Boy, talk about a late reply to your comment. I just saw it. Thanks for letting me know you liked the list.

      Kathy

  7. hmm… what about sodden because characters foods are not always in perfect conditions.

  8. Bob,

    Good one. I added it along with soggy. Thanks!

    Happy Thanksgiving,

    Kathy

  9. caloric, hazardous, fatty

    • Good One! I’ll add them to the list.

      Kathy

    • Good ones! I’ll add them t the list.

      Kathy

  10. er since when was ‘zippy’ a word? especially to describe food

    • Tai,

      What can I say? I read a bunch of food reviews and zippy was used in a couple write ups, so I added it in. I agree it is not the first thing that comes to mind when describing a food.

      Kathy

  11. mouldy, brown, yellow, green, redily, purpily, orangily, weave :) <3

    • Tai,

      Thanks for adding to the list. Where would someone use “weave” when describing food? I can come up with a senetence for woven. “The dough on top of the pie was woven to look like a basket.” Or “The berries were woven in the cake batter.”

      Kathy

  12. there were a lot of ones that were very similar to ones you got there.
    Ok , here’s a list of what you could add:
    sticky, rough, undercooked, fleshy, cheesy, sugary, burnt, colourful,old.
    Hope you like them :)

    • Melvey,

      I love the words you came up with. I will add them so they help others.

      Thanks,

      Kathy

  13. Simmering
    Skunky
    Sliced
    Slimy

    • Damien,

      Good ones. I can’t believe I missed Simmering and Slimy. Thanks for adding to the list.

      Kathy

  14. blackened

    • Rosie,

      I can’t believe I missed that. Good Get!

      Kathy

  15. Your list is absolutely wonderful. I’ve re-posted it on my blog and have put in links directing people back to this site. Dee x

  16. I might describe meat as having a ‘smoky’ flavor. (I love it when barbecued enough that it’s a little crisp on the outside.)

    • Penny,

      That is a good one. Thanks for sending it in. I added it to the list.

      Kathy

  17. Love the list…I believe the spelling of FERMENTED is incorrectly written there,however. And how about SCRAMBLED?
    Bobbi

    • Bobbi,

      Great get! I couldn’t even find it because of the error. Thank you for taking the time to let me knw and thanks for adding to the list. I have corrected and added to the list.

      Kathy

  18. i love the list…and i have one more to add: perishable
    Thanks

    • Ashlee,

      Good one! Thanks for adding to the list.

      Kathy

  19. What about tantalizing?

    • Huma,

      Good one. I will add it to the list. Thanks for putting on your thinking cap and sending me a new word.

      Kathy

  20. Thanks for all the words, they helped me so much with my homework

  21. i know one salivateing

  22. What does tumaceous mean?

    • Alice,

      It is an offensive odor.

      Kathy

  23. I love this list! How about mashed and smothered?

    • Angel,

      Wow! Thanks! They are two good ones. I will add it to the list. Shaking my head on why I didn’t think of them.

      Kathy

  24. Where it says dEvine should be spelled divine, I presume

    • Tomeu,
      Thanks for pointing out there was a mistake. I had Divine further down, but it pointed out to me that I was trying to say, Devein. I think things are correct now.
      Kathy

  25. Thanks for this comprehensive list. If I may contribute. where it says distintive should be spelled distinCtive.

    • Tomeu,

      Good get! Not sure if I am a poor speller or if I am a poot typist. Thanks for helping the list.

      Kathy

  26. Thankyou for this brilliant list! Helped me very much with my Food Technology!

  27. Demensional &
    Layer, layers, layered

    As in the favors were well layered and dimensional.

  28. Awesome bruised excellent fantastic great incredible perfect indescribable wonderful!!! I had to a worksheet in class for describing food from a-z. You helped a lot!

  29. ambrosial, appetizing, aromal, aromatic, distinctive, fiery, flavorsome, fragrant, fresh, herbaceous, highly seasoned, hot, keen, odoriferous, peppery, perfumed, piquant, poignant, racy, redolent, savory, scented, seasoned, snappy, spirited, sweet, tangy, tasty, zesty, zippy bland, dull, flavorless, tasteless! Thought of a few more you may have them already I was just to lazy to check!

    • Faith,

      Glad I could help.

      Kathy

  30. I’m impressed, I must say. Rarely do I come across a blog that’s both educative and interesting, and without a doubt, you have hit the nail on the head. The issue is an issue that not enough folks are speaking intelligently about. Now i’m very happy that I found this in my hunt for something relating to this.

  31. thank you so much you really helped me in my homework, i don’t mind if you don’t use them but i thought of some words

    nice
    tasteful
    rough
    nasty
    picker
    sick
    soapy

    enjoy :)

  32. I am looking for a word describe the quality of piecrust and shortbread. Am I correct in using “short”?

    • Nancy,

      I don’t think that describes shortbread. I would say, “Sweet buttery flavor with a crisp crumbly texture.” Don’t know how you can narrow it down to a one word description, except for “Yummy.”

      Kathy

  33. Thanks for the list! I’ve been looking at words for a new restaurant design business.

    Few I would like to add…..

    ‘Authentic’ More often that not to describe food that is anything but…
    ‘Smear’ My pet hate – the splodge of puree often added to the side…
    Also, what about ‘Hearty’?

    • Steve,

      Thanks for sending these in for the list. Much appreciated!

      Good luck with the restaurant.

      Kathy

  34. thanks, it helped with homework!:)

    • Kitty,

      Glad it help you. Thanks for letting me know.

      Kathy

  35. What about scrumtious

    • Kaizer,

      scrumptious is a great word. I’ll add it to the list. Oh, it is already on the list. Thanks.

      Kathy

  36. Loved your list. I train direct sales food consultants and these are great for our sales meetings to help them reach their audience and get their attention.

  37. Useful information. Lucky me I found your web site accidentally, and I am shocked why this coincidence did
    not came about in advance! I bookmarked it.

  38. Pretty nice post. I just stumbled upon your weblog and wanted to say
    that I’ve really enjoyed browsing your blog posts. After all I will be subscribing to your feed and I hope you write again very soon!

  39. Excellent post. I was checking continuously this blog
    and I’m impressed! Very helpful information specifically the last part :) I care for such info a lot. I was looking for this particular info for a very long time. Thank you and good luck.

  40. Cheesy…as in cheesy potatoes

    Awesome list! Can’t believe you missed that one! Anything cheesy is good! ; )

    • Charity,

      Thanks for the great add. I can’t believe I missed that one, too, especially knowing how much I love cheesy food.

      Kathy

  41. Hi. Your site is amazing! Do you think you could fit in
    -healthy and
    – organic
    ??
    Thankyou ^.^

    • Ester,

      I just added them. Both good additions. Thanks!

      Kathy

  42. Moldy! I use that one all the time!

  43. natural
    ambrosial
    earthy
    ?
    list is great!

    • Amelia,

      Thanks for sending. I will add them to the list.

      Kathy

  44. Shame! How could you forget “Tender”?! :P

    • K,

      You are right. That should have been one of the first words to come to mind. Did you just eat a tender steak?

      Thanks,

      Kathy

  45. Can you help me with a dilemma? I’m having a testy discussion with chefs and other culinary journalists about the use of the word “moist.” One well-known critic in Denver slammed a top chef for his overuse of the word, yet no one has come up with an alternative. Driving me nuts. Help?

    Suzanne H.

    • succulent? juicy?

      • Zee,

        Thanks for stopping by. I just double checked and I do have both of those on my list.

        Kathy

      • Kathy,
        yes, sorry I wasn’t clear, my post was a response to Suzanne H.’s question about what words could be used instead of “Moist.”

      • zee,

        Thank you for trying to help Suzanne. Totally missed that. So glad people are out their trying to interact and help each other.

        Kathy

  46. This really helped with my homework. I have some words you can add: ripe, mushy, brittle

    • Amreen,

      I am so glad the list helped you. Thanks for the other words to add. They are good ones.

      Kathy

  47. What about acrid?

    • Amreen,

      I added this one, too. Thanks for sending.

      Kathy

  48. …and that were really helpful.Thank you :)

  49. Toothsome

    • Cody,

      Good one! I would never have thought of that one?

      Thanks,

      Kathy

  50. This is really useful coz I need to use descriptive word for my evaluations as I do GCSE food technology. Thank you.

  51. How would you describe a pineapple pie that has been left in the refrigerator too long?

    • Sarah,

      I never had a pineapple pie, but I would expect that if it sat in the refrigerator too long that the filling would be watery and the crust soggy. It might also be moldy. It would certainly be unappetizing and inedible. Hope that helps.

      Kathy

  52. How about some negative words???

    • Meghan,

      There are quite a few negative words. If you think of any more, I will be glad to add them. If I think of any more, I will, too.

      Kathy

  53. I am looking for a word to describe food that is nourishing, can you help?

  54. also, how about “waxy”?

  55. Might be in the comments section already—I did not read all the comments- but what about “slathered”– as in slathered with butter?

    • Janet,

      That is a good one. I just added it. Thanks for helping to list more words.

      Kathy

  56. What about appealing and spoosh?

    • Rose,

      Thanks for the comment. I tried to find out what spoosh means, but couldn’t find anything that related it to food. Never heard the word used. Not sure I want to add it to the list, if it confuses anyone. Maybe you can enlighten me with the meaning and use it in a sentence, so I will understand.

      Kathy

  57. Though it’s a fine collection, I still need your valuable suggestion…
    I’m to open a store with collection of varieties of foods with different tastes.
    Please suggest me some names for my store which can describe it in one or maximum in two words.
    It should be easy to spell and should describe the whole store…
    Thanking you….

    • Ambrosia means “Food of the Gods” in Greek and Roman mythology. How about that for your store name Vikash Gupta?

  58. Appreciating the commitment you put into your blog and
    in depth information you offer. It’s great to come across a blog every once in a while that isn’t the same
    old rehashed material. Fantastic read! I’ve saved your site and I’m adding your RSS feeds to my Google account.


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,163 other followers

